We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rippinvale Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Rippinvale Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 194: English reviews
Start your review of Rippinvale Retreat
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Exceptionally friendly and helpful hosts. Provided a wonderful breakfast at the crack of dawn so that we could get to Picton on time for our Ferry booking. Very comfortable but some why out of the main town. Need to upgrade their TV system and provide a greater range of channels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Des M
Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you Des for your review. Just to clarify Rippinvale is a short 10/15 minute flat walk to the centre of the village which is 1.5 km or a 2 minute drive from Rippinvale. We are situated on the western boundary of the golf course and village. Our charm and appeal is that Rippinvale is away from the hustle,bustle and...

Reviewed 22 February 2017

We stayed four nights and Helen prepared four different breakfasts which were unique and delicious. The suites are spacious and the bed very comfortable. Our hosts were friendly, helpful and informative. I did feel that it was a little overpriced. We were also charged $30 for a bag of laundry. All in all it is a lovely retreat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you Linda for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed the high standard of service you received and our delicious food, all prepared to meet your special dietary requirements and of course our lovely facilities, but we only wish you had raised the issue of your tariff while you were with us. Rippinvale belongs to a style of...

Reviewed 1 February 2017

Loved loved this place! We stayed here on the first two nights of our honeymoon which was nearly a year ago last Waitangi weekend. So warm and welcoming and the food was amazing. We would recommened this place as a oasis away from the hustle of the world where you can relax and enjoy each others company while being well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobertEricaKT
Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Robert and Erica Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We love hosting our guests on special occasions and wish you a very happy first anniversary ! Warm regards Helen

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2017

I had prepaid at Rippinvale Retreat for 2 nights during a holiday in November 2016. Unfortunately my wife and I were in Kaikoura during the major earthquake and required evacuation via helicopter. We were not due to go to Rippinvale for a further 3 days and I called them immediately we were able to get communication. Despite being 3 days...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bgcourt
Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale Retreat, responded to this review

We were very sorry that you have had a disappointing time due to the earthquake. One we shared to a frightening degree. As I explained when you phoned, you had made your booking and pre paid via an online travel site. To that date we had not received any payment from them so we were unable to refund you immediately...

Malta
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

This place has the feel and individual attention of a cosy B&B, but the owners make you feel luxurious thanks to the wonderful styling of the place and the amazing food they prepare for you. It's a truly gorgeous corner of the world and I loved my brief stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Have just stayed two nights and Feel unable to say enough wonderful things about Rippenvale Retreat. Helen and John were the most gracious hosts and made us feel incredibly welcome from the moment we arrived. Our suite was impeccable. The breakfasts brought to our room were homemade and simply delicious as were the canapés and wine we had in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Balchanica
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Everything that all the other reviews have posted is absolutely true. Thanks Helen and John for the SO very tasty continental breakfasts, wine and canapes and for sharing Lilly the cat who curled up on my husband's lap and stayed there for a while!! Peaceful and quiet, lovely grounds to walk around in. Absolute bliss. Don't miss the Animal Park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
Reviewed 4 November 2016

I cannot say enough great things about Rippenvale Retreat. Helen and John were the most gracious hosts, we had the most lovely breakfasts delivered to our room every day, our room was impeccable and the entire place was just so charming and wonderful we're already planning for the next time we can return. The beautiful property is an easy walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We stayed at Rippinvale Retreat for 2 nights and got a lot more than we expected. Helen and John brought us a delicious homemade breakfast in our room each morning and a glass of wine and nibbles each afternoon. The outdoor spa was an extra treat with great views. Our self contained accommodation was superb, clean and very comfortable. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharyn G
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Arrived from Lake Tepapo and were warmly greeted by Helen. Stayed here for one night ,wish it could have been longer. Enjoyed the garden and Bubble Bees. Its an easy walk into town for dinner or near by hot pools. Its obvious that Helen is running the accommodation with sustainability in mind and we really appreciated this . You wont...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mcleans56

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
1.2 km away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
436 reviews
1.3 km away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
634 reviews
1.3 km away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Marchmont Gardens
Marchmont Gardens
#2 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
182 reviews
1.3 km away
Cheltenham House
Cheltenham House
#1 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
130 reviews
0.6 km away
Annerleigh Bed and Breakfast
Annerleigh Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A very special New Zealand experience, offering fine boutique accommodation in a relaxed atmosphere. Our suites are private and semi contained set in a private courtyard. Tariff includes pre dinner wine and canapes,fabulous gourmet breakfast of the finest locally grown ans seasonal produce and full evening turn down with Port and chocolates.Use of all facillities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rippinvale Retreat

Address: 68 Rippingale Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $275 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rippinvale Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Rippinvale Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rippinvale Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are only two suites and both are private.”
 of 5 bubbles LindaL831, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Any! They are both great”
 of 5 bubbles SamanthaM719, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ribbon wood Suite”
 of 5 bubbles Hostee99, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“There are only two rooms which are identical and each with a private outside eating area , and access to a hot tub”
 of 5 bubbles Rtvet, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Both rooms are superb”
 of 5 bubbles ozhelen63, 30 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5