We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Spindrift On The Beach

PricelineUS$222*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$258*
US$222*
Great Deal
US$258*
US$233*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Spindrift On The Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 164: English reviews
Start your review of Spindrift On The Beach
 Click to rate
Vancouver
Reviewed 1 week ago

This review is quite extensive following our recent " extended stay" at Spindrift On The Beach. Overall our Gold Coast vacation at Spindrift on the Beach was a significant disappointment primarily due to the assigned unit by management. We had pre-booked several months prior to our visit in early February for a seven week duration. We had requested an elevated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taffy050
Spindriftonthebeach, Manager at Spindrift On The Beach, responded to this review

Thanks Barry. I see you are still holding onto a significant grudge due to your absolute oceanfront unit allocation being on the 2nd Floor (Ground, 1st, 2nd) As discussed and confirmed with your daughter who came in, viewed and booked on your behalf that it was a based purely on you both wanting the best possible price to which we...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Neither are the nightly fees, however :) We've stayed at Spindrift (along with another family) 2013, 2015, 2017. In 2011 & 2012 we stayed at Beaches on Waves, and for not a whole lot more opted for Spindrift because of heated pool/jacuzzi, and absolute beach front views, which is why we come back despite it not being a luxurious place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TaylorRN
Spindriftonthebeach, Manager at Spindrift On The Beach, responded to this review

Thanks for staying again Mary, appreciate you taking the time to post your review. We understand there is great potential for Spindrift on the Beach and is why at this stage we do only advertise a 3.5 star property without air con along with the rates guest pay being refelctive of this fact. As improvements are made so to will...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very disappointing stay, the apartment was without air con and with no security screens on the windows it made it difficult to cool down especially over night. The bathrooms particularly the ensuite was small, dated and difficult to get showered in as they were hot and no windows could be opened, so this wasn't used. We received electric shocks...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hookey1968
Spindriftonthebeach, Manager at Spindrift On The Beach, responded to this review

Unfortunately the heart of this issue was that this guest extended their stay an extra night and depsite saying they would be down to pay they did not and then tried very hard to get out of paying or at a discount. We twice checked the apartment to convince them everything was ok with fans, lights, windows that opened, ensuite,...

Melbourne
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

This is a difficult review because there are so many plus and quite a few negatives that I'm actually quite torn. To start with positive. The pool is fab. As is the grassy area and the walk straight onto the beach. It's just gorgeous outside. Our apartment (20) was really run down. I almost expected this after reading the reviews...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N H
Spindriftonthebeach, General Manager at Spindrift On The Beach, responded to this review

Thanks Nicola for taking the time to post. It is always important to communicate any concerns with the property at the time so we can help work through and rectify any issues , I apologize If the sliding screen door came off its track and your husband cut his foot, and if you had made us aware of this we...

newcastle
Reviewed 2 March 2017

The apartment was well appointed and clean with a great view of the ocean and beach right up to Surfers Paradise. We were on level 5 which helped the view but we would happily choose a lower level next time we visit. The first visit to the Gold Coast and so glad we chose a place right on the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aussiepom53
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We’ve just returned from an 8 night stay at Spindrift on the Beach. THE APARTMENT We stayed in an ocean front apartment (No. 22) on the 5th floor. The apartments are 35 years old, so I was expecting dated, but not poorly maintained. This apartment was very tired and in need of quite a lot of general repairs. The apartments...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OwenKA
Spindriftonthebeach, Manager at Spindrift On The Beach, responded to this review

Hi Kylie, Thank you for the time taken to post your review, and really appreciate the very constructive feedback. I will forward this onto the owner as it is in their best interest to help us improve standards above our 3.5 rating and maximise their occupancy and returns. Regards Darren

Scotland
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Awesome location - great help on arrival and a great spacious apartment. Heated pool - access to the beach - secure off road parking - loads of info on where to go and what to do. We all really loved our stay and would definitely go back again!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scottish-koinonia
Spindriftonthebeach, Manager at Spindrift On The Beach, responded to this review

Keep in touch and will sure to look after you being a return guest. Kind Regards Darren

Sydney
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

My family (2 adults, 9yr old & 2yr old) stayed in an ocean front apartment for 5 nights. What can I say, from the moment we opened our door and seen the beach right out the windows I knew we were going to enjoy ourselves. Our aim for this holiday was to go to Movie World, SeaWorld & Wet n...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lisa F
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We've stayed in a couple of the apartments and each offer different views of Miami beach, Surfers and Burleigh Heads and the mountains. Absolute beach frontage and a quiet swimming area is a bonus. Short walk to restaurants and small supermarket. The rooms are all appointed differently, with some in need of a spruce up but are spacious and bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennie G
Spindriftonthebeach, Manager at Spindrift On The Beach, responded to this review

Hi Jennie Thank you for taking the time to post your review, really glad you had a great stay. Hope to see you back again regards Darren

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Brilliant! My fav place to stay on the Gold Coast. Location is sensational right on the beach and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. I adore the pool area that allows you to sit on the grassed area and look out over the ocean if you don't feel like getting sandy! Rooms are spacious, clean and modern, with great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Blosskom1977
Spindriftonthebeach, Manager at Spindrift On The Beach, responded to this review

Awesome, appreciate you taking the time to post your review and is really rewarding to hear you had a great stay...apart from the initial mix up anddo sincerely apologies for. Our reception hours haven't changed whilst we have always had an after hours service provide code to the late arrivals safe for guests checking in after reception hours. Take care...

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
3.1 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
3.2 km away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,600 reviews
0.3 km away
Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
1,072 reviews
5.9 km away
Q1 Resort and Spa
Q1 Resort and Spa
#5 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,436 reviews
3.0 km away
Wyuna Beachfront Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spindrift On The Beach…..any closer and you’re in the water! Absolute Beachfront! No roads to cross! No noisy traffic! Sit on your balcony and watch the whales go by! (June to November). Soak in the pool or spa and gaze out to sea. designated bike and walking track past door from Burleigh Heads to Surfers Paradise and Miles of Surf,Sand,Sun and Fun. Beachfront heated pool, Beachfront BBQ area and Safe Parolled beach directly out the front. Next to Nobby's Beach Surf Life Saving Club with restaurant & Bar (Guest receive free membership)Wlk to Nobby's Beach shopping Village with Cafes, Restaurants, Shops and public transport. Free Tour Desk Service. 2km to Major Shopping Centre of and Broadbeach Convention Centre. 30 minutes to theme parks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Spindrift On The Beach

Address: 37 Albatross Ave, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Price Range: $124 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spindrift On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift On The Beach Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Spindrift On The Beach staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Melbourne, Australia
Drouin, Australia
over a year ago
Chicago, Illinois
over a year ago
South Australia

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Spindrift On The Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean Front, Request Higher Levels with Air Conditioning and an Updated Unit:”
Taffy050, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Apartment 22 is needs maintenance.”
OwenKA, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for an ocean view room for best views”
Blosskom1977, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ocean front, pool and spa, quiet, romantic, safe, view, beach, BBQ, safe carpark, balcony”
Helenkka, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Excellent location and great value”
simono194, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$222* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$258
Hotels.comUS$233
TripAdvisorUS$222
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates