We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotell Utsikten

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hotell Utsikten
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 67: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2016

This hotel is an icon in Geiranger built several 100 years ago. Has been renovated numerous times, but rooms are still small. Location is great, high on the hill overlooking Geiranger and the fjord. Suggest room with view over the fjord

Helpful?
Thank Norway1944
Indonesia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

We searched for hotels near Geiranger and most were fully booked. When we contacted Utsikten hotell, they offered us a family room with fjord view. We did not regret ine bit for taking that offer. Unlike most hotels, Utsikten hotell is situated on a hill overlooking geiranger fjord so the sceneries were spectacular. We could see fjord covered with mist... More 

Helpful?
Thank andri_sw
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The hotel has a really interesting history and is beautifully located but it does not deliver on that promise in terms of the service from the staff. It is hard to put into words but the staff come across as if they are going through the motions rather than interested in customer service. It makes it feel as if they... More 

Helpful?
Thank David M
Frode R, Manager at Hotell Utsikten, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your reflections on your stay with us at Hotell Utsikten. I would also like to thank you for comments on the quality of the food. This means a lot to us! And actually, this is exactly why we choose to do it the way we do. Every night we serve a three course... More 

Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016

The hotel is placed on the way to Geiranger (10 minutes by car to the centre of the village) and it offers an incredible view on the fjord. The structure is quite old both outside and inside. Rooms and bathrooms are small and needed to be renovated. On the other hand we have to say that the breakfast it is... More 

Helpful?
Thank 912Simo
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016

The hotel is situated high above Geiranger with amazing views down the fjord, which can easily be seen from the bar and dining room. My room faced away from the view, which is perhaps why I got it for such a reasonable price (for Norway). The room was basic, with the bed being a little too narrow and the bathroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ben D
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

This was the only hotel available when we visited Geiranger, but for a good reason. The hotel had not been renovated since the 60s or 70s, no TV in the room, smell moist, way overpriced rooms, NOK 295 for a hamburger and poor parking arrangement. In addition, the hotel is not up to standard for people with disabilities - no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Frode R, Manager at Hotell Utsikten, responded to this review

First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to reflect on your stay at Hotell Utsikten. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If you paid notice to our pictures on our walls, you would have noticed that our hotel looked quite differently in the 60s and 70s. I can... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel is really all about the view. Rooms are small and basic but you can't get away from the fact that the view is incredible. Clean and comfortable throughout. Worth spending time in the lounge enjoying a beer from the local brewery. Very nice staff. No lift so worth packing a day bag separate to main luggage if only... More 

Helpful?
Thank NLREVIEWS
Bel Ombre
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

This nice Hotel is place right beside the winding road from Geiranger to Dalsnibba. About 240 meters over the sea level you have a great view of the step mountain sides rising up from the dark fjord. We were pleased with comforts we paid for and had tourist attractions all around us. The hotels own restaurant offered a tasty dinner... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ronnermark
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We arrived this hotel on 20 July 2016. It seems to me that we made a mistake in booking. There is another hotel in different city with the same name. We booking by mistake on the other city hotel. However, we are planning to visit Geiranger. We arrived hotel at 5:00 PM, the lady at the front disk tried to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Majeed2015
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2016

This is a very old hotel sitting on top of one hill at the end of the legendary Geiranger fjord. I love this place because of its quietness, a long shot away from the "Disneyland" at the piers. You have to drive quite a long way up the mountain behind the city of Geiranger but you will be rewarded with... More 

Helpful?
Thank St80249

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
0.8 km away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
493 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
274 reviews
3.4 km away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.4 km away
Hotel Union Oye
Hotel Union Oye
#1 of 2 in Orsta
142 reviews
0.1 km away
Lunheim Farmhouse
Lunheim Farmhouse
#1 of 1 in Geiranger
15 reviews
3.0 km away
Dalen Gaard Familiecamping
Dalen Gaard Familiecamping
#8 of 15 in Geiranger
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Hotell Utsikten

Address: 6216 Geiranger, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Price Range: $246 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotell Utsikten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotell Utsikten staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The view of the Fjord is magical.”
 of 5 bubbles O2898YQdavidm, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask about whether your room faces the fjord or not. If not you should be paying less in my opinion.”
 of 5 bubbles bendH4089DJ, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay for dinner.”
 of 5 bubbles JoseD324, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“Worth paying for the view !!!”
 of 5 bubbles OpherD_12, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“Definitely ask for a room with a view of the fjord! Spectacular!”
 of 5 bubbles LoisWG, 20 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay