We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Claremont

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Claremont
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 348: English reviews
Start your review of The Claremont
 Click to rate
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Excellent room. Immaculate and spacious. Great location, 30 minute scenic route along sea front into Brighton. Staff very friendly and breakfast a must. Nothing was too much trouble and was allowed early check in which was great! Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Datson
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loved the Claremont. Dan the manager couldn't have been more helpful on our arrival. Really nice guy with lots of info about the area, which was very useful. We had room 12 which a lot of reviews have complained about. It's not the smallest room ever as some people have stated. It's not huge either. It is a very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good experience. Room lovely. Very comfy bed. Dressing gowns, slippers, tea and coffee making facilities provide. Bathroom good. All very clean and comfortable. I would stay here again. Good breakfast menu. Good value for money and all staff very friendly and efficient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gilly R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for a few nights on the run up to Christmas, and everything was perfect. We went for the four poster room, which was incredibly spacious for a hotel room, but not at the expense of being cosy and welcoming. The bed was comfy, and the bathroom was spacious and like the room, very pleasantly decorated. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robby S
Bridgwater England
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is just perfect, the staff are so friendly its not like being in a hotel it is really a home from home, the staff cant do enough for you, The rooms are clean and there is Tea / coffee making facilities and also a T.V, there is parking outside but you do need a permit, but the Claremont...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicki1918
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Avoid room #5 if possible. The room is too small to swing a cat let alone allow two people to iron clothes and get dressed. Furthermore there is little privacy without any door to the shower/ bathroom area. The worst however was with respect to the rooms security. The bathroom window did not even have a lock (!) and could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina_and_Rob
TheClaremont, Executive Manager at The Claremont, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback and we apologise if we fell short of your expectations on this visit. As you stated in your in-house written feedback you thought so highly of us on previous visits that you recommended many friends and family. As you will be aware from our terms & conditions we have a strict policy of no pets...

Reviewed 29 December 2016

The Claremont made for an ideal place to spend a special overnight stay with my husband. The room was well-appointed, with a HUGE four-poster bed (it was 3 pillows wide! My husband, who is a tall man, said that the fact that it was wide [& the mattress] made it the most comfortable bed he'd slept in in a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We only had the time to spend one night in Hove visiting family but The Claremont was a perfect place to stay. We celebrated our daughters 21st birthday with a celebratory afternoon tea in the Drawing room. A perfect spot for a group to gather. HIghly recommend to travellers who prefer not to stay in large hotels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AussieJB62
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Arrived at hotel to receive an immediate free upgrade. What a room/ beautiful decor and fabulous bed. Bathroom was fantastic. Lots of thought about those little extras, robes, slippers, sweets, combs...etc . Staff were very friendly and knowledgable. Lots of buses into Brighton or a 2o minute walk. Good eateries nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

The Claremont was everything we hoped for. Lovely, comfortable room and bath. Friendly service from the moment our taxi pulled up to the curb (Dan literally ran down the steps to grab our bags) to our departure three days later via car service arranged by Coralie. Breakfast was outstanding and here again the service was attentive and the food delicious....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jclonan13

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hove
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel
2.8 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,076 reviews
1.5 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
6,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,294 reviews
2.6 km away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
937 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Claremont

Address: Second Avenue, Hove BN3 2LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Hove
Price Range: $149 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claremont 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claremont Hotel Hove
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Claremont staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Wilderness, South Africa
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Claremont staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in room 11 which was perfect, it had a shower plenty of power points and aprox 3 floors up very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Nicki1918, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room #5 if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles Christina_and_Rob, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I expect they are all lovely - Room 6 was certainly very pleasant.”
 of 5 bubbles AussieJB62, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had room 4 it was fabulous. We are planning to return.”
 of 5 bubbles emmat259, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“NOT 112 that is only emergency”
 of 5 bubbles sola55, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5