We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 299: English reviews
Start your review of Anchor Lodge Coromandel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here with a family of 6, there was plenty of room for us all. The house is very modern and edgy which adds a very sophisticated touch to the experience. The shower and bath are very nice which is so important when you are travelling. The sheets aren't very comfortable and feel more like table cloths. The pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brooke G
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a 2 bedroom townhouse which had plenty of room and everything we needed to be self catering. The townhouse was very clean but could probably do with a bit of an update - door handle fell off (were glued as threading stripped), dated and there was heavy rain and it sounded like there was water running down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leejr_mlb
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely unit upstairs Clean and modern large kingsize bed Location just right and property well maintained Easy to book on line At the more expensive range but one of the better choices for this location Great views

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matts1960
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a lodge and not a hostel. This lodge accommodates well for people - couples or families basically who are not on a budget. It does very little to accommodate backpackers in my opinion. There is no free wifi, the kitchen was never clean and the bins were rarely emptied. Thankfully the bathroom was clean. I stayed in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blot17
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Superb attention to detail. Comforter and all bedding of extremely high quality. Chalet is serviced every day and coffee tea and sugar replaced daily. Two elements available if you want to cook something in the unit. Also has a microwave. Shampoo and conditioner supplied together with high quality toilet tissue. Swimming pool and spa lovely to relax in. Towels also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PatGoulden
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were glad we had booked to stay here overnight as part of our Coromandel Peninsula tour. The weather had just turned from a long dry spell and the rain came down all the time we were in Coromandel. The chalet at the Anchor lodge was great however and we spent more time there than we would have done if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pikorua
Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a wonderful stay at anchor lodge, stayed at the backpackers facility. Was clean and comfortable with excellent facilities. Kitchen well equipped, free tea and coffee. Staff very helpful and friendly. There is a small pool and hot tub on site which is a nice bonus. Close to the town where there are places to eat, drink and shop. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rick198927
Fort William, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this Motel due to its location close to the centre of Coromandel Town. I have to say we stayed in a number of motels on this trip and this was by far the best. The exterior is much as you would expect from this type of accommodation in New Zealand. However the interior of our unit had been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redsgothenburg
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Great spot, rooms lovely and clean staff Owner's were v accomodating. Had the use of the hut for group BBQ spa and pool fantastic. No complaints Note watch out for the mossies if you are up the back units.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Location within easy walking distance of township. I had a studio style room its picture is not shown on the website. A dark room with view of a roof. Although clean and modern it was very small and didnt have any relaxing chairs to sit on. Just 2 dining chairs and table with king bed and 1 single bed. Even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kazaq
regan a, Manager at Anchor Lodge Coromandel, responded to this review

We quite often get feedback from guests but being over priced is not one of them. Always contact us directly for best rates. You have booked through a third party website that charge commission. Your friends that stayed next door in an identical unit to you have given us a 10/10 review on the third party site so it is...

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
1.0 km away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
20.5 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
481 reviews
0.6 km away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
240 reviews
19.4 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 17 in Whitianga
313 reviews
1.8 km away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Anchor Lodge is located in Coromandel Town on the west coast of New Zealand’s Coromandel Peninsula and provides spa apartments and suites, and modern motel units.We are located only 400 metres from the town centre amongst native bush and overlooking Coromandel Harbour. Anchor Lodge is located 2.5 hours drive from Auckland International Airport, one hour from Hot Water Beach and within 3.5 hours from Rotorua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge Coromandel

Address: 448 Wharf Road, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Price Range: $59 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge Coromandel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Anchor Lodge Coromandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge Coromandel Hotel Coromandel
Anchor Hotel Coromandel
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anchor Lodge Coromandel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Anchor Lodge Coromandel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms seem the same”
PatGoulden, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“2 bedroom motel unit with lounge was the best room I saw in the complex”
kazaq, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A first floor room is probably quieter”
jpd4, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the second floor heading towards the harbour. That gives you the best view.”
tourah, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you want a view make sure you ask.”
JudiRainbow, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5