We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Royal Decameron Complex

Save
Share
Avenida Lazaro Cardenas # 150, Bucerias 63732 Mexico
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotels.com
Priceline
StayForLong
Trip.com
Traveluro
Expedia.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (6425)
360
Panoramas (89)
Dining (644)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 09/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Royal Decameron Complex
Updated 09/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 7 hotels in Bucerias
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level
The Royal Decameron Complex composed of three hotel units: Flamingos, Tropical and Royal, is located 20 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport on the most exciting and extensive beach of the beautiful Bay of Banderas in the typical Mexican town of Bucerias in Riviera Nayarit. The colorful architecture of the Royal Decameron Complex offers 5 swimming pools, 4 of which are suitable for children, and long stretch of beach where you can enjoy different activities, non-motorized water sports and bar services. You can also enjoy a large number of buffet and a la carte options with specialized restaurants including: JAP JAP, Wok, MexicanoFusion, Piccolo and Steak House, among others. We also offer 6 bars along the beach and beside the swimming pools. The Royal Decameron Complex also has other installations like the Vallarta disco, 3 tennis courts, one soccer pitch and a fun Kids Club. Due to Coronavirus (COVID-19), this property is taking steps to help protect the safety of guests and staff. Certain services and amenities may be reduced or unavailable as a result.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Head massage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
62Somewhat walkable
Grade: 62 out of 100
11Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
2Attractionswithin 0.5 km
5705Reviews882Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,955
  • 2,339
  • 855
  • 345
  • 211
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
cassan g wrote a review 7 Jan
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Terrible service, terrible food, à la cartes are inaccessible, the rooms are old date, beds are unfortunately. For some reason the adult pool closes the earliest along screaming children throughout dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Karina Pastran, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Royal Decameron Complex
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thanks for contacting Guest Services department at hotel Royal Decameron Complex. We want to Thank you for the time and interest that you have put into correcting the situation that you experienced. We thank you for your understanding. We have taken note and proper actions are being taken to correct the matter, have no doubt that we are working to make your next visit as pleasant as possible. Kind Regards, Karina Pastran Guest Service Manager
Read more
ElissaClaire wrote a review Dec 2021
North Vancouver, Canada524 contributions450 helpful votes
I stayed at the RDC Dec 4th for 1 week. Package booked thru Air Canada Vacations, which was almost $400 cheaper compared to the WestJet package pricing for that week. This was my first trip to the RDC during Covid. I’ve been to the Royal Decameron over a dozen times (think this was 15th visit), so this vacation was to relax, float, read, enjoy the company of others, and simply enjoy being able to go somewhere tropical during Covid. Plus it was my birthday while there so happy I could go somewhere this year vs a staycation during last year’s lockdown in Vancouver. A good vacation, I went with lower expectations than past trips due to the pandemic. Had a great relaxing week. As usual, met lots of awesome people. Mostly hung around pool 5 (adults pool) or went for walks on the beach. Check in was relatively quick, and I was able to purchase use of the safe key at the main front desk (cashier and front desk of Building 4 still closed). Cashier also at main check in desk. You can swap larger pesos bills for smaller denominations – I usually saw Rosa at the front desk mornings around 9am and was able to obtain change ($20’s and $50’s) for $200 pesos. Room’s safe was $350 Pesos for the week. I was given room 5328 (very end of the hall). I had requested a room 2nd floor of building 5 and was pleased with this location. Quiet location, on the 3rd floor but 3 ½ flights of stairs up so got my exercise (had 5228 on a past trip). On evenings Piccolo restaurant was open, you can briefly hear them doing dishes. Nobody seemed to be in the 2 rooms beside me most of my week. -Room’s AC was quiet, newer, had a remote control. -Upon arrival, had 2 small bottles of water in the room. -Shower pressure in the room was the strongest ever. So strong, it pushed the curtain aside and sprayed the bathroom door and floor, so I put a spare towel down. Never used the cold tap, perfect temperature with the hot water tap only. -Never saw a face cloth but expected that so brought my own disposable cloths. -5 pillows, king bed, blanket in the closet if needed, foam topper already on the bed, never turned on the TV so cannot comment on available English channels. -found room to be fully sanitized and clean upon arrival, however, still did my own wipe down on high touch surfaces as I brought my own Lysol spray and wipes (I did that before Covid too) Put the make up room sign on my door daily prior to 9am and be out all day until at least 4pm, leaving a tip on the bed. Was only serviced 3 times all week. As needed, I would