We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thainstone House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thainstone House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

575 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 572: English reviews
Start your review of Thainstone House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wonderful hotel. Ticks all my boxes-log fires, stags heads, very Scottish but with a great Spa and pool, choice between formal dining and bar food in their own pub. We ate in both and each was exceptional. We stayed there first in January having booked for one night. As soon as we walked through the door we decided to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you so much for the excellent feedback. I have passed on your comments to all the team as this is the kind of comments that makes everything we are working on worthwhile in terms of progress. We look forward to hopefully a return visit in the future. Kind regards, David McDonald General Manager

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went for a spa day with my daugter-in-law we had a facial and hot stone massage. The treatment rooms are very relaxing and the staff very welcoming. The facilities are great, food lovely, would definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cfhjtdsxhh
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thanks for your kind comments and I am so happy that you had a great experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, David McDonald General Manager

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having visited several Crerar hotels in the past, we had no hesitation in booking this one for a short break in March 2017. We weren't disappointed - the hotel building looks quite magnificent as you approach & the decor is old fashioned opulence! We asked for & got a free upgrade & the room was really comfortable with an en-suite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaysofatherton
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am so glad that you were not disappointed and your room was very comfortable. Your view on Stockman's is very accurate when we get very busy. This is an area that I am working very hard with my team to ensure the waiting...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just spent three nights at the Thainstone, My first room was very small but was moved to a slightly larger room the next day. We only ate in the stockman's bar, the food was Ok but a greater choice would have been better. This is being looked at the moment. The steak night on Thursday night is excellent value and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thanks for taking the time to provide the feedback. As we discussed I am in the process of re-writing all our food and beverage menus to which we hope to launch in the very near future. This will be a refreshing change for all and look forward to seeing you back again to try some of the new...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for the first time for a 3 night dinner bed and breakfast deal. Hotel is in a nice location but the access road is a bit bumpy in parts. Hotel is nicely furnished and has an old fashioned looked. Our actual room was on the small side but comfortable and nicely decorated. TV was tiny and there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlenrothesG
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to give us some valuable feedback on your recent stay with us. Since I started with the property in November we have made a number of changes to how we operate and I am glad that you found us all very friendly and helpful. I take on board your comments and will...

scotland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spa treatments were lovely. Mini facial and pedicure. Use of swimming pool sauna hot tub and steam room. All clean and not to busy. Afternoon tea,on the menu smoked salmon, ham and mustard and egg. Told them I couldn't eat egg so was substituted for cheese and pickle. Was all ok but mouthing special. Both me and my daughter thought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lao11
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments on your recent stay with us. I am disappointed that you felt most of our food offering was average as this is something that we get quite good feedback on. I will pass this back to the kitchen brigade as we continue to look at ways...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location was nice and near for us to drive to for a "getaway" few days. Leisure facilities were excellent. Pool was very good as was the steam room. More time would have been spent there had we been there for longer. Our room on the ground floor was quite small as was the double bed and backing on to cellar?...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RRennie_12
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with the feedback on your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed the food but equally disappointed that you found the portion sizes small and over priced. Our six course taster menu at £35 is generally quite well received however will take your points on board. With regards...

Dundee, Scotland
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for the first time and immediately impressed by the old fashioned grandeur of the entrance to what must have been a magnificent house in its day. We arrived in the dark and did wonder if we'd come in the correct entrance as it wasn't immediately obvious where Reception was, however we did follow our noses and found it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SinginSuzy
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you so much for your comprehensive review on your recent stay with us. I think you sum up our hotel very nicely and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned it is quite an old building and we do have some sensitive bells from time to time along with the issue you...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

We had lunch here really lovely, good vegetarian options my twin sister and I had a grilled vegetable burger really tasty. My dad had his usual fish and chips, he enjoyed it too. It was a very cold day, the dining room could have been warmer that was the only negative, with doors being left open the room never kept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DawnS7168
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I have taken your points on board regarding the dining room heating and apologise for the online menu. We are in the process of changing all our menus but no excuse for not having the menu up to date on line. With regards to the...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

What a mixed feeling I have as I write this; the Hotel was just lovely, the Staff were simply fantastic. The 6 course taster meal was a lovely experience as was having a coffee on the gallery as for the outside hot-tub and sauna......loved it. There were however just one or two things that took away from the magic, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bruce S
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your feedback to the team. I started at the Hotel in November and equally share your view regarding how amazing the property could be with the correct investment. We hope to...

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverurie
9.1 km away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
573 reviews
20.9 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.4 km away
Ardennan House Hotel
Ardennan House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Inverurie
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Strathburn Hotel
Strathburn Hotel
#3 of 5 in Inverurie
127 reviews
31.9 km away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
2.4 km away
Kintore Arms Hotel
Kintore Arms Hotel
#5 of 5 in Inverurie
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sitting resplendent in 44 acres of lush meadowland, Crerar Hotel's Thainstone House has been lovingly restored to provide the very best in private and corporate hospitality. All 48 bedrooms which have been tastefully refurbished at Thainstone are created especially for your comfort. Elegant furnishings and restful décor are complemented by all the facilities that you would expect to find in a luxury hotel. In the sumptuous Georgian setting of the 2 AA Rosette awarded Green Lady restaurant you can linger over a mouthwatering menu prepared by our team of internationally trained chefs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thainstone House

Address: Thainstone A96, main Inverness Road, Inverurie AB51 5NT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Inverurie
Price Range: $110 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thainstone House 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Thainstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swallow Thainstone House Hotel Inverurie
Swallow Thainstone Hotel
Thainstone House Hotel
Swallow Thainstone Inverurie
Thainstone Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thainstone House staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Charleston, South Carolina
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Thainstone House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the 6 course taster dinner - very good value!”
 of 5 bubbles jaysofatherton, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Garden side may be quieter. Feel that if you want a good room then be prepared to pay for it as in general things are way overpriced.”
 of 5 bubbles RRennie_12, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The "Master" room was fantastic in size and appearance, squeaky bed and cold en-suite.”
 of 5 bubbles bruces348, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms seem to have been updated and are good value”
 of 5 bubbles 82royd, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“if you have mobility problems- let them know as a very steep staircase from the main entrance to reception”
 of 5 bubbles BrendaMilne, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5