We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carmel By The Sea

Certificate of Excellence
06/06/2017 07/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Carmel By The Sea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Carmel By The Sea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 229: English reviews
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This is one of the best places I have ever stayed it. The room was beautiful very spacious and clean. The facilities where fantastic and it is very close to everything restaurants, shopping (Pacific Fair) and the park and beach just across the road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hullfamily2016
Gary F, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are fortunate to have such a wonderful location: right opposite the beach, minutes to Broadbeach's best dining and the new state of the art shopping at Pacific Fair. We hope you had a safe trip home and we look...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here as a family of 5 in a beautiful and spacious 2 bedroom apartment. Our apartment was huge with amazing views from all parts of the apartment even the bathroom over the beach. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen was fully equipped. The complex itself was beautifully maintained. Everything and everywhere was always immaculately clean and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juddy1982
Gary F, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of Carmel by the Sea. We are so pleased we were able to provide you with a relaxing and carefree break. We are fortunate to have such a convenient location - close to everything! We take great pride in the presentation of our resort and the grounds. Having a well maintained, and pleasant environment...

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Long weekend here and found the place fantastic. Super friendly staff and well appointed room. Uninterrupted views of the sea from the balcony to watch the migrating whales and general beach life. Park across the road but best of all a pool area that is bathed in afternoon sun. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Londonbitter
Gary F, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at Carmel by the Sea. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the facilities, location and staff to suit your requirements. I trust you had a safe trip home and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Melbourne
Reviewed 29 September 2016

A family of five stayed in apartment 112 for three nights for my mum's 90th birthday. The most amazing thing is the view - huge floor to ceiling windows with amazing views. We watched whales two days out of three and we ate out on the balcony every day. Fabulous kitchen and two living areas. The whole complex is well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yasur7
Gary F, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Carmel by the Sea. I am thrilled to hear you have so thoroughly enjoyed your stay. The three bedroom suites (like 112) are a very unique apartment type. They really do offer a luxury stay with views second to none. With such a beautiful apartment and large balconies there...

Melbourne
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Have stayed here before and liked it hence the return visit. This is not the cheapest place in Broadbeach but the facilities and location represent good value for us: beachfront, parking, short walk to restaurants and shops, long outside pool that allows you to do decent laps and a heated indoor pool that was a boon in the poor weather....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter11Melbourne
Gary F, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

Hello Peter. Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Broadbeach is such a popular area to visit that at times the golden rule of "you get what you pay for" does ring true. Carmel by the Sea does not offer "cheap" accommodation as we do not offer a "cheap" product. We have...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here in August 2016,arrived after our 11 hour flight from London with 4 other adults ,easy to check in and friendly staff with valet parking at $20 per day. The rooms are basic but clean and tidy with coffee and pastry's available from 5.30am not bad for the early risers from Europe!!!! and also given its position relatively quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nigel E
Gary F, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

Hello Nigel. Unfortunately I don't think you stayed with us! It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your time at Hotel Carmel but this is a different business to Carmel by the Sea. We are a resort on the Gold Coast in Queensland Australia. We don't have valet parking or coffee and pastry but we do have lots of sunshine,...

Gosford, Australia
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Our apartment was excellent with great views. It was quiet and very comfortable with loads of room. The bed was extremely comfortable.. Facilities at Carmel were terrific. Great pool and BBQ area and indoor pool and spa. Gym facilities excellent. Carmel is an easy walk from the centre of Broadbeach. We parked our car and walked everywhere. The annual jazz...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
Gary F, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

Hello Carol. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Carmel by the Sea. I'm so pleased to hear you had a good comfortable sleep each night and that you didn't have to bother driving while you were on your break! We do have a great location meaning you can park the car in the secure...

Greater Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Stayed here for 4 nights a few weeks ago & were very impressed with the high standard. Very large quiet apartment, beautifully furnished & with absolutely fantastic sea views, we walked down the road to all the eateries & shops, very good location. We'll definitely return for another stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
Gary F, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

Peter it is lovely to hear you were pleased with your recent stay at Carmel by the Sea. The apartments are quite large and we are perfectly positioned to be close to the centre of Broadbeach but far enough away to remain tranquil. The building was designed to capitalise on the views, with every apartment facing toward the ocean. I...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We had a great time here, had a apartment facing the water on 8th floor. The apartment was really large and very comfortable. We loved the closeness to the Oasis Centre with its supermarket & eating options. Pacific Fair is a short walk away and this is now an excellent shopping destination. We used the steam room, sauna, spa, both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 672gregf
Gary F, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, Greg. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with Carmel by the Sea. We are very fortunate to have a location that enables guests to have a convenient proximity to the middle of Broadbeach, while also having the peace and calm of a retreat from the hustle and...

bendigo
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 nights with my husband and toddler and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our apartment on the 5th floor was a little dated but it would have been super classy back in the 90's. It still had everything we needed and was so spacious. We actually loved it so much we googled what it would cost to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank addicted2travel78
Gary F, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Carmel by the Sea. I'm pleased to hear your whole family enjoyed your time with us. The indoor pool and the wading pool tend to be very popular with the little ones! We are also so fortunate to be just over the road from the children's playground equipment...

