We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

873 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 276: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my husband came 2 Zanzibar for the first time. The trip was great. Due to health issues we r very selective in our food. We met there Chef Materekaj Juma who is a special person, and prepared us what we needed,took care of all our needs even on his day off, always with a smile and with all... More 

Helpful?
Thank נתלי ואמיר י
Sargans, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great time here. The bungalows are much bigger than we expected. The view is incredible. If your room is on seaside, the ocean is directly in front of your room. You have plenty of space in your room. Dinner as well as breakfast is delicious in the restaurant, where you not have to make a reservation. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ladina87
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. Il start with the pros: The beach is absolutely breathtaking and if you enjoy sea life you will love it as the tide goes quite far out and you see lots of rock pools. You can walk for miles! The pool is also gorgeous and is right on the beach. The hotel is... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank hana d
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is really very exigent to me and I fail to understand how I can explain to disapprove your disappointment which should have not be there and I am defeated to explicate one point after the other. Before any comments, I would like to thank you very much for sharing your positive and negative review with us. On... More 

בית נחמיה
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

we were a week in this wondrfull place. the staff is very kind, specialy hawa from thr recepion desk. the room was exallent. very clean! very good service at the bars, restaurants and in general. the locion is exallent. highly recomended!

Helpful?
2 Thank Iirisrubin6
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly recognize you as our valued guest. We are proud that the team including Ms Hawa made it to your expectation by going extra mile that led to your successful vacation. You got all you need as per your expectations. Thank you very much for sharing with us your review. Yours sincerely, Dominic Ouko Manager Assistant More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Usually I preferr writing a positive opinion rather than writing a bed review, but in this case I choose to make an exception because that it is Surprising that this hotel is rated as 5 star hotel when in reality it is barely feels like a 3 star hotel . The hotel is located on the south east of Zanzibar... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank monicaVini
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Dears We are back from wonderful holiday in Karafuu beach resort and spa – be relaxed and ready for daily responsibilities home in Prague – Czech Republic. Thank you for a great opportunity to spend our rest in paradise, including excellent service during our stay in your hotel from all members of your team. We are not able to thank... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ivana H
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Just got beck from a heavenly week in the wonderful island of Zanzibar, stayed at the karafu resort was a wonderful way of enjoing the cloture. the hotel was a bit of a disappointment , thou located on a beoutiful beach, with a green garden and lots of spaece and three swimming pools to chuose between, the room we got... More 

Helpful?
Thank simone1901
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016

idyllic place directly on the beach with nice and big room, great restaurant with choice, wonderful beach with blue lagoon. ideal for the honeymoon, all people were friendly and nice, nice excursion to propose so everything was perfect for us

Helpful?
Thank Kro Oliver F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We came back this summer for the 3rd time for a large family vacation. It was just amazing. The staff was so worm and loving, answered all our requests and made the vacation perfect.the food was very good and possible for all of us to find something to eat- gluten free, vegan and vegetarian! The rooms were beiond amazing and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Noam F
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of the Team i cannot wait longer to hear when you are coming back to your second home (Karafuu Beach Resort & Spa) to meet Family members. Once again thank you for your positive review. The Team is always there to deliver quality services to our valued guests to their satisfaction. We are looking forward to... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016

The location is a dream, especially if you book a junior suite sea front, which is literally on the beach under the palm trees! Food is also very good and the staff very friendly. However, to reach the standard of a western 5 star hotel would require more care in the overall maintenance, especially in the bathroom facilities and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Giorgio C

1,680 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1142)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (324)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (165)
Viewed
Room/Suite (118)
Viewed
View from Room (66)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
1:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (398)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (521)
Viewed
Amenities (117)
Viewed
Beach (34)
Viewed
Bondeni Pool (11)
Viewed
Cottage (78)
Viewed
Junior Suite (66)
Viewed
Masai Pool (9)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (109)
Viewed
Samawati Spa Pool (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pingwe
26.4 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
1,350 reviews
35.9 km away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 171 in Zanzibar Island
394 reviews
52.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 km away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,311 reviews
13.4 km away
Azao Resort & Spa
Azao Resort & Spa
#4 of 6 in Pongwe
34 reviews
51.6 km away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 18 in Nungwi
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On a deserted white sandy beach, at 65 km from Stone Town, lies Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, an international five-star hotel, winner of the World Travel Awards as Tanzania Leading Resort and Africa Leading Beach Resort 2011 .It is one of the most luxurious hotels on the east coast of Zanzibar, where, even during low tide, it’s possible to enjoy a comfortable swim in the ocean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa

Address: PO Box 71, Pingwe, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pingwe
Price Range: $184 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karafuu Beach Hotel Pingwe
Karafuu Hotel Beach
Karafuu Resort Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa staff and other travellers.
55 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (55)

Questions? Get answers from Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“take the rooms with two digits since they are with the view to the Ocean”
 of 5 bubbles dannys747, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had a room close to one of the restaurants/pool/bar areas. We basically had the pool to ourselves for the full 7 nights we stayed there.”
 of 5 bubbles christelledj, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“location, food and Spa”
 of 5 bubbles mikelawson1963, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Would not suggest rooms overlooking to Bondeni pool as there is no ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles , 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“ask for sea view room”
 of 5 bubbles 960credit, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay