We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Brenton Beach House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Brenton Beach House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Brenton Beach House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 219: English reviews
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We spent a very enjoyable 8 nights at Brenton Beach House. Our en-suite room was spacious, had a balcony, overlooked the pool, and the fridge and microwave were very useful if we did not want to eat out. Derrick, the owner is friendly, helpful and a mine of information. He made us feel very much at home. The buffet breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Derek and his staff looked after us from the moment we arrived. Our pre-arrival e-mails looking for further information and clarification were always promptly responded to and the upshot is that we spent a very relaxing time at Brenton over the New Year.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelrR841JR
Seattle, United States
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The Beach House is lovely, warm and inviting with an attentive host and staff. Derrick was a fountain of information in response to all our questions and helped use our short time wisely in the Knysna area. His breakfast, including homemade bread, was excellent. The beach, just a walk down the hill, was extraordinary. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
Derrick C, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review

Amy, thank you so much for such kind words. All the best for 2017. Cheers Derrick

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 January 2017

This was even better than we had hoped. Our booking was for a family group of 8. We were all delighted with our rooms, the pool in the garden and the warmth and friendliness of the management and staff. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Venetia2013
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We had a nice room ,but it felt a little humid. Everything was tastefully decorated,the house was old but renewed, so the bathroom was good and the bed very comfortable. Lovely breakfast in the morning and a very friendly host.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 489hendriks
Derrick C, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have never not disclosed our location by the way. The GPS and full address is on our web site so cannot comment on that point that we are far from town. We are a short 15 min drive away. I have found out what the "Humidity" problem was in the bathrooms. Our cleaning ladies...

Bilbao, Spain
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Perfect location and hospitality Clean and neve desing God tips to bisit Knysma A huge beach bery close, They rake care of details that makes a big difference from other guest house They will attends your bookings in restaurants and Golf courses High value for money

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ignacio-Marina
Derrick C, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you and your son stay with us. Im glad you found a solution for him to also have a good nights sleep. :) Looking forward to welcoming you back

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Had a Great Time , lovely hospitality , nice clean B&B , Great breakfast. Highly recommended if you enjoy a personal touch , and a relaxed environment !!! Close to all points of interest with access to good restaurants within 25 minutes drive.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank deonnem815
Derrick C, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review

Thanks soooooo much for all the compliments.

Paarl, South Africa
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Stayed in the Honeymoon Suite for one night. Our hosts went the extra mile with lovely treats and MCC. We wanted to have a nice romantic dinner and was referred to Pembreys. The best referral and dinner we had in a long time. Will definitely be back, but this time stay much longer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank charln519
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stayed for 3 nights visiting family nearby so didn't use the full facilities of the house. Nevertheless, it was very welcoming to spend breakfast, which was all you would ask, and early evening in a very clean and spacious bedroom. The host was very interesting,informative and helpful. Would not hesitate to return to the house when in the area...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 38rodneyg
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 17 October 2016

What a place to stay, Located almost at a cliff with the beach facing, an awesome venue to be, the rooms are really spacious and the view from balcony is just brilliant. Derrick the owner was really kind, he helped us with all the possible activities to do in the garden route region and would love to come back here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank prabhavmusaddi89
Derrick C, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review

Wow, thanks so much for informing me that this is heaven. I will not have to travel anywhere after I leave this place lol. You are right, this is a piece of paradise for sure.

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
2:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are situated just 5min walk away from the 6km long Brenton beach which has had Blue Flag status for the past 3 years. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brenton Beach House

Address: 116 Watsonia Avenue, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna 6571, South Africa (Formerly J&C's Beach House)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Brenton-on-Sea
Price Range: $102 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brenton Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brenton Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brenton Beach House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the honeymoon suite - well equipped and faces on to the sea”
1JonathanF, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms good.”
CJFP17, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the Gary Player sea view suite.”
Venetia2013, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The honeymoon suite is magnificent!!”
wendyallison, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Blue Room under the breakfast/bar lobby”
HeleneHugues, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5