We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Balavil Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Balavil Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 196: English reviews
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there from the 27th until the 2nd of January with Dodds of groom with number 1 driver and with his wife Louise a d the rest of the passengers from the bus and the food is very good there at the banavil hotel in Newton more in bonnie Scotland. From tom and Scott from prestwick

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
Karen C, Owner at Balavil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for asking the time to review the hotel. We loved having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Karen and Fraser

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent 3 nights here over the New Year. This is the fifth year that I have done this. The hotel is lovely. Clean, spacious rooms with everything you could need. The food is really delicious, a really good choice and all served promptly even though there were around 200 guests on Hogmanay. I think what sets this hotel apart though...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise H
Karen C, Owner at Balavil Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Louise, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We're so happy you joined us for new year and that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time. All the best for 2017 Karen and Fraser

Montrose, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

booked for 2 nights, hogmanay and new years day. the stay was enjoyable the room was a double which was a good size and ensuite with tv and tea/coffee making in it the food is excellent with the service likewise from nice friendly staff the lounge bar has a very good selection of whiskies only complaint is that there was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank grant m
Karen C, Owner at Balavil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We did put on food late afternoon for all the guests as part of the Hogmanay package, apologies you did not realise this was included. We don't do lunches in the hotel but there is a wide choice of places on...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner came to Scotland for a few days to relax and enjoy the snow , I found Balavil hotel at a good price and we went there. It's been such a good few days there , nice ,quiet , the staff it's so friendly and helpful, the food is good home cooked . We've used to pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andreeani2016
Karen C, Owner at Balavil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. All the best for 2017. Fraser and Karen

Perth Scotland
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Didn't stay here Visited for drinks and meal, tried their home made pizza great My wife had the steak pie and it was lovely too Drinks reasonable for a hotel Nice lounge to sit in and 2 very attentive young men working behind the bar

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tanaholic_9
Karen C, Owner at Balavil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Balavil Hotel. Delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Nice stay at the Balavil and we enjoyed a nice meal and good breakfast. Had a game of golf in the afternoon. Staff very friendly and efficient. Nice area to visit and only an hour from Inverness. Would reccomend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 12christinef
Karen C, Owner at Balavil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and thank you for your kind comments. It's great to have such a beautiful golf course on our doorstep. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Newtonmore and hopefully we can welcome you another time.

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

It's always a lottery going to a hotel chosen by a coach company but this time someone had done their homework and the Balavil Hotel turned out to be a pleasant, comfortable and very clean place to stay. It's a typical Scotish hotel building with a large, light, nicely furnished dining room and plenty of seating in the bar area....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pen638
Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Just returned from a 4 night coach trip here. Excellent hotel with very helpful, friendly staff and great entertainment on 2 nights. The room was very comfortable although the lighting could be improved upon as it was a bit gloomy in the bedroom. The food was very good served by polite and friendly staff but sadly the service was so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Had 4 nights here whilst visiting the highlands. Very friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. Lovely room good food and recommended. It may look a little ordinary from the outside but you wont be disappointed when you stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trevormac51
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Fraser his Mum and the staff were just brilliant with all there help,they went above and beyond.Super hotel ,lovely food.,all in all a super experience..Will certainly recommend it to friends and family.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lindaeckman49

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.7 km away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#2 of 4 in Newtonmore
267 reviews
0.7 km away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
615 reviews
4.6 km away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
29.7 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,186 reviews
3.7 km away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Balavil Hotel

Address: Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Price Range: $89 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balavil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your Balavil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balavil Sport Inverness
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Balavil Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Bangor
5 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Balavil Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room was very comfortable,with a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles lindaeckman49, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front of the hotel have road noise”
 of 5 bubbles westie93, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“room 26 just by lift no stairs to climb overlooks front”
 of 5 bubbles mazer, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“best view front room”
 of 5 bubbles I6206IUjohnm, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
“First floor at the rear was very quite we had room 11”
 of 5 bubbles abarrie06, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay