We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

RafJam's Bed & Breakfast

Hostelworld.comUS$70*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$114*
US$70*
Great Deal
US$114*
US$114*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
RafJam\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 138: English reviews
Start your review of RafJam's Bed & Breakfast
 Click to rate
Whitwick, UK
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Having read great reviews were were excited about our stay here. It's a wonderful leafy location, but the literature fails to mention the terrible condition of the access road or the near-impossible parking arrangements; be warned! On our first night we were given one dish for (the expensive) dinner, no starter or desert. And the fridge held just two bottles...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanellus01
syvill2003, Owner at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello I am so so sorry about your experience, yes i know the road is a hazard we have actually done some work on it because we have waited on our parish council for years but no help. We have actually adjusted our prices but it is mere impossible to go any lower than what we are offering now, things...

Reviewed 6 March 2017

The trip may be a bit arduous but once you have arrived you become a captive of the awesomeness of this picturesque wonder of nature. Here the flowing rivers makes sweet undiluted music, the air is unblemished by all the toxicity of urban air. the beauty of the morning sun kissing the mountain slopes is something to behold. The hiking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Whilst we really enjoyed the vibe at Rafjam's, it is overpriced for what it is and seemed more like a traveller/hostel vibe. The dinners were great and the cook was very amenable but $18 USD per meal is ultimately a lot. The grounds are beautiful however and it's good for a couple of nights if you want to hike the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizscrampton
Rafjam K, Owner at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello Liz, Thank .you for your review and do apologised about the issues you had. I like true and fair reviews from our guests we always try our very best to ensure you have a great stay. Rafjam Bed and Breakfast in Irish Town is not a hostel and has nothing in its facilities to say its a hostel. You...

Dayton, Ohio
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Rafjams is a wonderful place and certainly worth a visit but first you must get there. The roughly three quarter mile "road" to their hotel out of Red Light may be driven with an ordinary car if you are lucky. Fortunately, our rental car survived. Once you make the final ascent, there is room for about six vehicles and five...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GJJakes
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Well firstly I'd like to say I was really impressed when we arrived a very polite young man called "Chad" greeted giving us history of the surroundings which I enjoyed, love the family photos!! The rooms where lovely and clean and the premises very attractive to those whom love nature, surrounded by a river which made the attomphere so grounding....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Capriciouscapri
Toronto
Reviewed 6 February 2017

The perfect base from which to explore the amazing and calm Blue Mountains. This family operated business has a lot to offer, including top-quality meals, ecologically unique grounds, and rustic yet fancy rooms. Chad guided us up the hills to the Rastafari Village for Saturday Sabbath, and Devolo drove us to the Old Tavern coffee fields - both fun hosts....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jroseshall
Rafjam K, Owner at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for a great review, we are quite pleased that you had a great time and is quite happy my boys Devaldo and Chad are doing a wonderful job as young men to ensure that you enjoy your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Susan

La Romana, Dominican Republic
Reviewed 6 February 2017

This place is just a few meters away from the well named Serendipity Holistic Resort, but it will cost you a third of what you will have to paid at Serendipity for the same location and view. The owners (Raf and his wife) are fantastic and they will make you feel welcome. They are pet friendly, we have a tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnelyWF
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Christmas 2016 i decided to escape the cold weather with all the hassle and stress of shopping and headed for warmer climes finally ended up in Jamaica. Rafjam in Irish Town is a little gem of a retreat nestled in a valley high up in the Blue Mountains. This is an idyllic location off the the beaten track, tranquil with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _noelarthurs58
Rafjam K, Owner at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello Dudley Thank you for a lovely review, we always try our best to ensure you our guests are well taken care of, we apologise again for the issue with the closet in the room, we are currently putting one in the room. Take care and hope to see you again soon. Susan

New Tripoli, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 January 2017

After encountering several airline and car rental mishaps Rafjams was a much needed relief. The owners and managers were extremely professional, welcoming, and helpful and the facilities are beautiful. I really enjoyed my stay, they let my boyfriend check out late since he was waiting for me to arrive on a delayed flight, helped arrange transportation, and provided a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ealnutt
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

RafjaM's lives up to his reputation; truly the best place to stay in the blue mountains. I will definitely come back whenever I have the chance. A firm 9.5 rating for me Pros - beautiful rooms & gardens: simply paradise. Flowers, waterfall, garden pool, lush & green - location: conveniently located near Irish town & red light (bus stop from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris_ToscaAmsterdam
Rafjam K, Owner at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for a lovely review, we always try our best to give you the best service ever. we are looking forward to having you again. Susan

209 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (149)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irish Town
4.2 km away
Starlight Chalet & Health Spa
Starlight Chalet & Health Spa
#1 of 1 in Blue Mountains National Park
59 reviews
9.4 km away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
800 reviews
1.7 km away
Strawberry Hill
Strawberry Hill
#5 of 25 in Kingston
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.8 km away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 26 in Port Antonio
756 reviews
7.3 km away
Neita's Nest
Neita's Nest
#1 of 27 in Kingston
185 reviews
46.8 km away
Zion Country Beach Cabins
Zion Country Beach Cabins
#2 of 26 in Port Antonio
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Deep in the valleys of the Blue Mountains, Rafjam Bed and Breakfast offers an authentic, local Jamaican experience like none other. Rafjam is located up the B1 highway from Papine in Kingston. After about a 30 minute drive and arrival to the town of Red Light, turn right on Hopewell Road and drive all the way down the cul-de-sac. Nestled between two rivers, the guest accommodations are perched high above the natural scenery: the cascading river in our backyard or the fleeting glimpse of a hummingbird sipping rain water from the petals of a heliconia. The climate in the mountains drifts from sun to cloud all day, with scattered rain. Rafjam offers an ideal spot to soak in the soothing Jamaican sun while not getting scorched along the way. You can always jump into one of the many freshwater pools on the property to cool off, or climb up to the 15 foot waterfall just five minutes away. Born and raised in Springdale Cove, Susan inherited her parent's house and decided to refurbish. Eager to offer a taste of paradise to everyone, she opened these magnificent Blue Mountain Cottages with the help of her husband. This vivacious, real Jamaican lady and her professional, laid back team will welcome you and provide whatever you need for you to enjoy your stay. Rafjam's kitchen serves a variety of succulent Jamaican and international cuisines. Our team includes world renowned chefs who evoke their Caribbean, North and South American, and European palates with their culinary creations. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are available. A special request? We will cook according to your taste. Many of the items we serve are grown organically right here in our own backyard or acquired directly from local farmers. A global, eco-friendly gustatory experience in the quiet heart of the Blue Mountains.Five star service in a family setting... you will surely be back again! Rafjam: service beyond expectation... Rafjam also has a hostel in Kingston towN,for those of you who wants to stay closer to Kingston for night life, beach, etc. ... more   less 

Additional Information about RafJam's Bed & Breakfast

Address: Red Light District, Newcastle Road, Irish Town, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Andrew Parish > Irish Town
Price Range: $145 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — RafJam's Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your RafJam's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafjam`s Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages And Nature Hotel Irish Town
Rafjam`s Bed And Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages And Nature
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from RafJam's Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from RafJam's Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The bedrock suites are best”
B8764XEandrewe, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for river view”
AnelyWF, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“To be honest all rooms have excellent views”
_noelarthurs58, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The place it's amazing but there is place like a cave for family too.”
  • The view from the place
b_kashan, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the stream. Sleep to the sound of the water. Nice.”
hopem759, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$70* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$114
TravelocityUS$114
Expedia.comUS$114
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates