We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tongariro Lodge

Hotwire.comUS$116*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$150*
US$116*
Great Deal
US$118*
US$120*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Tongariro Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tongariro Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 165: English reviews
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2016

I booked this accomodation on the recommendation of a local. We had come up to do some fishing. We booked a one bedroom Chalet, however it is little more than a basic hotel room. The bathroom has NO power point so to blow wave your hair you need to do it next to the bed. There is a mini bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TBM4US
tongorirolodge, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry that the Chalets weren't up to your expectations, however I will tell you that we have started a refurbishment plan on the bathrooms, this will be ongoing until all 10 are completed. It is a shame that you didn't get to experience the Restaurant, as we...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

Had a two night stay here on our travels around New Zealand we have been lucky enough to stay in some awesome places... Tongariro Lodge is very high on our must stay list.... the chalet studio is very comfortable and clean with lots of space.. The thing that struck us was the incredibly friendly staff with a special mention to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Bali, Indonesia
Reviewed 27 December 2015

The moment we arrived, you know that sort of feeling when you think this is where we want to be, this is where we belong. Tongariro Lodge certainly did that for our family. Their lovely host, Gerry and Jill, even the rest of staff, Meri, Becky, Kendall, Maya.... they were just so very welcome and very helpful. We even got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mcmasterBALI
tongorirolodge, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, it was a pleasure to have you at The Lodge, and we hope to see you back here when you next visit NZ. Thanks & Happy travels.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 December 2015

Five nights pre-Christmas 2015 in Turangi. Two nights eating in at the lodge we were staying in (not Tongariro Lodge) - quite outstanding. Three nights eating out at restaurants in or just outside Turangi "recommended" to us by our hosts at the lodge where we were staying. Of the three, Tongariro Lodge was the most expensive by far ($184 v....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pjrcarshrtwr
Return to Parad... R, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, I am sorry that your meal with us was so disappointing. I am not sure what happened the evening you dined with us, but generally speaking our feedback on our current menu has been very positive, and we are continuously working on training our staff. I have addressed your comments with all staff and we will be making some...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 23 December 2015

Booked a chalet for four nights at lodge in the Taupo Lake Area. The hotel is old and eludes a classic bygone era. Bathrooms are very basic. Good bed and linens. Room had outdoor deck. Lodge has restaurant for breakfast and dinner. No lunch. Pleasant place except for the customer service. Every time I called reception I was told they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lgaustin
Return to Parad... R, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, and Thank-you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Tongariro Lodge. I am very concerned about your comments with regards to customer service, that is definitely not the experience we want our guests to have. I have addressed your feedback to all staff, and I can assure you we will be doing all we can to...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 15 December 2015

The staff were fantastic and the hospitality extended to us was second to none. We also enjoyed some gorgeous taste teasers from the lodge's new chef. His new menu is amazing - the scallops were superb and the eye fillet was to die for. Delish! Our chalet was nestled amongst beautiful grounds on the banks of the Tongariro. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
tongorirolodge, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us at Tongariro Lodge. I am pleased you had the opportunity to taste some of our chefs great food. We are very happy with the new menu and the feedback has been fantastic. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward...

Feilding, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

We held a workshop at Tongariro Lodge in November. The facilities were perfect for what we wanted. Accommodation worked well with chalets and bigger houses for families to stay in. Food and service were both outstanding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stell_Stu
tongorirolodge, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. So pleased that everything worked well for your workshop and your group. We look forward to welcoming you all back next time. Best regards.

Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful, however when booking this level of accommodation you expect certain standards and these were just not met. The rooms had no minibar at all, not so much as a bottle of water, our TV did not work and we were told the handyman was off for the weekend so the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dominic L
Return to Parad... R, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Thank-you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Tongariro Lodge. I am really sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. I am also disappointed I never got the opportunity to talk to you while you were here. We are doing some upgrades to The Chalets at the moment, and although we don't offer mini...

Auckland
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Stayed here twice (once in vila and in chalet). Vila is a good option if you are planning for a family get together. Both are well maintained and located in a peaceful setting. The food in the hotel restaurant is good (but on the expensive end). A nice base for skiing (Mount Ruapehu) and for fishing (river just behind the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bestbloke
Return to Parad... R, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you have enjoyed the Lodge, and had the opportunity to stay with us on more than one occasion. We are lucky to be in a great location, it makes it easy for our guests. We look forward to welcoming...

Saint Helena Island, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

The highlights were the fly fishing with a fishing guide with lots of patience as recommended by the lodge and the restaurant menu. The guide was a great instructor for we as beginners and the chef's selections amazing ranging from venison to lamb to a vegetarian choice. A new menu is rolling out next month which we would love to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynenrique
Return to Parad... R, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thank-you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Lodge and had a great time fishing. I am sorry to hear about the confusion with GST, generally speaking all our quotes and confirmations do include GST and do state this on the booking. I am...

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
34.5 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,520 reviews
8.4 km away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
119 reviews
38.8 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
280 reviews
2.3 km away
River Birches Lodge
River Birches Lodge
#1 of 8 in Turangi
130 reviews
1.7 km away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tongariro Lodge offers a unique fishing lodge atmosphere with an international reputation for providing guests with intimate friendly service, the best of food and wine and private exclusive accommodation. There is a secluded spa and all weather tennis court on park like grounds. The Lodge specialises in providing personally guided trout fishing or outdoor experiences with resident guides.Tongariro is the ideal holiday destination for trout fishermen, outdoor enthusiasts and family adventure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tongariro Lodge

Address: Grace Road | PO Box 278, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Price Range: $175 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tongariro Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tongariro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongariro Hotel Turangi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tongariro Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“villa 16 was lovely”
hinemoa-auckland, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Need to update interior and improve dining quality”
aussietoday, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Close your doors and windows or the noise from the bugs will keep you awake.”
neils870, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cabin #10- great view and very private.”
KAD15, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Villa 5 was great!! Private deck and surroundings, great furnishings, steps from the river.”
grassykey, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$116* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$118
Booking.comUS$120
ElvolineUS$150
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates