We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Battlefields Country Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Battlefields Country Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 199: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I took a weekend trip to Dundee to go and do some photography. We stopped at the Battlefields Lodge in the morning and we were greeted warmly by the two staff members, we asked for a room and in five minutes booked and paid..now that's what I call service. We told them that we would be back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pierre J
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

I planned on a nice quiet December holiday with my family at Battlefields Country Lodge, as soon as I got to my room I noticed there wasn't any water provided as we were told not to drink from the tap. Secondly the toilet door(which was directly opposite my bed) was broken and therefore the door couldn't close which made things...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank natashaj723
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was good the chef tried his best to accommodate us as we are vegetarians The resort is quite and peaceful The staff was very friendly and the trophy was the dog, it visited us every morning and what a pleasant greeting.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 309dennyg
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comments. Regards Dave

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stay over a view times during the year at Battlefield Lodge. Every time my room is better than before, the staff so friendly and helpful and the best, the animals walking around and cats and dog coming to welcome me!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elize_13
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your kind comments Regards Dave

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An awesome place. So green and beautiful. Food and hospitality superb. Spent christmas there with friends had enjoyable time. Went to Blood River (battle between boers and zulus). Very interesting and educational for children.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V422WSlindam
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi I am glad you enjoyed your stay, all the best for 2017 Regards Dave

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A comfortable accommodation destination in the Battlefields district of KwaZulu-Natal providing good facilities at a competitive price. Staff are well-trained and keen to assist, always obliging and helpful. Gardens are beautifully maintained and the surrounding flat grasslands are teaming with blesbok, springbok, zebra and ostriches with attractive mountains in the background.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianHenwood
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your kind comments. Regards Dave

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Enjoyed a Country style Weekend Getaway to Battlefields Country Lodge, we were pleased with the beautiful landscaped gardens and grounds of this property. Lends to a relaxed country atmosphere. Stayed in the Standard Silo Rooms however fancier rooms are available as well. I travelled with my husband and 4 year old son, the room was comfortable, cosy and air conditioned....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashina R
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your kind words Regards Dave

Heysham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Stayed a couple of nights in a D'View Superior room which is basically 2 blocks of 2 storeys with rooms overlooking the lawns and pond. Average accommodation with king size bed, tv,safe, easy chair, wardrobe and chest of drawers, shower room and toilet. Adequate for 2 nights. The tea and coffee making facilities were poor with only 2 sachets provided,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Csider65
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for you constructive comments. Point you have raised have been noted. Regards Dave O'Halloran

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Stay was excellent. Staff were very accomodating and friendly. Meals just need a bit more variety and can there be a lunch buffet.Beautiful and serene environment.Would love to visit again. Covered pool would be great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 122ashishr
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comments. We are in the process of creating a Ala Carte Menu for Lunch in the restaurant. Regards

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 24 November 2016

The place was not family friendly, first day we had to share one room with our 2 kids aged 11 and 8 Second day we were given a second room far away from each other. The place is not for families, you cant have 4 people in one room or be put where your kids cannot be supervised. The breakfast...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nomfundod630
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Unfortunately we do not have Family room, How ever if your booking was made early, then I am sure the reservation staff would have accommodated you in the Rose Cottages.. They are 3 rooms next to each other and are child friendly. The lodge must have been full if your rooms were split. Regards Dave O'Halloran

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
4:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
0.0 km away
Royal Country Inn
Royal Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Dundee
82 reviews
0.0 km away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.0 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
442 reviews
0.0 km away
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
0.0 km away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
South Africa's Premier Battlefields, Conferencing,Wedding,Rugby Resort & Events Destination Battlefields Country Lodge is half way between Durban & Johannesburg and situated in the heartbeat of the well known historic Battlefields in KwaZulu Natal. Accommodation comprising of 70 air-conditioned, en-suite rooms surrounded by immaculate lawns, gardens & game. We are in close proximity to the famous battle sites Isandlwana, Rorke's Drift, Blood River monument and Talana Museum, rated as one of the best in South Africa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Battlefields Country Lodge

Address: Route 33 - Dundee to | Springfield Farm, Dundee 3000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Dundee
Price Range: $76 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefields Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Battlefields Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Battlefields Country Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Swansea, United Kingdom
Chester
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Battlefields Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we had idube no 8.”
 of 5 bubbles pierrejoubert, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are different rooms, I just book and every time I am so happy”
 of 5 bubbles Elize_13, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get as close to reception as you can, if you want wi-fi in your room”
 of 5 bubbles dentiStockton, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“As close to the restaurant as possible”
 of 5 bubbles Abrumar, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check fo Pte functions, if they cannot guarantee none during your stay do not go.”
 of 5 bubbles mikebY9228WP, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay