We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
C/ Fragata 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote Spain
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!10% off room rate
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/21
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2865)
Panoramas (12)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 06/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from THB Tropical Island
Updated 06/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#21 of 37 hotels in Playa Blanca
Hotel THB Tropical Island is a big resort located in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel offers 16 Pools for adults and children and an adult only area with pool and bar. The hotel features 414 premium apartments with free wifi and balcony or terrace. The hotel has a buffet restaurant and 2 a la carte restaurants. Entertainment for adults and children. Tennis, football, miniclub , gym and a complete SPA. El Hotel THB Tropical Island es un gran complejo ubicado en Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. El hotel ofrece 16 piscinas para adultos y niños y un área solo para adultos con piscina y bar. El hotel cuenta con 414 apartamentos premium con wifi gratuito y balcón o terraza. El hotel tiene un restaurante buffet y 2 restaurantes a la carta. Entretenimiento para adultos y niños. Tenis, fútbol, miniclub, gimnasio y un completo SPA.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Street parking
Hot bath
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Facial treatments
Head massage
Convenience store
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
Hotel links
Special Price:10% off room rate


Full view
56Somewhat walkable
Grade: 56 out of 100
22Restaurantswithin 1 km
11Attractionswithin 1 km
4196Reviews2024Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,127
  • 1,540
  • 931
  • 349
  • 250
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tracy Quinlan wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions
We spent a week here at the end of November and didn't want to come home we enjoyed it that much. It was so chilled. We did all-inclusive. Good selection of food. There was plenty of seating and no waiting in queues for food. I only have a small criticism ref the food. the hot food was a little on the cool side. The sofa in the apartment was broken and a bit uncomfortable but that did not distract from a really good holiday. The staff were really nice and polite.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rafalcavan wrote a review 5 Dec
Cavan, Ireland67 contributions43 helpful votes
Hotel THB is made for Family with kids .Great service and lots of different swimming pools arround the hotel .Animation team whuch can take care of your kids for few hours and you can enjoy the adult pool only,every night some entertainment in the big tent.Sports bar where you can enjoy some football. Food was very good and plenty of choices for everyone. Staff very friendly, rooms are very clean and big.Hotel is very clean and safe for tourists.Big car park outside the hotel free of charge.All the Staff very friendly and hard working .I can find only one minus in my whole holidays in THB Tropical island : my holidays was to short.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: I was in the room I 102 opposite the small pool .Very good location, sunny and few steps from the...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Subdirector THB , Otros at THB Tropical Island
Responded yesterday
Dear Rafalcavan "Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate it! As you well said in your review, we are a family hotel, and during the day, the pools are the main area for the families. As we are a very large resort, we are very proud to have available our adults only swimming pool and bar and also garden view rooms that are even quieter that the pool view ones. In total THB Tropical Island have 16 swimming pools (5 of them for kids) and a very funny spash park for the youngests of the family. We will share your kind words will all our team and we hope to see you again soon." Oscar Sepúlveda
Read more
chris106 wrote a review Nov 2021
London, United Kingdom211 contributions7 helpful votes
The good The rooms were very clean and spacious , we were travelling with an 8 month old baby and the room had everything we required , microwave and kettle in the room were great. Maid service came everyday (well I think so). Pools were great as well , the smaller pools beside the apartment blocks were heated and they were ok to swim in . but the main pool was cold. No problem also getting a sun lounger around the pool. We were all inclusive , Breakfast was great a lot to choose from and was hot and fresh . Pool bar / snack bar was also good , I have seen previous reviews about long queues at the pool bar but there was not much queues when we stayed there. Snack bar served, chicken nuggets , chips , pizza's , burgers , hot dogs etc. Staff at this hotel were great and very friendly and hard working. The grounds / gardens in the hotel were also very clean and tidy. We had a meal in the pizza resatruant at the hotel which was nice. However it was a bit chaotic in there and staff seemed to be running around. The beer they serve at this hotel is San Miguel. Also there is about 6 or 7 cocktails you can get as part of all inclusive. The not so good As we were travelling with an 8 month old baby, I had contacted the hotel in advance to ask for a travel cot to be in our room , the hotel replied back to say the cot would be in the room. On arrival at the hotel I asked again about the Cot and receptionist told me the cot would be in the room . Arrived at our room after a long day travelling and no cot in the room , our 8 month baby was ready for a sleep. I phoned reception to ask for a cot to be taken to our room ASAP, one hour and one phone call later someone came with the cot. This was dissapointing and I thought the cot should have been in the room on arrival. The apartment blocks have a ground floor and first floor. We were given a room on the first floor. Which was fine with us. But on the first day we discovered the lift was not working on our block , which meant carrying a buggy and our baby up a flight of stairs everytime which was not ideal. Not sure why we were given a room on the first floor in a block where the lift was not working. In fairness to the hotel we asked to move rooms and the hotel did accomodate this for us and we moved to a room on the ground floor , which suited us much better. Evening meal , food was often cold or just warm and this was us going to the buffet when it first opened. Breakfast and snack bar food was good, but we did feel a bit disappointed by the evening meal food. And some of the food in the evening meal did not taste that great , but the plus point was that there was a lot of choice. TV , one of the reasons we booked this hotel was because the hotel offered English tv channels, our plan was to watch tv in the evening when our baby was asleep. But for over half the time we stayed there none of the english tv channels worked. Which was again a dissapointment. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and despite the not so good points we would stay again . Hopefully the evening meal can be improved.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
