We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Sonnalp

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Sonnalp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 18: English reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We came to the Sonnalp at the beginning of July for a 4-day stay with half-board. We received a welcome at the stylish wooden lobby equipped with a pleasant austrian-style wooden furniture. Our room was cosy with a wooden balcony with flowers. Speed of wifi internet in the room sufficient. Food was quite fine and waiters very pleasant and taking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin Š
Hotel_Sonnalp, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Sonnalp, responded to this review

Dear Martin S, thank you very much for your nice evaluation. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and had some nice days in Kirchberg. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2016

My wife and I stayed for five nights as part of a Coach tour. The Hotel was clean, tidy well run with excellent staff. We would stay there again and highly recommend it to others. All meals were well prepared, well cooked and with a wide variety menu. The service was excellent with friendly staff with a good understanding of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
Hotel_Sonnalp, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Sonnalp, responded to this review

Dear Allan B, thank you very much for your kind evaluation and the recommendation. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Of course we will forward your praise to our staff.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

We were upgraded to thus hotel from the lifthotel. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and efficiently. Receptionist explained how and where everything was. Explained the breakfast and dinner procedures. The lobby and bar areas were all clean and fresh feeling, warm and airy. We went up to the room which was for 3 adults. Again the room was spotless...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alan g
Hotel_Sonnalp, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Sonnalp, responded to this review

Dear alan g, thank you very much for your really nice raking and the time that you spent in your evaluation. We are pleased that you felt good all over in our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay in Kirchberg in Tirol. Regarding the 3rd bed - next time please just tell us - we have the possibility to...

Israel
Reviewed 26 February 2016

I should say that I stayed in this hotel as part of a conference, so the hotel was fully booked, and breakfasts and dinners were part of the deal. Room was clean and comfortable. Food was plentiful. They provided a rich buffet during dinner, and only after consuming my full dish, I realized that these are just appetizers, and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YigalM
Hotel_Sonnalp, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Sonnalp, responded to this review

Dear YigalM, thank you very much for your rating. We are pleased that you had a good stay and hopefully a goog conference in our hotel. Redarding the internet we only can say, that our internet normally is very good, but there are about 250 people at this conference and you must not forget, that nowadays a lot of people...

Reviewed 14 February 2016

Very big and nice modern room. loved the nice spa, breakfast buffet is a bit small but has all you would expect of a hotel of that price category. Location is a bit out, a 10 min walk to the ski lift or 2 min drive. I think they also have their own shuttle, but didn't bother about it as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bastian T
Hotel_Sonnalp, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Sonnalp, responded to this review

Dear Bastian T, thank you very much for your nice rating. We are pleased that you ejoyed your stay in our ****Hotel Sonnalp. We would be glad to see you again!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2016

I stayed at the Sonnalp for 7 nights with an Albatross Austrian Christmas Break Tour. Each day as we returned from our day trips, it felt like coming home. The staff were very welcoming and even the owners dog Diego was often on hand to greet us in the foyer. Our trip included breakfast and dinner and the choices were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisX_11
Hotel_Sonnalp, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Sonnalp, responded to this review

Dear ChrisX_11, thank you very much for your nice evaluation. We are pleased that you had a good stay in our hotel and that you could enjoy your Christmas here in Tyrol!

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 29 December 2015

We didn't stay here, we stayed at the sister hotel Parkhotel. We were invited to use the facilities here. Lovely receptionist from Parkhotel drove us to this (obvious) up market hotel. We used the swimming pool, showers and toilets. We found them lovely and clean and they supplied us the much needed towels. Thank you ever so much. The children...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy D
Hotel_Sonnalp, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Sonnalp, responded to this review

Dear Judy D, thank you very much for your nice evaluation. Great, that you had a good time with your children in our hotel!

Kings Norton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Excellent hotel upgraded from Lifthotel due to building work. Leslie & Neil excellent coach drivers kept small group of 15 amused with stories during day trips to rattenberg,zel am see,kufstein,Salzburg,Innsbruck. All inclusive trip plenty of food and free drinks for our party. Weather excellent met some very nice people. Staff at hotel very friendly would recommend people stay at this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark H
Hotel_Sonnalp, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Sonnalp, responded to this review

Dear Mark H, thank you very much for your great evaluation and the reccomandation. We are please that you ejoyed your stay at our hotel and hope to have the possibility to welcome you again.

Sunderland
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

Myself my mother and daughter had a wonderful 4 night stay here as part of a National Holidays trip.This hotel is fabulous-stunning inside and out.Staff where always helpful and friendly.Food was lovely and always well presented.My daughter and myself made use of the pool which opened up to a secluded part of the gardens.BBQ night with local entertainment 'The one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alli B
Hotel_Sonnalp, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Sonnalp, responded to this review

Dear Alli B, thank you very much for your nice comment. We are glad that you had such a wonderful stay at our hotel and would be happy to welcome you again in winter.

Graz, Austria
Reviewed 10 March 2015

We had a very nice stay and I would love to return in the future. The waiters from the restaurant were very nice and work very hard. The things I did not like: 1. the woman at the reception was useless and rude (she continued looking in the computer while talking to me). 2. it was very hard to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dani8020
Hotel_Sonnalp, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Sonnalp, responded to this review

Dear Dani, thank you very much for your good rating. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Regarding the "tea problem": It is not common in Austria to bring your own drinks to a hotel. So it is the bar keepers job to avoid this. If there are medical reasons of course we make exceptions -...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirchberg hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Elisabeth
Hotel Elisabeth
#2 of 33 in Kirchberg
107 reviews
1.1 km away
Kirchberger Hof
Kirchberger Hof
#8 of 33 in Kirchberg
49 reviews
1.1 km away
Activ Sunny Hotel Sonne
Activ Sunny Hotel Sonne
#11 of 33 in Kirchberg
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Alpenresidenz Adler
Alpenresidenz Adler
#4 of 33 in Kirchberg
110 reviews
1.3 km away
Maierl-Alm und Chalets
Maierl-Alm und Chalets
#1 of 33 in Kirchberg
125 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Metzgerwirt
Hotel Metzgerwirt
#5 of 33 in Kirchberg
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Hotel Sonnalp, built in traditional Tyrolean style, offers room for approx. 140 guests in 68 rooms and two suites. Summer or winter – you will never get bored staying with us! We are located roughly 1.5 km from the town center of Kirchberg, the perfect location to enjoy peace and quiet but also the ideal starting point for the many activities.We also offer a lot of activities in and around our hotel. Relax in the sauna, during a massage or sunbathing in the garden, burn off your excess energy in our gym, on the tennis court or in the indoor pool, enjoy yourself while playing pool, foosball, table tennis or many of our board games or relax while reading a book from our library in front of the burning fireplace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnalp

Address: Almweg 22, Kirchberg 6365, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kirchberg
Price Range: $261 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonnalp 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sonnalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnalp Hotel Kirchberg
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kirchberg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Sonnalp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had the slightly bigger room with a bathtub, loved it.”
 of 5 bubbles 42bastiant, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Book a room that faces towards the town.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisR318, 6 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Make sure you ask for a robe and towels so you can use the pool often.”
 of 5 bubbles EnjoylifeQueensland, 8 Jan 2013 | Read review
“On the garden site at the back of the hotel it is very quiet for a good night of sleep”
  • the garden at the back of the hotel
 of 5 bubbles henkio, 15 Sep 2011 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay