We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Larchwood Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Larchwood Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 45: English reviews
Start your review of Larchwood Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Expensive, poorly maintained, dirty. Bathroom was filthy, furniture was broken. I don't recommend it. Person in charge is full of excuses so no surprises that maintenance is not done. Shame really Hamner Springs is a nice place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hutton O
ManagerOfLarchwood, Manager at Larchwood Motel, responded to this review

Previous customer broke the arm of a couch. We are in the process of selecting and purchasing a new set of couch. If this is an excuse, then, it is an excuse. I checked the cleanness of the bath-room, I could not find anything wrong apart from a few small marks on the wall the cleaner overlooked. I have asked...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Don't recommend this one at all. We were charged before we saw the room and where shocked with its condition. Do not pay up front make sure you inspect the room first. When we asked for a refund we were refused and police were called.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jah o
ManagerOfLarchwood, Manager at Larchwood Motel, responded to this review

You booked the room on March 15th and checked in at 3:50 pm March 16th, I showed you to your room and you are expressly happy with it. After over an hour, you came to the office and told us that you have changed your travel plan and need to leave earlier and want to have a refund. Although this...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night 4 adults and 3 children. It was nice enough for our family and spacious. The kids shared the large queen bed and the elders the 2 single beds and my husband and I the queen bed upstairs. Everyone said they had a comfortable sleep apart from my husband and I. Our bed was really uncomfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pork C
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was traveling with my son and granddaughters. It's hard to find a property with units suitable for non-cohabiting adults plus children, this was what was available in Hanmer Springs. Good location, comfy beds, and has been quite a flash unit in its day. However, maintenance has not been carried out and it's getting a bit tatty. Broken arm on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BronwynCarlisle
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Off the main road and close to the entrance of Brooke Dawson park and Hanmer Heritage Forest with beautiful tracks for walking and biking, I like the quiet location of this motel. I stayed at a studio unit. The room was cosy and the price was good. I could see a lot of improvements were made of the place compared...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred X
New Zealand
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Stayed several times in self-contained studio units, everything about Larchwood is deteriorating, without airconditioning, uncared overgrown weedy garden and grounds(only attended to when asian friends from ChCh come for free accommo?), only lawns regularly by local Hanmer Springs person, (should employ local gardener, maintenance and tradespersons), very hard mattresses therefore uncomfy holiday sleep, good hot water supply with short plastic...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shirleynz1
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 January 2017

The location was so great. The staff were all very friendly and willing to help. I like the cleanliness and the beds were comfortable. The kitchen was well-equipped. It was quiet and good place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank meimary999
Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I have never seen motel rooms as bad anywhere in New Zealand. I cannot believe that somewhere like Hanmer which is quite a tourist area has something so bad. This place needs to be rebuilt....completely. Thankfully we were able to find a good place. We usually book ahead but as we have been exploring for the past week we decided...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank HughandMedith
ManagerOfLarchwood, Manager at Larchwood Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. You came at the busiest day of the year and we are sorry that you are not happy with the last room we have left for that day. We are planning to do some major overhaul on some of our rooms in this coming low season.

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Unclean room. Got woken up before 10 am for room service when they say they're come between 12-2pm. Kitchen facilities broke on us, we then had to buy more before we left. Rock hard bed meaning hardly any sleep. Got a phone call early morning of the day we were leaving Christchurch to head to hanmer telling us we need...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ainslee A
ManagerOfLarchwood, Manager at Larchwood Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We are sorry that your stay is not a happy one. We will pay attention to make the room service as late as possible from now on. We do require customer provide a valid credit card number for security reason, and the credit card number provided when you make a online booking did not pass...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Although manager pleasant enough and checked up on issues with room the overall 'complex' needs a MAJOR overhall. Very dated and in need of renovating(in and out of rooms). Our room smelt of curry (no amount of room freshener or open windows/doors could alleviate the problem), the office very untidy and we were greeted by bags (a lot) of recycling...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Anita M
ManagerOfLarchwood, Manager at Larchwood Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We are planning to do some major overhaul on some of our rooms in this coming low season, however, it is difficult to control what previous customer cook in the room during their stay and the curry smell is very hard to get rid of. You came at the busiest time of the year and...

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 km away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
279 reviews
0.4 km away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#18 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
121 reviews
1.1 km away
Forest Peak Motel
Forest Peak Motel
#15 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B
Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B
#20 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
87 reviews
0.2 km away
Alpine Garden Motel
Alpine Garden Motel
#14 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
79 reviews
1.2 km away
Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Greenacres Chalets And Apartment...
#13 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Larchwood Motel

Address: 18 Bath Street | Hanmer Springs, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $97 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Larchwood Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Larchwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Larchwood Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A family room has a good budget.”
 of 5 bubbles Teeeea, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The One Bedroom Units are OK, Studio Units are far too small and poorly maintained.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeM241, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Quiet & comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles Canadian_Traveler60, 13 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Several choices of sizes of motel rooms plus economical self-contained studio units.”
 of 5 bubbles Shirleynz1, 11 May 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay here shop around”
 of 5 bubbles easyastravller11, 4 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5