find a room attendant in the hall to obtain towels, toilet paper, water bottles and then tip the person. That worked well enough for me. Being at the end of the hall, I assume I would have been her last room of the day. A few times she knocked around 5/5:30pm but I just swapped towels, etc and still provided a tip. Not her fault she’s overworked. Buffet food was good. Always filled me up, but only about 40% of the selection as past trips. Someone behind each plexi barrier serves you. So if you want toast, that’s 1 plate. Fruit, that’s another plate. Omelet, that’s another plate. Easily have 3 plates at your table for a meal. Papaya was delicious! I planned to book Wok, Rodizzio and Piccolo during the trip. Dined at Wok once (Sunday), Piccolo twice (Monday and Friday) and just enjoyed the freedom of not looking at the time and used the buffet other dinners. While the buffet variety wasn’t as good as past trips, I found the food good, many options (don’t have to like it all, just enough enjoy a meal and refuel), and exceptional table service by the staff. The best restaurant service I had my entire week was from the buffet restaurants. I tipped generously every meal. Was surprised to see many people ask a lot of their servers at the buffet and then regularly walk out without leaving a tip. Servers at the Wok and Piccolo rattled off 3 options each for appetizers, entrees, deserts. No menu provided, just verbal. Was looking forward to ribs I had at the Wok past trips, no longer an option due to limited menu because of Covid. Same with Piccolo, no rack of lamb right now. Really missed not having the chocolate mousse at Piccolo for dessert, but 2nd dinner there was a mango mousse – a highlight of my trip and used to be a dessert option at Wok. Dinner reservations are done by scanning a code in the Building 4 wifi lobby each morning to view restaurants options available for that day – they’re on a rotating system due to occupancy. I heard from a few people I met that you could dial 0 from your room and they’ll make a reservation over the phone too. I found it easy to book online for 6pm or 6:30pm whenever I tried for a booking. Although later options came up too. Mexican Fiesta night is still on Thursdays. The gift shop in Building 4 will still inflate your air mattress for $15 pesos. No longer have towel cards in use. You give your room number to sign out a towel, and just swap it all week as you need. Then give your room number when returning the towel. Met so many genuinely nice people at Pool 5. Not a single person I would think to avoid. All staff were friendly with a Hola whenever passing by. Saw management out and around the resort frequently too. Grounds were impeccable. Full palm trees too, with lots of coconuts still hanging. Staff were wearing a face mask at all times, even if walking outside. Most guests were respectful and wearing a face mask when interacting with staff, and when not seated at their table in the buffets or restaurants. Hand sanitizer all over the resort, building entrance ways, at every restaurant, etc. You can book your PCR test at the Medical Centre. I went there Sunday morning, and booked for 10:55am Thursday, results emailed to me around 9:30am Friday. Dropped by the Medical Centre and they printed off a copy of my test results. Cost of the PCR test (for those returning to Canada) was $2500 pesos. Can pay in Mexican Pesos or on Credit Card. Heard a PCR test costs $1500 pesos at the airport, but wanted convenience of not leaving the resort.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Karina Pastran, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Royal Decameron Complex
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your good experience in our hotel, this is something am sure will help a lot of people who is looking for information about our hotel and your description is clomplite. We will be very happy to have you in the Roral Decameron again. Thank you for your visit. Karina Pastran Guest Service Manager
Read more
DW005Dw005 wrote a review Dec 2021
ALberta12 contributions30 helpful votes
Dec 3-17 - we have been here several times, and with this crazy world right now, we were leery about traveling. Not a five star resort, but you get 5 star service. Rooms are comfortable and clean, and the beach is beautiful. Never had an issue getting a beach chair, even in the afternoon. Love the new a la carte system, you dont have to go get in line at 7 in the AM.. Yes you have to get up and go on-line at 6-7, but much easier. Showers could definitely be warmer, but really who cares. Weather never fails, drinks always cold, restaurants to chose from. & when you need a change or to watch your favorite sports team - A little sports bar just up from the resort -Barchelata- food like BPs (wings amazing). Massages up the beach or across the street... 10 massages for 3500 pesos...No mask police... Awesome holiday..... 2 complaints -This resort should make more effort to test all visitors or have someone come in to do the PCR test, and they charge too much for the test $125US, way cheaper elsewhere... Book your test as soon as you get there if you want it there or you wont get appt
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Karina Pastran, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Royal Decameron Complex
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We are happy to see that you had an excellent stay with us and you enjoyed every moment, we thak you for sharing your good experience in our resort, it helps to other people to decide if our hotel is a good choise. We will take note of your recomentatios about the PCR test. Cordially, Karina Pastran Guest Service Manager
Read more
Zuri A wrote a review Dec 2021
Calgary, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
This resort is split into several building groupings - we were in the building 5 group where the adult-only pools are, which is far from the beach, but I quite liked the location. We could hear the evening show but it was over within an hour so definitely bearable. The room we had was clean and comfortable, however it is looking old and poorly kept - I would call it rustic - everything worked however. Tiling needs fixing and updating in places. Water was hot and plentiful, no issues. Air conditioning worked great. Biggest issue is no wifi in rooms, we had to go to a central location - not a big deal as we always found cushy seating, but it would have been nicer with wifi in the room. Second, we did not get a single meal in the theme restaurants. The rezzies open at 8am, and can only be done with a wifi connection - and were completely booked within minutes. We just weren't up to going to the central location, signing into wifi, and trying to get a rezzie at 8am. So if you're up for that, you'll might get the special meals otherwise will have to do the buffet. Food was adequate, it's hard when they have to personally serve you from behind barriers. They had basic as well as mexican options so that was nice. Lots of locals, which added to the ambience and felt more like an authentic experience. Staff was wonderful.. Beach was gorgeous but didn't get groomed at all. We did manage to find loungers under the palapas the couple of times we went down to the beach. Another item to consider: bring a power bar or extension cord, the rooms only have 2 plugs, one behind the tv and one behind the night table. Overall we had a pleasant holiday here. We didn't go to the evening shows.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Buildings 5 and 6 are furthest from the beach
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Karina Pastran, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Royal Decameron Complex
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thanks for contacting Guest Services department at hotel Royal Decameron Complex. We want to Thank you for the time and interest that you have put into correcting the situation that you experienced. We thank you for your understanding. We have taken note and proper actions are being taken to correct the matter, have no doubt that we are working to make your next visit as pleasant as possible. Kind Regards, Karina Pastran Guest Service Manager
Read more
Dean S wrote a review Dec 2021
46 contributions7 helpful votes
The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. The staff are all friendly and happy to help you. Five pools well kept and nice temp, overall the resort is very nice. The problem really comes down to the food and the beds. The buffets were ok you could find something to eat but nothing was really great. The a la cartes were the big problem, we have stayed at 8 different resorts in and around PV and the Decameron was by far the worst, out of 4 travelers we tried 3 different restaurants at least one of our party would not eat their meal because it was so poor. The beds left all 4 of us with sore body's every night. If you get a good enough deal and plan to eat off resort it would still be worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Karina Pastran, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Royal Decameron Complex
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thanks for your visit at hotel Royal Decameron Complex. We want to Thank you for the time and interest that you have put into correcting the situation that you experienced. We thank you for your understanding. We have taken note and proper actions are being taken to correct the matter, have no doubt that we are working to make your next visit as pleasant as possible. Kind Regards, Karina Pastran Guest Service Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$143 - US$266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal decameron vallarta, royal decameron hotel, royal decameron puerto vallarta bucerias, royal decameron mexico, royal decameron puerto vallarta mexico, royal decameron complex puerto vallarta, royal de cameron, royal decameron nuevo vallarta, royal decameron puerto vallarta hotel, puerto vallarta royal decameron, decameron puerto vallarta
LOCATION
MexicoPacific CoastNayaritRiviera NayaritBucerias
NUMBER OF ROOMS
620
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Decameron Complex
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Decameron Complex?
Nearby attractions include The Bucerias Art Walk (1.1 km), El Buzo de Bucerias (0.6 km), and Wibit Mex (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Decameron Complex?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Decameron Complex?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Decameron Complex?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Decameron Complex?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Casona, Restaurant Le Bistrot, and Culi's Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Decameron Complex?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Royal Decameron Complex have airport transportation?
Yes, Royal Decameron Complex offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal Decameron Complex?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Decameron Complex?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parroquia de San Miguel Arcangel Church (15.4 km).
Does Royal Decameron Complex have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.