We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Oystercatcher Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Oystercatcher Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 118: English reviews
Ilmington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a B&B with style where the Sue and Luc offer perfect hospitality. There is total attention to detail and the breakfast was freshly prepared and of excellent quality. There are stunning views of the ocean only 50 metres away and we never tired of watching the sea whipped to fury by the wind. Beach combing on the deserted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susied208
Cape Town
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a magnificient place and location! From the moment we arrived our expectations were exceeded!! Arriving to that amazing panoramic view set the scene for a fantastic getaway. We were greeted with complimentary bubbles and a personalised card for our Anniversary - attention to detail is brilliant! Sue and Luc have mastered the art of hosting - friendly, helpful, informative...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne0180
Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Joanne Thanks so much for taking the time to do a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you and Justin found the Oystercatcher the perfect place to celebrate your wedding anniversary. It was lovely meeting you both and we do look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future. Warm regards Luc and Sue

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Oystercatcher Lodge is beautiful , we were upgraded to the honeymoon suite as it was our honeymoon and the room is beautiful , the views are superb. The lodge is for those that want to recharge in a quite environment or for honeymooners such as ourselves who wanted a romantic atmosphere. The breakfast is delicious. The owners Sue and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keabetswen
Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Keabetswen Thanks so much for your great review on Trip Advisor. We were so happy to read that you enjoyed your honeymoon at the Oystercatcher and it was lovely getting you know you both during your stay. Do hope you will return again in the close future. Our best wishes to you both. Kind regards Luc and Sue

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Oystercatcher Lodge is in a quite superb and enviable location. Built and maintained to a high standard, Sue and Luc are the perfect hosts. You feel as if you have escaped the world as you sit on the verandah and watch all the bird and sea life. The views are magnificent as are the walks along the deserted beaches. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MDS24
Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Martin and Dianne We were so delighted to read that you both had such a memorable stay at the Oystercatcher. We are pleased that you were mesmerised by the beautiful sea vistas and the abundance of bird and sea life on your doorstep. Thanks you for taking the time to do a Trip Advisor review - we really appreciate...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently spent two nights at the Oystercatcher Apartments. The views are truly beautiful, the apartment was well equipped and well presented. The area around the apartment is lovely, and we easily spotted dolphins and seals from our room. We also were able to enjoy the lovely beach walks around Shelly Point. There isn't any shops or restaurants in Shelly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ninkx
Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Nikki Thanks for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed the past week-end in Nautilus apartment and that everything was to your complete satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back! Warm regards Luc and Sue

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Exceptional location, perfect service. If you are looking for a relaxing place next to the ocean, that's the place to go. Beautiful, spacious rooms, wonderful attentive hosts and location, location, location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WHA80
Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you so much for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at the Oystercatcher and do hope you will plan a return visit one day. Warm regards Luc and Sue

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed Oystercatcher Lodge, very comfortable and great views. We were surprised it was self catering which meant going out at night in thick fog to purchase supplies for breakfast and find a local spot to eat. We also were shocked at the locked estate and the crassness of the surrounding housing. The contrast of rich and poor was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Helen Thanks for taking the time to do a review on Trip Advisor. You did indeed book self-catering, so it is expected that guests bring along their own supplies for breakfast and other meals as you had not booked at the Guest House. There is a fully fitted kitchen and braai area in each apartment. Shelley Point is a...

Steelpoort, South Africa
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We visited Oystercather in September for two nights and I wish that we stayed longer. Your room opens up right onto the beach and the location of the lodge offers a panoramic view of the ocean. The rooms are beautiful, clean and spacious. I especially loved staying in the honeymoon suite. Breakfast is good, with the homemade muesli being the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wimpels
Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Manager at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. It was so encouraging for us to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay at the Oystercatcher. We hope you will plan a return visit some time in the close future. Warm regards Luc and Sue

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We spent three faultless, comfortable nights here. Sue and Luc are charming and thoughtful hosts and their advice about what to see and do in the area very helpful. We enjoyed walks along the beach to the lighthouse and their recommendations about where to eat. All in all an excellent place to stay with a genuinely warm welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susamsok
Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and personal review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to read you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm regards Luc and Sue

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

If you are looking for the perfect setting then here it is set above the sand dunes at Shelley Point and offering views to die for and service which has no equal. We stayed for three nights and enjoyed bed and breakfast and the convenience of a honesty bar which in itself offered a wide range of drinks in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David06111940
Oyster1ShelleyPoint, Owner at Oystercatcher Lodge, responded to this review

Dear David Thank you for your marvellous review on Trip Advisor. We are so grateful to receive such positive feed-back and hear that our guests have enjoyed the experience at the Oystercatcher. We are both looking forward to welcoming you and Anne back in the close future. With renewed thanks and warm regards Luc and Sue

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena Bay
13.1 km away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
13.1 km away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 14 in Paternoster
78 reviews
2.5 km away
Goblin's Creek Manor House
Goblin's Creek Manor House
#3 of 5 in St. Helena Bay
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Absolute Beach Accommodation
Absolute Beach Accommodation
#2 of 5 in St. Helena Bay
47 reviews
13.5 km away
SA West Coast & Beyond
SA West Coast & Beyond
#6 of 14 in Paternoster
50 reviews
14.4 km away
Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Oystercatcher Lodge

Address: ERF 5397 | FIRST AVENUE, St. Helena Bay 7382, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > St. Helena Bay
Price Range: $125 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oystercatcher Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oystercatcher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oystercatcher Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cape Town Central, South Africa

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Oystercatcher Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All have views”
 of 5 bubbles susied208, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are ocean facing”
 of 5 bubbles keabetswen, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All very good. All with bay view.”
 of 5 bubbles David06111940, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“1st floor rooms have the best view.”
 of 5 bubbles Hermandl, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“A ground floor next to reception was ideal. No stairs and close to lounge dining and patio.”
 of 5 bubbles paj2001, 8 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay