We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thainstone House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Thainstone House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

550 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 547: English reviews
Inverurie
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I went for a spa day with colleagues last Sunday and was very impressed with everything from the therapists to the food. Everyone were helpful, the treatments blissful and the food was excellent. We got a private dining room and all our requests were met with "Yes no problem". Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth D
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked a 2 night package and although the hotel is nice we were very disappointed by our meals in the restaurant. Food sent back 3 times and still was not right. Our experience in the Spa were completely different. I had a facial and a full body exfoliation, my boyfriend had a deep tissue massage which we both really enjoyed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank acgav2016
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback during your recent stay. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our Spa however very disappointed to hear of your bad experience in our restaurant. We pride ourselves on food quality and I am sorry that we failed to address this at the time or...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and a friend had booked in for a spa day and treatments last week to find out that when we arrived our booking had been accidentally put in the calendar on the wrong date. The staff were excellent and apologised for the mix up straight away and instead let us have the day at the spa with afternoon tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ellecrawford
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. As the recently appointed General Manager situations like this can be very frustrating and all it takes is for a simple mistake to cause problems given our Spa facility is so heavily utilised. This is a challenge for the team constantly to ensure that we do get it...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We got married at the Thainstone house hotel yesterday.Cant fault the hotel one bit.All the staff we encountered, Dave (manager) Emma and loads more were fantastic.Wedding was incredible, food perfect

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear Fiona and Martin, Many thanks for your kind remarks it was a great pleasure looking after your wedding and we hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future. Kind regards, David McDonald General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 5 nights at Thainstone house, we can not fault our stay. The hotel is of a very high standard. The staff were amazing, they couldn't do enough to help. We had Polina looking after us who was just the best. Christmas Day we were looked after by Andreas who also was very professional The food was first class,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blakewithtriumph
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with such a fantastic review. I have been very proud of the teams hard work and efforts over the festive period and to get feedback like this makes it all worthwhile. I will be sure to pass this on to the whole team. I really hope to see you...

aberdeenshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Four of us went for the afternoon Xmas lunch 25th December. The restaurant was well staffed and the service and food was very good. In fact although this is not a criticism the service was maybe too good as we really could have used a bit longer between courses to let food settle. After meal we went through to bar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank daytripper066
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Firstly many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and also for choosing to spend your Christmas with us. Having joined to team in early November I have received a vast amount of customer feedback both positive and negative. As you can see we have some work to do with the team to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

my partner book a night away for my birthday as a treat. on arrival we got greeted and handed our room key. went into the room to find the iron board still out(not a issue) until my partner seen dirty towels on the bath room floor and the bed to be left like someone just got up and left. clearly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun M
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, I am disappointed with the service and quality that you encountered during your stay. I would have been grateful if you could have raised this with a member of my management team during your stay however having only taken over the property as of the start of November I am unsure if your stay was perhaps prior to...

Aberdeen
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here as had our work xmas doo here. We arrived, checked in (no toilet roll in the bathroom) then went to use the leisure facilities-these were brilliant and had a superb time relaxing before the party night. The party night was a great success-everyone had a superb time! Got back to the room...my friend is highly allergic to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulzTOOT
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, I would like to start off with personally apologising for the disappointing standard of cleanliness that you experienced on Saturday evening. I have only recently joined the hotel as General Manager and whilst I am glad that you had such a great time at the Spa and the party night, I am very frustrated that the room was...

Reviewed 10 December 2016

The hotel is very well staffed and the food taken in the bar area was fairly good. The grounds and overall feel of the hotel is very nice. However some parts need updating and parts of the hotel could have been better kept. A false fire alarm in the middle of the night did not support stood nights sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to give us some valuable feedback on your recent stay. As I have mentioned in previously I have only recently joined the property and your comments will assist me in my mission to improve in every area of the business. Whilst the Fire alarm can be very annoying I am sure you...

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

We had a lovely stay at Thainstone House while attending the Christmas Classic at Thainstone Mart. Excellent Value Autumn DBB Deal. The breakfast and the evening meal in the Bar was excellent as was the service from all staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 275Carolyn
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I have passed on your comments to the team and also look forward to hopefully seeing you again the future. We also have a number of festive party nights along with private dining facilities for smaller groups. If you would like to be added to...

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverurie
9.1 km away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
553 reviews
20.9 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
3.5 km away
Strathburn Hotel
Strathburn Hotel
#3 of 5 in Inverurie
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.9 km away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
19.7 km away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#14 of 63 in Aberdeen
947 reviews
24.2 km away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#3 of 4 in Banchory
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sitting resplendent in 44 acres of lush meadowland, Crerar Hotel's Thainstone House has been lovingly restored to provide the very best in private and corporate hospitality. All 48 bedrooms which have been tastefully refurbished at Thainstone are created especially for your comfort. Elegant furnishings and restful décor are complemented by all the facilities that you would expect to find in a luxury hotel. In the sumptuous Georgian setting of the 2 AA Rosette awarded Green Lady restaurant you can linger over a mouthwatering menu prepared by our team of internationally trained chefs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thainstone House

Address: Thainstone A96, main Inverness Road, Inverurie AB51 5NT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Inverurie
Price Range: $109 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thainstone House 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Thainstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swallow Thainstone House Hotel Inverurie
Swallow Thainstone Hotel
Thainstone House Hotel
Swallow Thainstone Inverurie
Thainstone Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thainstone House staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Charleston, South Carolina
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Thainstone House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a Room away from the Air Conditioning unit - we had room 201 and the noise from the Air Conditioning all night was rather annoying.”
 of 5 bubbles 275Carolyn, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sorry can't help you here!”
 of 5 bubbles Ingieping, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“visit the website”
 of 5 bubbles JimmyS191, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you don't have a small room”
 of 5 bubbles 123poppy2014, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try Inverurie itself”
 of 5 bubbles Jim4680, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay