We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas

Save
Share
Camino Las Catalinas, Las Catalinas 50304 Costa Rica
Preferred Hotels
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (79)
Room & Suite (15)
Pool & Beach (9)

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Las Catalinas
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Here at Santarena, we appreciate luxury, but prefer places that feel traveled. In a formal sense, Santarena is an homage to the old mansions of the great coastal cities of Havana and Cartagena, a traditional gem where sun-kissed days revolve around blossoming courtyards and lounging on timeless terraces with marveling picturesque archways surrounded by lush greenery and constant views of the sky. Views from our rooftop are incomparable, especially when it is paired with our 35-square-meter pool. Stylish accommodations and inviting public spaces are seamlessly woven with gracious hospitality to make this the ideal home base, captivating guests with an authentic laid-back warmth throughout.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
49Reviews2Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 26
  • 6
  • 4
  • 7
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
renateroessle wrote a review 2 Jan
Marktoberdorf, Swabia, Bavaria3 contributions
Price 350 USD/night/incl breakfast/without tax Check in: No smile, no nice word, no explanations about the hotel. Room: - no water - no fridge - no toothbrush cups - no laundry service bag - Seating only for one person although there would have been room for a sofa Environment: Pool area on the 4th floor at 9 o'clock still uncleaned. You couldn't lie down on the couch pads. The side tables still had all the stains from the day before Towels for the pool on the 4th floor had to be picked up at the reception and returned. Beach club entrance fee 15 USD. Laundry: Going to the reception because of the demand for a laundry bag. Laundry came back only folded. No hint before. Neither the T-shirt nor the blouses were ironed. When asked at the reception came the harsh answer that this could be read on the website. An iron is available in the bathroom. So I should iron myself. Breakfast: No spoons revealed and not at the buffett. The porridge had to wait until finally a spoon was delivered - that was the case every day. The scrambeld eggs were like spaetzle so small - not fluffy. Very, very little choice. Restauant: We arrived very late (driving time from San Jose about 4 hours) and still wanted dinner. The hotel complex is located in a bay and there is only the hotel restaurant. In two restaurants we were simply told that they were fully booked and we were asked why we had not reserved. No one came to our aid. We paid 350 USD, therefore: There is a failure at all levels - The biggest problem, however, is that the hotel lacks the soul. None of the employees has a smile on their face and unfortunately this can be felt. Positive: The pool on the 4th floor and the view is amazing. We enjoyed this one 100%. On the mattress and pillows were very very good. Result: An international manager as well as a Feng Shui consultant would do the hotel very well.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Dmitry wrote a review Dec 2021
New York City, New York2 contributions
I just want to say a big thank you to the concierge team at the Santarena hotel, they gave awesome recommendations and even offered to help make reservations at other restaurants, 5 stars!!!! will use this property again in the futuer.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Arroyo, Guest Services / Front Office at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Aura : Happy New Year! We appreciate your time sharing your experience with others, our team will be delightful to read your review. Cannot wait to welcome you both very soon in Las Catalinas, Santarena Hotel! Stay Light Concierge Team
Read more
Sofiarod70 wrote a review Dec 2021
San Jose, Costa Rica74 contributions15 helpful votes
The hotel is in one of the hottest areas of the country and guests are not allowed to control the A/C below 21 C. Additionally, the hot water temperature is also controlled by the hotel, so you will get warm water instead of hot water. As per the Lemonade Bar at the beach, it has been using disposable plates for a long time with the excuse of covid. No logic at all!! It is such a shameful rule that they have, and as a hotel guest, it is terrible to be eating from a disposable plate. Also, during lunch time, the main restaurant only offers a limited menu such a pizza and pasta. Seems that they are stuck in early 2020 covid rules.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrea Arroyo, Guest Services / Front Office at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Sofia: Thank you very much for sharing your comments, we hope to welcome you very soon. Happy New Year , Concierge Team.
Read more
Sherry S wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We received the incorrect information in regards to using the Catalina's beach Club. We were informed that we could use these installations due to they held a list of guests from the hotel. Never did they informed that there is a service charge of $15. The Hotel was at its fullest and the pool was impossible to use due to all the children and their pool floaters.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Concierge Santarena, Guest Services / Front Office at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas
Responded 26 Oct 2021
Dear Sherry: Thank yopu very much for your comments, as we previously confirmed upon arrival our agent confirmed that Beach Club at Las Catalinas was an additional fee per person. Also they were informed on their prevoius stay in the past months as well. Our pool facilities does not allow floating devices either for all audience information. Once again thank you for your visit! Stay Light, Concierge Team
Read more
Renee_travels61921 wrote a review Aug 2021
45 contributions3 helpful votes
Santarena and Las Catalinas are every bit as dreamy as they look. We hosted our wedding here in June after postponing from April 2020 and it was just perfect, absolutely worth the wait. If you’re planning a destination wedding or a group trip of any kind, have it here! I work for a resort company, have traveled the world, and was a wedding coordinator back in the day, so please take my word for it. Every one of our 40 guests said it was the vacation of a lifetime and every detail truly was perfection. The food at Ponciana was wonderful and Gaby, Connie and the team there have become friends of ours after years of planning and complete, generous flexibility throughout covid. The hotel was in perfect condition and the design, kind service and location in this one-of-kind town were unmatched by anything we have seen in central or South America, and we have traveled a lot. The rooms are huge and the breakfast was great, located as it seems just steps from the beach and surf shop. We plan to be back for many anniversary trips and can’t wait to stay again in this very special place. Andrea at the front desk also deserves a big shout out, as does the Rentals team in town. Thank you again for making our dream wedding and vacation so perfect!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$247 - US$495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Santarena at Las Catalinas
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of GuanacasteLas Catalinas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas
Which popular attractions are close to Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas?
Nearby attractions include Playa Flamingo (5.0 km), Potrero Beach (3.1 km), and Monkey's Bar & Restaurant (6.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sentido Norte Restaurant, a'lo Nico, and Surf Box.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Las Catalinas.
Does Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Santarena Hotel at Las Catalinas accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.