We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rio Playa Blanca Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Rio Playa Blanca Hotel
Rio Playa Blanca Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rio Playa Blanca Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 879: English reviews
Bristol
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had a good time and food was good, plenty of options. Kids entertainment is not the best so we wer going to the hotel opposite on the nights for entertainment. The pool was freezing cold even thou when we booked it did say half of the pool is heated, ITS NOT. you can walk 10 mins up the rd to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kellyandwes
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kellyandwes, Thank you very much for having chosen HL Rio Playa Blanca. We are glad to hear that your overall experience was positive and that you enjoyed the food and the water park. We regret that your experience was affected by the low temperature of the pool. A new solar heating system is being put in place now, and...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2014

As others have said, the hotel is nice and the staff friendly. The sub tropical gardens are beautifully maintained and the bungalows are spacious if somewhat dated; there are no irons or ironing boards available. The real problem was the pool temperature, my 10 month old simply could not go in it and my 4 year old turned blue and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kayleigh E
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kayleigh E, We are glad to hear that your overall experience was positive and that you enjoyed the gardens. Thank you very much for giving us a five star rating for cleanliness. Our housekeeping team will be delighted to read that. We are very sorry to read that you were not able to enjoy the pool due to its...

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It's ok! We stayed here for 1 wk with my husband and 4 yr old. Overall it's average, certainly not 4 star in my opinion. Was always plenty of food, although snacks around the bar were very poor. The waterpark was good and u could use your all inclusive there too, their food and snacks were better. Not a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Topsy30
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Topsy30, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience of your recent stay at HL Rio Playa Blanca. We truly regret to hear that your stay was not all it could or should have been .and we are sorry that we were not able to exceed your expectations in all areas. Therefore we wish to...

Portsmouth
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The accommodation was immaculate, a little dated but totally big enough and functional. We used the hob for a real cuppa and the fridge/freezer was also handy. The resort is small but we liked that, we never struggled for a sunbed no matter what time we woke! The pool is freezing and other reviewers have said the sea is actually...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank stocksfamily
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear stocksfamily, Thank you for your recommendation and for sharing your impressions of HL Rio Playa Blanca on Tripadvisor. It is wonderful to hear that you spent a relaxing holiday and that you were satisfied with our facilities and service. We are glad that our staff and animation team were able to provide you with the desired service, and that...

Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a fantastic holiday.The food was excellent my son is quite picky but always had a good meal.The animation team work so hard and during the 2 weeks there we hardly saw our son.Yes the pool is cold but once your in its lovely.our room was adequate for our needs.we didn't spend much time in there.The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Samantha B
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Samantha B, We truly enjoyed reading the feedback of your recent stay with us and appreciate your kind words of our staff, animation and facilities- Thank you! We are looking forward to hosting you again in the next year! With kind regards, the management

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel was very clean,the staff were very helpful and very polite,always willing to help.. Two grandchildren age 14 and 11,very fussy eaters were going back for more..We would certainly go back to this hotel and would recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank George T
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Geaorge T, We wish to thank you for choosing HL Rio Playa Blanca and for your friendly recommendation on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you spent a great holiday with your grandchildren here with us. The entire team was very happy about your review and we all hope to welcome you again soon for a return...

flintshire
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very good selection of food, very clean. Pool very cold have to get in quick. Bungalows very nice and clean. Drinks good in the restaurant and outside bar, very watered down in the bar in the evening.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jennyben47
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jennyben47, Thank you very much for having chosen HL Rio Playa Blanca for your holiday in Lanzarote, and for having taken the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are happy to see that overall you had a good experience here! Thank you for mentioning our food and the cleanliness. Concerning the cold pool, we are still improving the...

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had the misfortune of a week in this place. It was sold to us as a "family" resort however unless your family are all over 50 it is not. The pools are freezing it's seriously warmer in the sea. A window fell out of our bathroom, my 2 year old was expected to sleep on a sofa and when...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Charlene1288
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charlene 1288, Thank you for having taken the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We regret not having been able to achieve our main objective with you, which is our guests´ entire satisfaction. It is through communications like this that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance. Thank you again for your comments, which...

Overveen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent exactly 1 week in one of the bungalows at this hotel and had a grant time. When arriving at 22:30 in th evening the check-in was performed pretty soon and we were informed (as we did book an All-Inclusive package deal) that unfortunately the buffet was already closed (until 22:30) but that if we would get to the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gerhard A
HotelesLopez, Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gerhard A, Thank you very much for having taken the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you had a relaxing holiday with us at HL Rio Playa Blanca! A special thank you for the mentioning of our restaurant and above all our great team, these are very important points for us and...

Sheffield
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We travelled on 3rd -10th May and couldn't believe how quiet it was during the day. There were a lot of Spanish & French pensioners in the hotel but most days there were out on trips so we had the pool etc virtually to ourselves. We did meet some English people who had returned previously visiting in October 2013 and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank DoodlesSheffield
HotelesLopez, General Manager at Rio Playa Blanca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DoodlesSheffield, Thank you very much for having taken the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to learn that you had a good stay with us at HL Rio Playa Blanca! We want to thank you especially for your mentionng of the food and the buffets, all our staff works hard every day to offer our...

1,043 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (853)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (164)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (130)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (20)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (389)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Bungalow (58)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.0 km away
HL Club Playa Blanca Hotel
HL Club Playa Blanca Hotel
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,827 reviews
2.9 km away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,135 reviews
1.9 km away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#23 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#15 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4,635 reviews
0.6 km away
Labranda Alyssa Suite Hotel
Labranda Alyssa Suite Hotel
#3 of 37 in Playa Blanca
284 reviews
0.2 km away
Lanzasur Club
Lanzasur Club
#21 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Rio Playa Blanca is the perfect place to enjoy an unforgettable holiday on the island of Lanzarote. The horizontal distribution of the hotel and the stunning views of Lobos and Fuerteventura islands make it the perfect place to stay with your family. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rio Playa Blanca Hotel

Address: Avenida Archipielago, 4, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly HL Rio Playa Blanca)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Price Range: $148 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Playa Blanca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rio Playa Blanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hl Rio Hotel Playa Blanca
Hl Rio Playa Blanca
Rio Playa Blanca Lanzarote
Rio Playa Blanca Hotel Lanzarote
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rio Playa Blanca Hotel staff and other travellers.
248 questions
Ask a question
Keighley , England, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (248)

Questions? Get answers from Rio Playa Blanca Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Near the pool there are bungalows that are quite a distance away”
 of 5 bubbles lisaj649, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All bungalows away from the action, a fair walk to some , def recommend 1079 and 1081 , not far to walk and very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles SteveC245, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ironically I thought the bungalows were great just needed comfort mattresses. Maintenance were attentive when the electric went off due to faulty air con and the toilet was blocked and had both issues resolved within an hour.”
 of 5 bubbles leannes402, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are quite dark in appearance but kept nice n clean . Kitchen door had a massive gap around it . Freezer section in fridge was frozen up although quickly defrosted but by end of holiday was back to being frozen up. Bathroom tiles could of done with refreshing the grouting was black in places .”
 of 5 bubbles andrewhO8205HG, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Bungalow 1078 had a sunny terrace close to the pool and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles ORegan_12, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay