We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ditholo Game Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ditholo Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 55: English reviews
Start your review of Ditholo Game Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 13 February 2017

My husband and I initially fist visited Ditholo in December 2011 and we had an amazing time, the cleanliness the service the entire experience was just perfect. We decided go go down memory lane by visiting Ditholo a second time & unfortunately this experience was a huge let down. The issues all really began when we were unable to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mosidi M
Hote1Management, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mosidi , Thank you very much for your feedback , no words can begin to convey my apologies for all that went wrong during your recent visit to our hotel. We will address each of the mentioned incidents with senior management and take action accordingly. Customer satisfaction is so important to us hence the need to rectify our wrongs....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Very friendly staff and what a beautiful and relaxing setting. Unfortunately though the food was nothing to write home about, in fact the dinner was very disappointing as well the meagre wine list, I would expect much more from a 4 star resort. The rooms don't have wifi like advertised, you need to be standing close to the conference room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thandi V
Hote1Management, marketing at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Thandi Thank you for taking the time to review Ditholo Game Lodge. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our services and customer experiences daily. We are working hand in hand with the staff, management and maintenance to make the improvements where possible. We are happy that you had an overall good experience and we do...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We spent the New Years weekend at Ditholo Game Lodge outside Bela-Bela for the express purpose of peace and tranquillity. In that aspect we were in no way disappointed. The setting is beautiful and the atmosphere fantastic. A rich green oasis in thorny bushveld, although even the bushveld is green after the good rains. We were greeted by Lebogang who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TonyBosman
Hote1Management, marketing at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tony Bosman Thank you for the review written of Ditholo Game Lodge. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our services and customer experiences daily. We are pleased to hear that you had an overall good experience. The concerns raised are being taken up with management and senior management and they are working hand in hand...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We had a disappointing stay here . We're weren't impressed with the room in that it lacked some of the basics which tended to give an underwhelming impression. Small examples; empty tissue box, leaking toilet. The dinner ( a buffet) was very average and certainly nothing to write home about. We arrived in rain ; and the access road (...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jnw57
Hote1Management, marketing at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Ditholo Game Lodge. We appreciate all your comments as it is a good guideline for our staff and management on the improvements that need to be made. We apologize for the general experience that you had and we are currently working on making sure that this does not happen to...

Reviewed 18 November 2016

A beautiful place with friendly staff that go out of their way to make you feel at home and comfortable. You are greeted with a cool wet towel to cool you down and a welcome drink. You are then given a tour of the grounds. Jacky checks up on you regularly to make sure all is well and takes the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tamlyn d
Hote1Management, Front Office Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tamlyn, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Ditholo Game Lodge. We are very pleased that you had a peaceful stay and appreciate your kind words! Excellence in customer service is of paramount importance. Your comments will definitely be reviewed by the Line Manager concerned. We are looking into the gravel road,...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 November 2016

From the time we arrived, Eluan was present to greet us in a warm and welcoming manner. During the course of our stay, he was incredibly helpful, especially with regard to issues of concern we raised, and attended promptly to all matters. Throughout our stay we observed how pro-active he was and the manner in which he paid attention to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaneybux
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the wonderful review of Ditholo Game Lodge! We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay at our lodge! Valuable feedback like yours helps us to know that we are delivering the standard we aim towards. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your valued support. We look forward to...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Although you have to travel 12km of gravel road, which is in quite bad condition, the trip is worth the warm welcome you receive and personal tour around the beautiful facilities. We stayed in a deluxe room that was nicely decorated and luxurious. One of the top characteristics, which made our stay so wonderful at Ditholo game lodge, is the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ItsBrigitte
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the wonderful review of Ditholo Game Lodge! We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay at our lodge! Valuable feedback like yours helps us to know that we are delivering the standard we aim towards. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your valued support. We look forward to...

Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Ditholo Game Lodge is a very pleasant place to spend a few days relaxing and doing a little game viewing. It is rather remotely located on the road from Bela Bela to Thabazimbi, but worth the effort to get there. Accommodation is very pleasant and food and service is of a high standard. Highly Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peternitroexpress
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate all the lovely comments and we are most glad that you had a relaxing time with us. We look forward to your next visit in the very near future Warm Regards Staff and Management Ditholo Lodge

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

This past weekend I had the pleasure of being invited to Dithole Game Reserve for a site inspection. I was a little disappointed with the gravel road we traveled it takes to get to the venue (8km of gravel from the main road) however I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The place is small & has a stuff of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lungile Y
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinatior at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lungile, Thank you for your detailed review of the Ditholo Game Lodge. Your feedback is most valuable to us. We would like to thank you for the kind words and compliments and definitely appreciate your lovely sentiments. We value your support and do hope that you will visit the hotel in the very near future. Warm Regards Staff and...

Herselt, Belgium
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

We only visited for lunch to see the hippo's who are at the lake in this lodge. It was a beautifull place. Pretty accomodation and very friendly service. They seated our table outside near the hippo's so that we had a nice ciew. That was a very friendly gesture! Worth visiting!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shanaroomers
Hote1Management, marketing coordinator at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the wonderful review of Ditholo Game Lodge! We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay at our lodge! Our hippos are very a huge part of our family and we are so happy that you enjoyed their company. Please do come visit us (and the hippos) again soon and hopefully work in a stay...

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bela Bela hotels
43.3 km away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 48 in Bela Bela
100 reviews
0.0 km away
Thaba Pitsi Private Nature Reserve
50.5 km away
Linga-Longa
Linga-Longa
#17 of 48 in Bela Bela
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Zebula Lodge
39.3 km away
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
40.5 km away
Summerset Place Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Limpopo set against the beautiful backdrop of the Waterberg Mountains lies a natural oasis nestled on an 1100 Ha private game reserve. The stunning Dithõlõ Game Lodge & Wildlife Estate is the perfect bush getaway. Enjoy warm personalized hospitality, savour culinary temptations from the Lodge’s Chef, sip sundowners on the unique cocktail deck, and watch the wildlife around the waterways. Dithõlõ means “the place of many Kudu” and is home to a large variety of African wildlife as well as being a bird watchers paradise. Not only does Dithõlõ care for the wellbeing of its guests, it also cares for the wellbeing of its wildlife and runs nature conservation breeding programs for Hippo, Buffalo, Sable and Nyala. Guests can expect an authentic African bush experience, excellent service, elegantly decorated rooms and a tranquil ambience. Dithõlõ - the perfect retreat from the stresses of city life. Each room is en suite with shower facility only, mini bar, T.V, ceiling fan, air con, mini safe and tea & coffee making facilities. Family rooms may be requested which include kitchen and TV lounge.Meals (breakfast and dinner)are included in the rate as well as a 90 minute game drive. Kids are welcome, jungle gym and solar heated pool will entertain them all day whilst you relax on the loungers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ditholo Game Lodge

Address: Kromdraai Road, Klippoortjie, Bela Bela 0147, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Bela Bela
Price Range: $130 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ditholo Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ditholo Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ditholo Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are comfortable, private and peaceful”
shaneybux, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All well located.”
Peternitroexpress, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 16 was great, nice and quiet and even saw some buck by our front door.”
Cheronne136, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The deluxe room was great with a capacious bed. the family room is recommended for families”
yuveng2016, 5 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Loose standing rondawels. Will be nice if your room have a window to the Hippopool.”
MACHUBODIE, 16 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5