We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

688 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 631: English reviews
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of a tour group. The hotel is quite isolated and a good half hour walk to a fish and chip restaurant in the nearby village. A great welcome at reception and once checked in we were shown to our chalet, one of the closer ones to the reception block. The chalet was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tynes1der
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tynes1der, Thank you for taking the time to post your review for Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort. We are so pleased you found the property "unique", and enjoyed the chalet & the tree canopy surrounds. We'd love to welcome you back soon.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brian M
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Auckland
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have just visited Puka Park for our 5th visit. The reason is simple – we have thoroughly enjoyed each visit! The resort has a unique charm that has us wanting more The location is absolutely stunning and we love the outlook of the chalets set in the treetops. The chalet decks are a great place to have a sundowner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trevorCM
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear trevorCM, We always look forward to welcoming our return guests. We are glad you continue to enjoy the resort's unique charm, together with the newly refurbished chalets & the helpful and attentive staff. We hope you can return soon to enjoy the completed resort refurbishment.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ari d
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We came to Puka Park with no real expectations, but were blown away by the place. As seasoned travelers we have never seen such consistently good service. The restaurant is nothing short of amazing - I can honestly say the best restaurant meal I can remember in all my years traveling. And with such fantastic, attentive, friendly service. So even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nameequalsdan
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear Nameequalsdan, We are blown away by your review of your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort! We are so pleased we could make your honeymoon so special with the restaurant meals & the attentive service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Love the resort but kept awake till midnight by a wedding reception, would have cancelled and stayed elsewhere if had been told about the reception in advance. Was offered an alternate room but wouldn't have made any difference given how loud it was. Cleaners left sliding door open after servicing room. Restaurant service was slow so was food at times.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Worthing
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We were booked into this hotel as part of a package holiday. It is a unique experience because of the location of both the hotel and the individual rooms, and this may well be ideal for some. However, there are some drawbacks. The rooms that we and our friends were in do require walking up some steep slopes and steps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xmiles
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear xmiles, Thank you for your feedback on our newly refurbished rooms. We are placing another socket for the kettles over the next few months as well as looking at the internet for the resort. At present it is limited to the main building and reception can help you out there. Thank you also for your comments on the restaurant....

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Could be beautiful. Asked for thorough clean to be undertaken because of a very poor nights sleep due to allergic reaction to dust. Housekeeper failed to complete cleaning so husband used a damp flannel and wiped down above the Murphy bed, window sills and framing, tv stand, wardrobe shelving and coffee table decorations. The flannel is black.......sorry. The duty manager...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KuiAnn
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear KuiAnn, Firstly, thank you for your feedback. I have spoken to our housekeeping team and we are addressing your issues that you had in your chalet. I have also followed up where the communication went amiss with your room clean. This is uncharacteristic of the resort because we hold a high standard so that our guests have an enjoyable...

Tauranga
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Our room was fabulous & if like me you enjoy a soak in the bath then it is well worth paying for a Rimu room, I was like a prune for most of our stay! The service was unobtrusive though professional. I particularly liked the way that the linen & more supplies are left on a peg outside your room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sarah D, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Puka Park. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As you can imagine a lot of hard work goes into refurbishing a property of this kind. It is made all the more worth while when we receive feedback...

Pauanui, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Visited for lunch after a poor experience last year. This time the food was delicious, BUT where we sat there were dead flies on the window ledge the seats were badly stained and the table was not clean with debris under the mats and the table had not been wiped down. Basic cleanliness would be a good start. Not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort, responded to this review

Dear Patricia B, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your visit to Miha Restaurant. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your lunch. Upon speaking to the General Manager, he is aware that there was a problem with the flies at the time of your visit. The staff were cleaning the ledges three...

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
26.6 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
481 reviews
3.0 km away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
148 reviews
18.8 km away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 17 in Whitianga
314 reviews
26.7 km away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 17 in Whitianga
419 reviews
1.1 km away
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort is located at Pauanui Beach on the Coromandel Peninsula, 2 hours drive south east of Auckland. This luxurious, secluded hideaway features 48 chalets set in 10 hectares of native bushland, an award winning restaurant, guest lounge and sun decks with views overlooking Pauanui and the Pacific Ocean. Facilities include a tennis court, swimming pool and the nearby beach has 3km of golden sand and renowned for surfing. There are many bush tracks to explore and array of activities in the Coromandel region. A ferry service operates to nearby Tairua, home to cafes and art galleries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort

Address: Mount Ave | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Price Range: $168 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Puka Park Hotel Pauanui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a low room if you have mobility issues”
Carlydria, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you want to walk to your chalet as opposed to using the golf cart vehicle, I suggest you ask for a chalet lower down the hill.”
DoveSydney_Australia, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book a room close to the main building”
RestaurantCriticNYC, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our chalet 42/43 close to main building not far up the hill. other chalets are further up, staff golf buggy transports your luggage”
65Graham65, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get one near the resturant as some of the hills are quite step to climb if you are not fit, they will come and get you in there golf carts and drop you back to the room as well so no problem the chef there has to one of the best ever as the food was amazing”
, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5