We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Geiranger

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Geiranger
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Geiranger
See the most recent reviews
Showing 142: English reviews
Moscow
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Nice camping site, place for housecars and vagns, also for tents. Good facilities: toilet, showers, washing room and kitchen. Locates on the bank of river. magnificent view over fjord. In 2 km from center and cruise spot.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elena_badalyan
erot_13, Director of Sales at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for Your feedback, it is very important for us. Have a Nice day! Best regards, Agnethe Kværne Sales Manager

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

This hotel is unique to be located amidst such a natural beauty. Getting a hotel room in Geiranger during the prime season is a difficult exercise. Thanks to our trip organisers we could get accommodation for two nights here. But alas! All of us were alloted rooms facing the hill and not the fford. Apart from the sleeping time we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bgautam
erot_13, Director of Sales at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for Your feedback, it is very important for us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the Natural beauty of Geiranger and Your stay With us in Hotel Geiranger. We hope to see you at Our hotel and in Geiranger again. Best Regards. Agnethe Kværne Sales Manager

Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

Clean room and nice food with the best view. When you Walk around the hotel, you can see difference view. You can also get fresh air when you walking outdoor. If you like the quiet, clean and great view vacation, this hotel will be your best choice when you visit Norway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CassellHsu
erot_13, Leder  at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for Your positive feedback about the view from the hotel and the cleanliness of Your room. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed Your stay With us in Hotel Geiranger. We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Geiranger in the future. Kind regards, Maud Haldorsen Hotelier

Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewed 18 October 2015

It's easy to find,...and very lucky,..got the room where faced to the Fjord !! - Amazing view. Room looked very simply,..the furniture looked a bit old, may be old.. ?? However, it' s just one night. The groundfloor, there is a restaurant with terrace and a big souvenir shop where can get the lift thru the souvenir shop, but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NapasatkaT
erot_13, Director of Sales at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for Your positive feedback about the view from the hotel and the breakfast. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed Your stay With us in Hotel Geiranger. Regarding the rooms/Furniture, we always Upgrade Our rooms during the Winter when the hotel is closed. We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Geiranger in...

Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 2 October 2015

We enjoyed a 2 night stay, our room was older but was clean & well maintained, the bed was comfortable. We had a wonderful view of the fjords, it was beautiful day & night. There was a nice balcony off the room, a nice dining room with wonderful fjord views offering a buffet of hot & cold options. Laundry can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LGS55
erot_13, Director of Sales at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for Your feedback, it is very important to us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed Your room, the view and Our hotel in general. We hope to see you back at Our hotel and in Geiranger again. Have a Nice day. Best regards, Agnethe Kværne Sales Manager

Sarnia, Canada
Reviewed 25 September 2015

We arrived by boat, so the hotel is perfectly situated and just a short walk up the hill. As we were only there for one night, this hotel was fine. We had a fjord view which was terrific and sat on the balcony and enjoyed the view. The hotel staff were very helpful, and accommodating in helping us find bus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank retiredandenjoyingit
erot_13, Resepsjonssjef at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for Your feedback, it is very important for us. We are so happy to hear that you had a good stay at Our hotel and in Geiranger. Have a Nice day.

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2015

This hotel mostly caters to tour groups and the decor is frankly a bit tired. However, if you have a room with a view of the Fjord, then you will not be looking at the decor very much! The view from our room was fantastic. The beds were comfortable and the room had everything that you would need. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick61
erot_13, Resepsjonssjef at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this review

Hi, Your feedback is important for us, thank you. We are so happy to hear that you both enoyed Your stay at Our hotel and in Geiranger. Regarding the decor/rooms, we alwayd Upgrade rooms during the Winter when the hotel is closed. We hope to see you both at Our hotel and in Geiranger again. have a Nice day.

Taiwan
Reviewed 3 September 2015

The hotel staff upgraded my room with a beautiful fjord view. The room is gracefully decorated with a big balcony. I enjoyed the sunrise and sunset at the balcony. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially the front desk. They always wear a warm smile.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Josephine W
erot_13, Resepsjonssjef at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for Your feedback, it is very important for us. We are so glad to hear that you had a greate stay at Our hotel, and we hope to see you again here in Geiranger. Have a Nice day.

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2015

We drove from Alesund to Geiranger - the drive was good but nothing compared to the 'Discovery Route' that I wrote about. The hotel is located at a convenient place at the Geiranger Fjord. Unfortunately its a dated place with some rooms having good view of the Fjord but quite a number of them having no views. I think that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bijayendra S
erot_13, Resepsjonssjef at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this review

Hi, Your feedback is important for us, thank you for Your feedback. Every Winter we always Upgrade and re-decorate some rooms for the next season, we apology if you were not happy With Your room. Please do let us know if you are planning to visit Geiranger again, so we can Upgrade Your room. We are glad to hear that...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Hotel Geiranger is nicely located close to the Geiranger harbor, restaurants and shops. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Hotel Geiranger has an excellent restaurant on the ground floor that is connected through a footbridge to the main hotel building. The view from the rooms facing the fjord is excellent. Hotel improvement suggestion: The hotel management should upgrade the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Franz K
erot_13, Resepsjonssjef at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for Your feedback, it is very important for us. We are so glad to hear that you both enjoyed Your stay at Our hotel as well as the location and staff. Nice to hear. The management do now know Your improvement suggestions, thank you. Have a Nice day.

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geiranger hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
494 reviews
17.7 km away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
311 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotell Utsikten
Hotell Utsikten
#4 of 4 in Geiranger
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Lunheim Accomodation
Lunheim Accomodation
#1 of 1 in Geiranger
15 reviews
2.0 km away
Grande Hytteutleige og Camping
8.7 km away
Djupvasshytta
Djupvasshytta
#2 of 15 in Geiranger
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Friaren Bistro
Friaren Bistro
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Geiranger is locaded in the heart of Geiranger. It is a short walk to the fjord sightseeing boat, souvernir shops, restaurants and the new Waterfall hiking path, which opened in 2014. We hope we get the pleasure to welcome you to Our hotel and to Geiranger. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Geiranger

Address: Skansekaia, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Price Range: $196 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Geiranger 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Geiranger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Geiranger staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Geiranger staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose a room with the view of the fjords where u can see the cruise ships”
 of 5 bubbles JainGgn, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a newly renovated room if possible”
 of 5 bubbles saalton, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are staying longer, ask for a bay view room”
 of 5 bubbles rskmcg, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Always ask for a room with fjord view.”
 of 5 bubbles SimpletonOzyozyozy, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pay for a room with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles jbwheel, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5