We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Derbyshire Derby

Expedia.comUS$73*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,494 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Derbyshire Derby
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,489: English reviews
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016

We came here for a two day break. The thing that stood out most was the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. They have obviously been very well trained - reception staff (Gemma was brilliant), waiters, waitresses, room-maids and cleaners were all helpful and always with a smile. Bedroom was fine, except for the bed being too soft for our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendyanddavid536
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Wendyanddavid536 Thank you for your stay with us at The Derbyshire Hotel. I will personally ensure the comments are pass to Gemma on reception and the rest of the hotel team. We do take all feedback very seriously and I can assure you that wherever possible improvements will be made. Your feedback regarding our Tempus restaurant I will be...

stoke on trent
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location just off the M1 and close to Derby & Sheffield. The hotel dos not have al lift . But there is only one flight of stairs up and one flight down to the pool and gym It has a small pool and gym but is very well set out including sauna & steam...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phil p
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear phil p Thank you so much for sharing your weekend with us, It is great to read your kind review regarding the hotel and facilities. I am so pleased you enjoyed your dinner and breakfast with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us for future stays and I hope myself and the team can welcome you back again...

Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Stopped here with 18 others for 3 days with work and it is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The hotel is very dated and is full of problems, from cosmetic to service. The rooms are small and very dark, windows was very mouldy and the bed was the most lumpiest bed I have experienced at a hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob H
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Rob H I am sincerely sorry your expectation was not to your satisfaction during your stay. As you can read from our review site we receive so many positive comments regarding the hotel, service and food so I am disappointed to read your comments. I am sorry you did not also contact the management team during your stay in-order...

Romsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We stayed for two nights on a Travelzoo deal. It was brilliant value for money - the hotel was clean, comfortable - staff were friendly and efficient - the food and wine was well prepared and tasty. Even had good wifi - Nothing at all to find fault with. Will certainly use hotel again while in the area. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyn P
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Lyn P Thank you so much for taking the time to stay with us and also writing your review of your weekend stay. I am so pleased you had a excellent stay and you had a very enjoyable stay. I will ensure your comments are passed to my Food and Beverage Manager Jamie and Nathan the Head Chef, they...

Egham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Stayed for 1 night. Hotel and room lovely. Reception staff lovely. Had dinner in the bar. Food was lovely. However, the bar and restaurant staff are incredibly lacklustre. My husband had to clear our table in the bar, despite there being 3 bar staff on duty. They were otherwise occupied standing around talking. Exact same experience in the restaurant for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martina_q62
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear martina_q62 Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your stay, your comments regarding the reception staff, hotel and room. We really do appreciate all feedback so we can make improvements and I will ensure your feedback regarding the bar and restaurant staff is discussed with the operations and food and beverage manager to address the observations you made. I...

Hamilton, Bermuda
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

Average hotel, however the room was clean. Room was a little warm and all we could do was open the window 6inches and turn on rotating fan on the desk. Guess i was expecting AC. The staff were great and the breakfast was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nattysimps
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Nattysimps Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We do really appreciate your comments regarding the team and breakfast and i will ensure this is shared amongst my team. I am sorry you were warm in your room, we do take as many measure to keep the warms cool in the absence of air...

Ipswich
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Stayed for 2 nights, booked 2 rooms, one double, one twin. Hotel was easy to find and 2 minutes down the road from a designer retail village. Having read reviews that the food was average, we booked a table elsewhere for dinner. The room was a good size, bed comfy, choice of pillows, but the feather one smelt musty which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VintageSuitcase16
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2016

We were with a coach party, chaos checking in, given a menu to complete before reaching our rooms! The room was rather crowded with furniture but had everything we needed, lovely shower etc. The food wasn't great, not enough vegetables, but did improve after a few complaints. Try to avoid conference and coach parties as it's very noisy in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyce T
Herefordshire
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed on a Travelzoo deal and the value for money was good. It included food and wine. The food, wine and the restaurant and bar staff were brilliant. However, a lot of the hotel is looking a bit tired and could do with a bit of tlc. The spa area would benefit from a good clean, some gentle lighting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missmouster
annan
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Arrived late Wednesday evening for Thursday wedding, given room 161, lower ground floor, room dingy, carpets threadbare, holes in net curtains and quilt cover. Then found air con has been decommissioned 'in our effort to go green' it says on the wall. Then you find no central ceiling light but 5 table/ standard lamps, ( how is that greener than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cumbriatraveller51

309 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (186)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (115)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Double Room (17)
Viewed
Superior Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)
Viewed
Twin Room (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
576 reviews
17.7 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,332 reviews
15.9 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
720 reviews
8.8 km away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
1,152 reviews
17.7 km away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Price Range: $108 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Derbyshire Derby staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from The Derbyshire Derby staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Being in room next to m1 was very quite.”
bdgibson665, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seem to be similar. Quiet location”
Chrissieann, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms are good.”
643jackr, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“If you are taking dinner, reserve your table at a time to suit well in advance or be prepared to be disappointed.”
David95, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade room if possible for a small fee.”
HMargaret1960, 14 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$73* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$73
Orbitz.comUS$73
Hotwire.comUS$73
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates