We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica

485 reviews
Save
Traveller (121)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (3)
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good43%
  • Average18%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“room was clean”(16 reviews)
“basic hotel”(6 reviews)
“costa rica”(20 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Concierge
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (485)Write a Review
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
83
110
55
18
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
83
110
55
18
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanbasic hotelcosta ricaeco friendly hotelnice groundshot waterhotel is locatedcloud forestzip liningwalls are thinrental carshort walkwatermelonstaff was very friendly and helpfulplantainssabor ticobreakfast was delicious
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

We stayed here for 3 days January 2017. We took my adult step-sons and their partners to Tamarindo then to Santa Elena/Monteverde. We had a very nice time. I had an extreme flare of bursitis in my hip, and the staff found crutches for me...More

Thank Nancy L
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. They have a nice breakfast in the morning. Clean rooms but kind of small. This is a no frills place. They have solar here to heat up the water so at best you get a warm shower. No heater in...More

Thank Mary B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very Nice hotel to stay in with a perfect vieuw over the valley. We had a bubble bath in de room, we loved everything over there! The food was perfect, fresh made with a smile a d as much as we liked. They serve beautiful...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank moatjemoatje
Response from luiscamacho08, Gerente at Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa RicaResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thanks for your kind review, it was a pleasure having you and we are really happy you enjoyed the hotel, and will be glad to have on your next visit to Monteverde. Best Regards, Maricruz Camacho.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Don't waste in a very expensive hotel in Santa Elena the town is very very small and theres not too much to do. I just stay 1 day We went to the Zip lines. Highly recommended. The people super nice. The hotel staff very nice...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marilumach
Response from luiscamacho08, Gerente at Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa RicaResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, Monteverde is a small town, but has a lot of different activities for those who enjoy adventure outdoor activities. We are really sorry is not your kind of destination or that you did not ask for the right...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff was nice and helpful, but the room was overall not very clean, the blankets looked like they haven’t been washed for a very long time, there was an odd smell and it was very cold in the room at night. Location was okay not...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank corey212
Response from luiscamacho08, Gerente at Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa RicaResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Corey, Thanks for your review, we are glad you like the staff, we are always open to hear our guests complains when they stay at the hotel, we are really sorry you didn't tell us about the problems you were having with the room,...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345654
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Concierge
Things to do
Restaurant
Details
Price range
US$64 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$64 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (121)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (3)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Paula P
20 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Linda L | Reviewed this property |
Yes, but it's mostly in Spanish. We used an HDMI cable to connect our computer to the TV and brought up our Slingbox from home. Alternatively, use that same HDMI cable and bring up USTVNOW for six basic channels free from... More
0
Votes
marilumach
30 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Debo L | Reviewed this property |
Yep they do! I think we did it around midday.
1
Vote
Google Translation
rdmdsaOk
19 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Joe H | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"I think all the rooms are about the same."
Read review
"family, two double plus one bed nice, clean and big"
Read review
"Upper floors have better views"
Read review
"the rooms in the new development are on the border of the forest. Beautifull!!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing