We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Beluga Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Methven
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Beluga Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We spent our last two nights in New Zealand at the Beluga Lodge - what a lovely ending to our trip! Four of us had the four bedroom, two bath house for a great price. We were able to cook our meals in the spacious kitchen and enjoy two relaxing evenings sitting around the comfortable dining table reminiscing about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BetHoffman
London, England
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed here on our first night in NZ after flying in from the UK and it was very pleasant. Our host was very welcoming and, as we were the only guests, we had the kitchen and sitting room to ourselves which was useful when waking up at 4.30am! Good breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 381,276
rugby
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Spending a month in New Zealand we stayed in some lovely accomodation. Our last night was here. We left the best till last. The garden room ,hot tub,breakfast,location was excellent but it was made truly memorable by the professionalism,humour and attention to detail of our hosts. At this time of year this is great value too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roddy52
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Methven is the town closest to the Mt Hutt ski field so has a number of places to stay. We booked Belugafor a summer visit because of good reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. It is a very nice little oasis around a central garden. The hosts/owners are as nice as can be. The hot tub in the garden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William T
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Cottage was ok but not luxurious! You cannot access facilities such as spa! That seems a little strange as you are expected to judge the facility as a whole. That was disappointing. Seems that you access the gardens but not actuall enjoy all of the facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Woodienz
BelugaLuxuryLodge, Owner at Beluga Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Woodienz, Thank you for your comments and we are so sorry if you did not enjoy your stay with us. Minke Cottage, where you stayed, is our self-contained holiday cottage, it is NOT our Luxury Lodge – so we do not advertise it as being ‘luxurious’. To clarify, Minke Cottage is our cheaper option for families or groups of...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Lovely hosts, great property. We made our evening meal in the garden suite and ate it sat in the garden on our private deck. Smoked salmon and cream cheese bagel for breakie after fruit and cereal was a nice change on a long trip in B&B's. Good speed of unlimited Internet connection too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cracker73
Brussels
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed in the garden suite and it was perfect. We had a fantastic sleep even though the frogs in the garden did their best to try and keep us awake. Everything possible has been done to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. There is a true inviting lodge atmoshpere to the guest sitting room and breakfast was just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brusselscharlie
Manchester
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Methven is very quite in summer especially mid week when we were staying. We therefore had the the large lounge/dining area to ourselves. There is a kitchen were you can help yourself to a range of teas/coffees, fruits and cookies and a honesty fridge well stocked with beer, wine and soft drinks. There is a understated attention to detail in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma7Manchester
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We only spent one night at Beluga lodge...unfortunately-we were just stopping through. Hosts so friendly and welcoming, great breakfast to send us on our way, all the necessities...LOVED the heated towel holder in the bathroom!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrainToLive
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed in Minke Cottage as a group of 7 adults exploring the golf courses in the region. The cottage was perfect, with comfortable bedrooms, fully self-catering and a large table easily accommodating 7 diners and, later, the evening card games. There are quite a few golf courses within easy range.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SchalkNZ

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Methven hotels
1.4 km away
Whitestone Cottages
Whitestone Cottages
#5 of 11 in Methven
20 reviews
0.2 km away
Skibo house B&B
Skibo house B&B
#1 of 11 in Methven
47 reviews
0.3 km away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 21 in Methven
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Pinedale Lodge & Apartment
0.9 km away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
111 reviews
0.6 km away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#2 of 21 in Methven
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beluga Luxury Lodge is a beautifully restored kiwi villa set in an acre of tranquil private gardens. This 4+ Qualmark rated property is in a great location, just five minutes walk from the shops, cafes and restaurants in the heart of Methven and 40 minutes drive to Mt Hutt skifield. Beluga offers you the choice of stylish Lodge Rooms, the secluded luxury of the Garden Suite, or independence in the delightfully restored Minke Cottage. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beluga Lodge

Address: 40 Allen Street | Mt Hutt, Methven, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beluga Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Beluga Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want more privacy, try the garden suite. We can certainly recommend it !”
 of 5 bubbles Brusselscharlie, 18 Feb 2013 | Read review
“We had the ski package room which was nice but a tad small for our liking. I would ask them for a bigger room or a seperate cabin next time.”
 of 5 bubbles MardinaS, 27 Aug 2012 | Read review
“Couples if you want more privacy then lash out and stay in the Garden Suite.”
 of 5 bubbles SuzcNewcastle, 21 Apr 2012 | Read review
“all good and we were given a choice very comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles Robsrainbow, 24 Jan 2012 | Read review
4 of 4