We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

LakeFront Backpackers Lodge

14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed just for one night. I agree that the price isn t cheap, but the locations is more than perfect: just in front of the lake with a beautiful view on the mountains. I don t understand pervieus comments. I am an achitect, and lakefront is a backpacker hostel. What do you expect? A ancient greek building surrounded by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2015

We only came here as the YHA down the road was full but it wasn't too bad. The room was a bit cramped but it had big sliding windows and was a few metres away from the lake. The bathrooms were okay, though the showers went from freezing cold to boiling and nowhere in between. There was a large communal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gjhbknjmk
United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2015

Our room was quite small and cramped, but it was suitable for our needs. The bathroom was crowded at certain points in the day (especially the morning when the Kiwi Experience bus was leaving), and the same with the kitchen. The common area was nice, it had lots of sofas, a tv, and big windows with nice views of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
Reviewed 30 April 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for one night in April 2015 with the Kiwi Experience. My boyfriend and I booked a private double, which was just outside of the main lodge. Our cabin was comfortable and spacious and had a view overlooking the water. The facilities were all clean and big enough for everybody on our bus and more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaylazul
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 April 2015 via mobile

I have stayed in a lot of backpackers all over the world, including third world countries, this place is the worst! For $85 we got a tiny room that was cold, LOUD and dirty. Don't even get me started on the bathroom, I would be embarrassed if I were the owners. Our room was unfortunately close to the kitchen and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jess P
Reviewed 2 April 2015 via mobile

The Lakefront Lodge backpackers is a little walk from the centre of Tekapo (about 10 minutes or 15/20 with luggage). There is a concrete path all the way along the side of the lake from the centre to the lodge. At night the path is illuminated so it's easy to follow it back.The staff are very friendly and are happy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GeorgeLW94
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 March 2015

I stayed here recently on a Friday when Tekapo was pretty much booked out. The room was quiet and although it had bunks they were comfortable and warm. Very clean linen and towels supplied and the spotless kitchen was well equipped. Only downside was erratic hot water supply in the shower. Although it was full we had a quiet and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank honeyand123
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for you great comments on the Lakefront Lodge Backpackers. I glad you had a great stay and found the lodge clean and tidy. Sorry about the erratic water. We are on gas so I'm not quite sure how we can either have cold water or it can be so inconsistent. That is a job for the...

Vila do Porto, Portugal
Reviewed 21 March 2015 via mobile

I spent one night in this accomodation while travelling with Kiwi Experience. I paid $30 for a tiny 6 share dorm and there was no hot water. The showers were cold since the time that we arrived until we left in the morning. When I told this to the lady who came to collect our keys in the morning she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pipasobral
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi all the way to Portugal Thank you for your feedback however I think your radar was a little off as to my reaction to your water comment. Yes, it was me that collected the keys. The first we had heard about the showers being cold was from you, on the bus, at 9am, as you were leaving. Not one...

Reviewed 7 February 2015

The location is perfect, right on the lake with a nice common room to hang out in and enjoy the view. However, the Kiwi Experience use this hostel which means, when they turn up, everyone kinda knows each other so I found it quite difficult to engage in any sort of conversation which was a shame and the kitchen is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ptwanderer123
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi I'm glad you found the lodge clean & tidy albeit is a bit busy in the kitchen at meal times. We have the two BBQ's that I wish more would use, this would take the pressure of the kitchen. I guess you are right about the Kiwi Experience bus, them all knowing each other already and all but the...

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 February 2015

This place had a lovely view right on the waterfront. The lady that checked us in was friendly and the facilities were clean. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm as that's all that was available. Luckily no one else checked in as the room was tiny. Had a lovely backyard area to sit outside and eat, also a three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snapseed
Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there in Melbourne I'm glad you had a great stay in our lodge and weren't you were the lucky ones having the room to your self lol. The staff were friendly, lodge was clean, even the three legged cat did his bit. Fantastic!!That cat walks all the way from over the bridge past the village to the lodged. Obviously...

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
1.2 km away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,440 reviews
0.0 km away
YHA Lake Tekapo
YHA Lake Tekapo
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
653 reviews
1.4 km away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
172 reviews
0.8 km away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#10 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about LakeFront Backpackers Lodge

Address: Lakeside Drive, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $64 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — LakeFront Backpackers Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your LakeFront Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakefront Backpackers Hotel Lake Tekapo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from LakeFront Backpackers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you choose a dorm room facing the lake, you also face onto the communal BBQ area (I'm glad we didn't get this room). The rooms which don't face the lake are more private. Choose a dorm FAR from the squeaky slamming doors which lead from the bedrooms corridor to the living areas.”
FruitcakeF, 4 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Try to get a room that face to the lake, you can just open the slide door and sit and enjoy =]”
  • View from room
SiuLam_Chan, 12 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Avoid dorm rooms unless you like the claustrophobic feeling.”
Gem_W1, 25 Jul 2014 | Read review
“maybe a private room?”
Shetland5497, 7 May 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a lake view.”
jackc776, 1 Nov 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$48
Priceline
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates