We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Horizons Motel

Save
Share
Van Dieman Motel 2267 Gold Coast Hwy, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218 Australia
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
StayForLong
Destinia.com
Agoda.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (12)

About

#4 of 9 hotels in Mermaid Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Small boutique style Motel, suitable for anyone looking for Reserved off-street parking and easy access to our ground level rooms. You will be 5 minutes walk to the pristine Nobbys Beach & Shopping Village with plenty of Restaurants & Coffee Shops. North & Southbound public buses are within a couple minutes walk of the Motel. Mention you saw this review to Manager Kim and I will provide a special room rate to you.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast in the room
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Ironing service
Wifi
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Car hire
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
51Reviews4Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 25
  • 21
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Annamarie D wrote a review Oct 2019
Bundaberg, Australia819 contributions281 helpful votes
+1
I originally walked in and was really thrilled with the scent. It was really pleasant. The lady at reception was very helpful with parking and shopping as well as where to go for meals etc so I was really looking forward to my stay. I had brought my four legged companion and this was great as a dog friendly room. There was also a swimming pool there but I was not interested in that. A quick look in the room and found the coffee and milk etc so I was happy enough. I went out, got my dinner and then went back to the room. I ate my dinner and then decided to have a shower and have a good night sleep before another big day driving the next day. And that's where the wheels fell off the bus. No soap. No shampoo. No conditioner. Odd. And because I knew I was staying in motels for a few weeks I did not bother to pack any for the trip. So I had a shower and wished away the road grime. And the same thing again in the morning. As I left the motel, a gent at the helm asked "I hope you've enjoyed your stay" and whilst I was going to stay mum I thought it best he know so I said it would have been preferable with soap. He blamed 'housekeeping' must've overlooked it. I'm sorry, you don't overlook that stuff! He did offer me "a free soap if you want". Bit late to shut the gate. Also, the bed was was lovely but the chairs were a horrible baby poo green colour and very stained so I was reluctant to sit on them.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: All rooms ground floor.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim H, Manager at Horizons Motel
Responded 16 Oct 2019
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review the Horizons Motel. It was I you spoke to at reception when you checked-out, and I can only apologize again for the missing soap and shampoo. I you had called me when you noticed the missing items (our number is clearly displayed on the "Welcome" sheets in your room) I would have immediately given you the soap and shampoo. Your comments about the chairs have been noted for action.
Read more
shopaholickk wrote a review Nov 2018
world423 contributions64 helpful votes
A small cosy place, we stayed a night while we were in the area. Our room was very cosy and very clean with all the basic amenities you'll need for a short stay. The lady at the reception was very friendly and sweet. The only issue we had was when we tried to use the toaster in the morning, it short-circuited the tv and surroundings. The walls are quite thin so we can hear talking whenever it happens outside our room, but we're heavy sleepers so it didn't bother us. Also, we would've appreciated a floor mat/towel and stronger wifi :) All in all we would stay again if it were a quick stop.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Lien I wrote a review Aug 2018
Nambucca Heads, Australia246 contributions47 helpful votes
Our stay at Horizons was good. The lady in the office was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. Plenty of restaurants nearby and only a short walk to the beach. A perfect place for your Gold Coast getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Andrew M wrote a review Jul 2018
Byron Bay, Australia23 contributions7 helpful votes
Nice, clean and comfortable, staff were great Only issue was very little sound proofing to the outside, not a huge problem but keep it in mind if you're after somewhere quite. Close to great restaurants and shops.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Dean A. C wrote a review Apr 2018
Brisbane, Australia26 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed,ast night for the commonwealth games, the manager is wonderful, lovely lady. Excellent service on check in, close to mermaid beach and Nobby beach cafes and bus to Broadbeach. We will be back in a months time for a week.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$59 - US$87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandGold CoastMermaid Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Horizons Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Horizons Motel?
Nearby attractions include Miami Marketta (0.8 km), The Spit (1.2 km), and Doodlebugs (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Horizons Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Horizons Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Horizons Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Horizons Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Etsu Izakaya, Goccia Italian Pizzeria, and Foster's Bakery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Horizons Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Horizons Motel have airport transportation?
Yes, Horizons Motel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Horizons Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.