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (123)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
06/06/2017 07/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.3 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.3 km away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,675 reviews
0.4 km away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
ULTIQA Beach Haven on Broadbeach
1.4 km away
Oceana on Broadbeach
Oceana on Broadbeach
#5 of 21 in Broadbeach
395 reviews
0.3 km away
Mantra Sierra Grand
Mantra Sierra Grand
#7 of 21 in Broadbeach
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Carmel by The Sea is ideally located at 177 Old Burleigh Road in Broadbeach and is directly opposite the iconic golden sands of the Gold Coast’s favourite beach. This highrise apartment building boasts excellent facilities and spacious, modern apartments. The building was designed with views in mind with all apartments enjoying an ocean aspect. From this ideal vantage point, Carmel by the Sea apartments have spectacular views of the ocean and the Hinterland. This resort features comprehensive facilities including not one, but two swimming pools. The sparkling outdoor swimming pool is ideal for lap swimming and has a separate wading pool to entertain children. A large tiled area with sun lounges and umbrellas surrounds the pool area and the BBQ area with hot plates and cooking facilities, tables and chairs is located just adjacent. Beautifully landscaped tropical gardens surround the pool and BBQ area making this area a serene retreat from the hustle and bustle. The indoor heated swimming pool is perfect for all seasons and weather. It is accompanied by a spa, steam room, and sauna creating the perfect place to unwind and relax. For the fitness fanatics there is a fully equipped Gymnasium and a full size Tennis Court. There are also plenty of cycling and walking paths across the road along the stunning Broadbeach beachfront and parklands. Carmel by the Sea apartments are all fully self-contained, individually styled and feature spectacular views. The one, two and three bedroom apartments provide spacious living areas and balconies and all have a large two person in-room spa. All apartments are air conditioned for your comfort and have ceiling fans, opening windows and large private balconies (excluding One bedroom Executive). For the discerning guest looking to enjoy the best there is to offer the suites and sub-penthouses provide even more luxury, space and maximise the beautiful views. Located on the upper levels of the building, these apartments have absolutely spectacular views of the ocean and Hinterland. These luxury apartments feature large modern Kitchens, Laundries, two Bathrooms with separate showers and bath, spacious bedrooms with walk-in robes and large balconies. At Carmel by the Sea all of our apartments have large screen television sets with Foxtel, free Wifi (restrictions apply), hairdryers, full kitchen facilities (e.g. tea and coffee making facilities, full size refrigerators, and dishwashers), and full laundry facilities (e.g. washing machines, clothes driers and ironing board and iron). Our reception staff offer a tour desk facility and are fully equipped to assist you to book many local attractions such as theme parks, cruises and tours. Carmel by the Sea has close proximity to Broadbeach Mall, Oasis Shopping Centre, Kurrawa Surf Club, supermarkets, cafes and restaurants, nightclubs and bars. Likewise, Pacific Fair Shopping Centre, Jupiters Casino and Gold Coast Exhibition and Convention Centre are all within walking distance of our front doors. Extensive parklands fringe the beachfront adjacent to Carmel by The Sea. This provides huge open spaces for picnicking, cycling and walking tracks, children’s playgrounds, BBQs and the weekend Arts & Crafts Markets. The nearby patrolled beaches with flags and lifesavers are perfect for a swim, bodyboard or surf all year round. Broadbeach offers regular and reliable public transport with bus services and the Light Rail system departing from the Gold Coast Highway. Of course if you prefer to drive, each apartment has a designated car space in the secure underground garage. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carmel By The Sea

Address: 177 Old Burleigh Rd, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Price Range: $194 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carmel By The Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel By The Sea Hotel Broadbeach
Carmel By The Sea Broadbeach, Gold Coast
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Broadbeach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carmel By The Sea staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Launceston, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Carmel By The Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All three of our stays have been in rooms overlooking the park and ocean. Suggest requesting this when booking.”
LynHendersonOke, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Checkout is 10am but ask for a guest FOB to get into the pools and showers until 12pm.”
bm93travel, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Water view is beautiful”
judy699, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Close to many restaurants/bars/shopping/surf/casino”
Londonbitter, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High up, beachfront”
Peter11Melbourne, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Agoda.com
Hotels.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates