We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Battlefields Country Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Battlefields Country Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Battlefields Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 198: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 October 2016

My Family enjoyed our stay at Battlefields Country Lodge in Dundee however our first night was extremely unpleasant.The lodge placed us in room 25 , a Silo , this room is close to a room for weddings and general venues for parties that the lodge holds.The noice carried on and on and my family could not sleep at all.I complained...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 621dwaynes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Our family of 5 truly received top class service with staff and managers ensuring we had a most memorable stay and Battlefields Country Lodge. Stunning facilities, Great food. Wonderful people. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeeSmiRSA
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your kind comments. We strive to make all our guest as comfortable as possible. Regards Dave O'Halloran

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

There was no water for most of the day. The room we were staying in had an insect problem so we had to be moved. There was a wedding party being held there and the music was blaring until 230am which kept the entire lodge up. The breakfast was lacking in variety and the rooms need a revamp. If you're...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShohanMoodley
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. As you know that the Dundee area has a huge water crises, one of our pump had gone down and had to be replace. There is always bottle water available. Unfortunately, we do have wedding and we do request the guest to keep the music down to after 11h00. Again...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Only stayed at this hotel for one night while on an Exodus trip to South Africa. Stayed in room 27 which was on the ground level of an old grain silo. Nice comfortable bed and en suite wet room with shower. Had buffet for evening meal when we arrived but not overly impressed by selection on offer. Breakfast was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cannytraveller2008
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your Kind Comments, yes the Lab. is a bit of a scrounger, but guest enjoy him Regards Dave O'Halloran

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We attended a family wedding in Dundee. The room was clean and comfortable. The service we received from Buyi and the gentleman on duty sat afternoon 13 August was fantastic. He was extremely pleasant and helpful and an asset to the Lodge. Loved you Labrador.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gailf572
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. Your complements have been passed on to the staff concerned. Dave

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Visited this hotel in their winter season, and it was quiet. Only some of the facilities were open. My room was on the first floor and a good size. It can be used self-catering and had a fridge and microwave. The bed was very comfortable. The one negative was that the bathroom door was a concertina folding door - very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missdixon
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comments. We are currently looking into replacing the Folding doors. Dave

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 19 July 2016

This venue is amazing. The hospitality, the people and the food was top notch. This venue is certainly a child friendly place and I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a relaxing family get away. Parents can relax and not worry about the kids who are happily running around chasing guinea fowl!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerran Lee B
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your kind comments. Dave

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 19 July 2016

The lodge is an ideal location for a visit to the battlefields. However, the rooms are tired & ineed of some TLC to bring them up to standard. I.e. Bathroom door did not close, shower leaked into bathroom, lighting very poor. Those where the downside, food was good

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 338ricd
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comments. This matter will be attended to immediately. Dave

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We checked in as a party of 4, we called ahead to make sure it was fine that we check in early as we had a wedding to attend on the 02/07/2016, the lady at reception said it was fine so we checked in around 11 or so. When we got there they gave us 2 separate cottages with 2...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alisha427
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comments. We do have a Manager on Duty, The number is in the rooms. I am sure they would have sorted this out. The matter is being looked into Regards

Sutton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Two night stay on a Riviera Tour. Ideal as the name suggests to see the Boer War and Zulu battlefield sites. We stayed in room 13. Has a small kitchen area with a sink and microwave. Room adequate for a short stay although main room light was very dim and the bedside lights were therefore essential. Bed was very comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaMark1958
Dave O, General Manager at Battlefields Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comment, items listed have been noted and necessary action taken. Regards

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
4:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
0.0 km away
Royal Country Inn
Royal Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Dundee
82 reviews
0.0 km away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.0 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
442 reviews
0.0 km away
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
0.0 km away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
South Africa's Premier Battlefields, Conferencing,Wedding,Rugby Resort & Events Destination Battlefields Country Lodge is half way between Durban & Johannesburg and situated in the heartbeat of the well known historic Battlefields in KwaZulu Natal. Accommodation comprising of 70 air-conditioned, en-suite rooms surrounded by immaculate lawns, gardens & game. We are in close proximity to the famous battle sites Isandlwana, Rorke's Drift, Blood River monument and Talana Museum, rated as one of the best in South Africa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Battlefields Country Lodge

Address: Route 33 - Dundee to | Springfield Farm, Dundee 3000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Dundee
Price Range: $76 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefields Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Battlefields Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Battlefields Country Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Swansea, United Kingdom
Chester
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Battlefields Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are different rooms, I just book and every time I am so happy”
 of 5 bubbles Elize_13, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get as close to reception as you can, if you want wi-fi in your room”
 of 5 bubbles dentiStockton, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“As close to the restaurant as possible”
 of 5 bubbles Abrumar, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check fo Pte functions, if they cannot guarantee none during your stay do not go.”
 of 5 bubbles mikebY9228WP, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms appear to be the same although some are on the first floor and only accessible by a steep staircase.”
 of 5 bubbles richarda17, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay