We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Kinghorn Road, Burntisland KY3 9LL Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
US$127
Fully refundable before 17/06/23
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.comUS$137
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (184)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (25)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Burntisland, Kingswood Hotel is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its romantic environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, Kingswood Hotel makes it easy to enjoy the best of Burntisland.

Rooms at Kingswood Hotel provide a flat screen TV, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at Kingswood Hotel guests have access to room service, a gift shop, and newspaper. You can also enjoy free breakfast. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Kingswood Hotel.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Burntisland Cemetery (0.3 mi) and Alexander III of Scotland Memorial (0.6 mi), guests of Kingswood Hotel can easily experience some of Burntisland's most well known attractions.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Novelli's, Food for Thought, and Waverly Cafe, which are some cafes that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

During your visit, be sure to check out popular attractions like Burntisland Links (1.0 mi), The Binn HIll (0.8 mi), and Burntisland Parish Church (1.2 mi), which are all within walking distance of the hotel.

Whether you’re travelling for business, pleasure or both, Kingswood Hotel is sure to make your visit to Burntisland one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Room service
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
440Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 263
  • 121
  • 31
  • 15
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Pamela M wrote a review 5 Jun
Edinburgh, United Kingdom33 contributions22 helpful votes
We went for lunch on Saturday 3 June, on-spec and we were so glad we did. The food was outstanding. We had the Nachos with Chicken to share which were delicious, the nachos were obviously home made as they were wonderfully light and the Gammon Roast meal was melt in the mouth with a really good gravy too and piping hot. The Cranachan was light and lovely and the sticky toffee pud was sublime! The waiting staff were terrific and were so welcoming, we will definitely be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dal Singh, General Manager at Kingswood Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you so much for your fabulous lunch review, our staff really appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kingswood very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Douglas K wrote a review May 2023
East Lothian, United Kingdom56 contributions54 helpful votes
Really very helpful and friendly staff greeted us on a pre booked buffet lunch. Despite it being coronation day with other bookings they served up a lovely buffet. We are a cycling tandem club for blind and visually impaired riders and with a group of 20 of us, they were great.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dal Singh, General Manager at Kingswood Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. Kingswood is delighted you cycling club were able to have lunch with us as part of your day out. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donna P wrote a review May 2023
Livingston, United Kingdom34 contributions8 helpful votes
Had a lovely overnight break last weekend for my birthday. Mr Singh the General Manager was so very helpful and friendly and his small son adorable. The hotel was clean and tidy and the balcony room (No5) had a fantastic view. Enjoyed our stay. Only a few minor details that would have taken it up to a five. Slightly tired in places with bits such as bath silicon needing attention. Suspect these kind of things will be dealt with over time as I understand that the hotel very recently changed hands. The breakfast was not the most extensive and there was not a buffet style choice but again that is a very minor thing and we both enjoyed what we ordered. All staff very helpful and friendly. View from restaurant was lovely too. Would recommend anyone to give this a try if over that direction. I hope to possibly visit again and will see what has been done. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Not quite in town so plan trip accordingly.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dal Singh, General Manager at Kingswood Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello Donna Thank you so much for your positive review. We appreciate all your comments and hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon ~ Kind Regards ~ Dal Singh General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ray C wrote a review Apr 2023
7 contributions1 helpful vote
A very pleasant stay in a peaceful setting, with views across the Firth to Edinburgh. All the staff were helpful, and the breakfast was excellent. Bed was comfortable. A tip for dinner if you like Indian food: the Amritsar restaurant in Kirkaldy: I had the best Indian meal (lamb tiki masala) I have ever had!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is a comfortable front-room lounge with fireplace.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dal Singh, General Manager at Kingswood Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you so much for your kind review, it is much appreciated. Kingswood Hotel also do Indian food on Friday theme nights and we will b adding to our main menu soon too.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kyles M wrote a review Mar 2023
Dunfermline, United Kingdom2 contributions
Mothers Day High Tea. Been a frequent diner at The Kingswood for many years. Sadly we think this will be our last . The last few visits have been progressively disappointing. 3 of our party ordered the Carvery and one the Cumberland Sausage. The roast beef the roast potatoes had been under the heat lamp for so long the were virtually inedible. The cauliflower was chewy !! yes chewy - disgusting (shame as the cheese sauce was good) The Cumberland sausage was actually 4 link sausages again disappointing. It’s sad that Mr & Mrs Bell are trying to serve as many covers as possible rather than focusing on the freshness and quality of the food.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Visit on quieter days. Make sure you choose dishes cooked to order.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dal Singh, General Manager at Kingswood Hotel
Responded 23 Mar 2023
We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the food you were served. We had a very busy day as new owners of the Kingswood Hotel and we would have really appreciated if you had advised us at the time. We would like to invite you to the hotel for a further conversation if you would like to get in touch.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen P wrote a review Feb 2023
Kinghorn, United Kingdom1 contribution
Certainly the best food we have been served and eaten in Burntisland, Fife, for a very long time. The battered haddock and chips we enjoyed today was exemplary, so delicious, freshly cooked and excellent value for money. The haddock was so thick and expertly cooked by the Kingswood resident chef. Delicious Fish & chips in light batter or breadcrumbs ( our favourite is light batter!). The staff are very obliging and eager to help - thank you to the team member/ waitress Mary and all staff. Would recommend, the restaurant and the hotel as a comfortable base to enjoy surrounding areas - the views from most rooms & The Tall Trees restaurant are excellent across The Firth of Forth. We really enjoyed a special lunch. We have previously enjoyed a special stay in the hotel to mark our Golden Wedding & are regular diners in the restaurant. Very much recommended. Thank you, Kingswood.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dal Singh, General Manager at Kingswood Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely dining review and for recommending the Kingswood. Lovely that you have mentioned our wonderful staff, we really appreciate that you took the time to let us know.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hazel C wrote a review Jan 2023
Fife, United Kingdom19 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
A fantastic 80th birthday celebration dinner for 40 people was held in the conservatory. The food was excellent, the attention and service was wonderful and nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were lovely and so attentive. Ten people stayed overnight after the event and had a very restful night in beautiful bedrooms with very comfortable beds. The rooms, like the rest of the hotel, were spotless.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dal Singh, General Manager at Kingswood Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Kingswood were delighted to be a part of such a special occasion and you enjoyed your event. Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kw96 wrote a review Jan 2023
Dundee, United Kingdom11 contributions9 helpful votes
I recently visited the Kingswood Hotel for New Year's Eve and was extremely disappointed with the service and amenities provided. Despite paying £75 per person for the Cèilidh and meal, the experience was far from satisfactory and fell well below the standards that I expect from a hotel. Upon arrival, my partner and I were told that there were only two Guinness beers left on draft, which was indicative of the overall lack of attention to detail and customer service. The quality of the food itself was subpar, with cold dishes and poor quality ingredients such as chewy beef and raw potatoes, the soup was like dishwater. The pricing for drinks was inconsistent and confusing, with a lack of transparency that added to the overall frustration with the service. My father encountered further issues when he inquired about the lack of alcohol options on New Year's Eve and was met with an aggressive response from the manager/hotelier. The male and female toilets were also dirty and in need of proper cleaning and maintenance. It was clear to us that the manager did not care about providing good customer service, as evidenced by the poor attitude and lack of concern for the guests. It is important to note that the wait staff were not at fault for the issues encountered during our visit. The Kingswood Hotel's failure to meet basic standards of cleanliness, maintenance, and customer service is unacceptable. The experience was a major disappointment and fell well short of the expectations set by the high price of the event. I do not recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Hannah C wrote a review Nov 2022
4 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Myself and my husband were married at the hotel in September 2022. I was so nervous but Rankin and all his staff made me feel so at ease. The hotel is just beautiful, and fitted perfectly with our rustic theme. Everyone was so helpful, and nothing could have possibly gone better! Every single person went above and beyond, we’re so organised, and everything was just so relaxed. To top it off the sun was shining all day and we managed to get some beautiful pictures in the Kingswood’s secret garden. We have a gorgeous view from our room and breakfast was lovely. Thanks again everyone at the Kingswood and we will see you soon!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
rjf48 wrote a review Oct 2022
Whitley Bay60 contributions52 helpful votes
Stayed here in mid September for 3 nights on BB. We had chosen a room overlooking the Firth of Forth with balcony. The room was spacious, with comfortable beds a decent sized bathroom with great walk in shower and plenty of drawers/ wardrobe room. We used the balcony each night to take in the views across to Edinburgh whilst enjoying a drink, the weather was fab. We had one evening meal at the hotel which was reasonably priced and very good with a decent menu choice. Breakfasts were fine with a good choice of fair. We also had an afternoon tea whilst there which we enjoyed very much. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable and happy to have a chat anytime. It’s ideally situated for touring around the Fife area there are several little fishing villages worth a visit up the coast where you can park have a wander and grab a coffee. St Andrew’s was about 45/50 mins drive and we visited Loch Leven for a super walk around the loch spotting various ducks/geese/swans on the way. Certainly recommend the hotel for a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$147 - US$165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandFifeBurntisland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KINGSWOOD HOTEL: UPDATED 2023 Reviews, Price Comparison and 208 Photos (Burntisland, Scotland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kingswood Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Kingswood Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Inchcolm Abbey and Island (7.2 km), Aberdour Castle and Gardens (5.9 km), and Kirkcaldy Galleries (5.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kingswood Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Kingswood Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kingswood Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kingswood Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Room with a View, The Ship, and Home Farm View - Pub & Grill.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kingswood Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Kingswood Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Kingswood Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Inchcolm Abbey and Island (7.2 km), Aberdour Castle and Gardens (5.9 km), and Burntisland Parish Church (1.9 km).
Is Kingswood Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.