1 Helpful vote
Response from Subdirector THB , Otros at THB Tropical Island
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, All the hotel staff thanks you for your comment, we are sorry that you had to change your room and that our buffet dinner was not to your liking, this buffet was changed and we removed all those dishes that our customers do not like, trying to make these dishes like all the nationalities that visit us, fortunately the problems with the TV channels have been solved. We apologise and hope to see you again at THB Tropical Island in the future and you will be able to see all the improvements that are being made to the hotel. THANKS Best regards
Read more
Kate V wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Overall the resort was clean and plenty of pools and a few splash parks for children (although we only went as a couple so we didn't make use of those!). We decided to go all inclusive as it's our first holiday in many years as a couple but the whole set up was just awful. I didn't expect table service but I walked into a giant school canteen where you have to scoot from one end to the other to be able to create a meal, the food was nearly always cold and lacked flavour. I often had to pick up multiple plates before I found a clean one. Also a really long queue in the morning just to grab a coffee because only one machine was working. It really frustrated us and we ended up eating out for the majority of our holiday. Also note that (whilst I know many hotels do this) the beds are twin beds, which weren't clipped together, the creaked and the mattresses were so soft you almost got stuck in them. Trying to enjoy a couples holiday proved a little difficult if you catch my drift. The on site supermarket was small and in quite an obscure place I felt? Would recommend visiting other shops off site if you want to stock up. There wasn't much warmth to the overall feel of the facilities, it felt a bit too clinical for my own liking. The maid service starts quite early so expect to be woken by the sound of their trolleys. If you go with the expectation of a self catering holiday or just somewhere nice with the kids, it would be fine. But I certainly wouldn't recommend it as a couples holiday destination.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
1 Helpful vote
Response from Subdirector THB , Otros at THB Tropical Island
Responded 1 week ago
Dear ckgvckgv, Thank you for choosing us and visiting THB Tropical Island. We appreciate your recommendations of our hotel for families with kids, indeed our resort has multiple choices for making a family holidays a nice option. However we consider adults can also enjoy their stay as we offer many services focused on them, as our premium Pool with an exclusive bar just for adults, a Sports Bar for evening sport events, a Dome with a daily night show, beauty center, animation activities etc. We are disapointed that at certain points we could not reach your expectations as per the food. We hope to receive you back and make of your holidays a better experience. Best regards.
Read more
Veronica494 wrote a review Nov 2021
Liverpool, United Kingdom45 contributions55 helpful votes
This was our 2nd visit to Tropical Island. We had a fab stay until our last 2nights when we experienced lots of noise and disturbance until 2am in the morning from the Sports bar beneath our apartment. The bar closes at 11 pm so we could not understand why these people where not sorted by security. They had Irish accents and we noticed over 25 motorhomes parked on wasteland opposite the back gate the next morning. This would probably explain the noise problem, management need to close this back gate. I must mention the lovely reception staff they are so helpful. All staff are excellent. Would we return, yes if back gate and security was sorted out.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Not above the sports bar
See more room tips
Response from Subdirector THB , Otros at THB Tropical Island
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Veronica, Thank you very much for choosing us back in your recent holidays in Lanzarote. We appreciate your comments and recommendations. For sure we will manage our back door, and if it happens that other guests do some noise, please do not hesitate to conctact our 24h reception so we can deal with that straight forward. We will be waiting for your next visit! All the best!
Read more
US$66 - US$133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
sun tropical playa blanca, sun tropical lanzarote, holiday village sun tropical lanzarote
SpainCanary IslandsLanzarotePlaya Blanca
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about THB Tropical Island
Which popular attractions are close to THB Tropical Island?
Nearby attractions include Barney's (1.0 km), Playa Dorada Beach (1.1 km), and Paseo Maritimo (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at THB Tropical Island?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at THB Tropical Island?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at THB Tropical Island?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at THB Tropical Island?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to THB Tropical Island?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bar Tropicana, Citurna Casual Food, and Spice fusion.
Are there opportunities to exercise at THB Tropical Island?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at THB Tropical Island?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at THB Tropical Island?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to THB Tropical Island?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Castillo de las Coloradas (2.3 km).
Does THB Tropical Island have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.