We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barcelo Tambor

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Barcelo Tambor
Barcelo Tambor
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,083 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Barcelo Tambor
See the most recent reviews
Showing 185: English reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2016

This is not representative of the Barcelo I know. It is definitely not a 5* resort, 2 at the most. We got married at Barcelo in Cabo and were extremely disappointed by this location. As others have mentioned they cater to locals, which is fine, so some Spanish definitely helps. Room: Dirty, often cold shower, we were premium and never...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank mac811
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Excelent hotel all inclusive. Maybe must be have better brands liquors. Shows at night are very good with great dancers. I recommend it to everyone. Go ahead and enjoy a beautifull beach in one of the nicest country in the world

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ecotours C
Jonathan M, Revenue Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review

Dear Customer Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We took good note of your remarks about the quality of our liquors. Again we thank you for this very kind review of...

Reviewed 23 November 2016

It gets quite crowded during national holidays, but in mean time there is much less people. It's quite busy thou, because the hotel is big (capacity is about 1000 people). Big pools, free and delicious food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Khaira B
Jonathan M, Revenue Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review

Dear Khaira: We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We do our utmost to ensure that our guests can enjoy an enriching dining expérience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service....

Georgia Coast, Georgia
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

We hiked across the panamaian border and Some locals suggested that since we were going to the Nicoya peninsula we should stay at barcelo tambor, it was very nice however the food wasn't very good and our ac died and wasn't fixed promptly. It's really far and remote which can be good or bad. All in all we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingtraveler100
Jonathan M, Revenue Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review

Dear Costumer, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. Please receive our most sincere apologies for not fulfilling your expectations regarding our gastronomy and all-inclusive service. The involved departments have been informed about your comments and we are sure they will help...

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

If you like school cafeteria food and low low shelf drinks and service with an ugly attitude then this is the right place for you! Can't imagine how will give this place a four star rating. The wine is atrocious one type of red white and rose I will bet you have never ever heard the brands they have. And...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marco U
Jonathan M, Revenue Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review

Dear Marco, Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel. Thank you for...

Sylvan Lake, Canada
Reviewed 10 November 2016

The resort looks great because they keep it well maintained. If you are travelling during the rainy season, make sure you get a room on the second floor because the first floor rooms will flood if it rains too much. The food is typical resort food. There are plenty of activities provided by the resort. If you are a smoker,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank codylister1
Heredia, Costa Rica
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

I just had few days in the hotel , we practice vaganism and this hotel took care of providing the right service and comply with all vegan specifications, we were asked to announce our visit at the restaurant once there Mr Andres quiroz (restaurant resception) call the chef to our table and he took our order on a personal way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mberges
Jonathan M, Revenue Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review

Dear Customer: We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 30 October 2016

My wife and I stayed here for 10 days in August. It was somewhat crowded part of the time, but was only noticeable at the pool. The beach is absolutely gorgeous, especially at sunrise and sunset.The resort practically has an entire cove to itself, with the exception of a small fishing village. The food was excellent. Though there wasn't a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DougAndJacquie
Jonathan M, Revenue Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review

Dear Customer: Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights...

Ojochal, Costa Rica
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Love the location, the amenities... but really...no access to internet in the room? When we checked in, I asked for the internet password. I was told it normally costs $24 for 4 days of internet access... but because I am a Barcelo member, they would give me a code. I go to the room, and attempt to access it... NOPE!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JunglechicCR
Jonathan M, Revenue Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review

Dear Costumer, We are sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are working in improving the internet access to cover all the rooms. The satisfaction of our customers is our main goal. Thank you very much for the good comments in regards the given service at the Japanese Restaurant. Our staff appreciate your time in letting a...

Reviewed 27 October 2016

We just spent 3 nights at the Barcelo Tambor and I must admit, it wasn't the best experience. In this day and age, how can a world wide company not have internet. All of our group are business people so we need to be in touch daily by email etc. When we checked in, we were given a code and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill C
Jonathan M, Revenue Manager at Barcelo Tambor, responded to this review

Dear costumer, We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. We will consider your observations made in regards the Rancho seafood and Steak house food verifying the ingredients and correct elaboration. In regards the internet access, we are sorry the inconvenient suffered due to the server crash of our provider of internet. After verifying with our provider...

1,157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (591)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (112)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (334)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (525)
Viewed
Amenities (78)
Viewed
Beach (25)
Viewed
Kiddie Pool (6)
Viewed
Oceanfront Double Room (47)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool Area (41)
Viewed
Dining (84)
Viewed
Superior Double Room ADA Accessibilty (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Master Suite (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
5.1 km away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
39.0 km away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
778 reviews
40.1 km away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
3.4 km away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
15.5 km away
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Barcelo Tambor

Address: Playa Tambor, Tambor 771-1150, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Price Range: $302 - $679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Tambor 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Barcelo and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Tambor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Tambor Beach Hotel Tambor
Barcelo Hotel Tambor Beach
Barcelo Hotel Puntarenas
Hotel Barcelo Playa Tambor
Barcelo Tambor Costa Rica
Barcelo Tambor Beach Costa Rica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barcelo Tambor staff and other travellers.
39 questions
Ask a question
san francisco
1 month ago

See all questions (39)

Questions? Get answers from Barcelo Tambor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would take the small plane from either Airport to get to this hotel. We used Sansa.”
 of 5 bubbles Mytrip201721, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view rooms are just that ocean rooms, all other rooms are garden view”
 of 5 bubbles VivianM530, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The six hundred block of rooms are good for hearing and seeing the wildlife.”
 of 5 bubbles SRE59, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor less people ....the far the better ...”
 of 5 bubbles JimmyFatjo, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in building 6, which is a nice, quiet location. We had ocean front which I loved.”
 of 5 bubbles Heathert_8, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5