We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sorell Hotel Sonnental

Zuerichstrasse 94, Dubendorf 8600 Switzerland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View deal
View deal
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (96)
Room & Suite (46)
Pool & Beach (5)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 19/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sorell Hotel Sonnental
Updated 19/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#1 of 2 hotels in Dubendorf
Located in the business area of Hochbord and in vicinity to all major companies, Sorell Hotel Sonnental is the place to stay! Our 101 bedrooms are welcoming domestic and international guests for over 60 years! Another unique benefit is our 300 sqm wellness area, offering 4 different types of sauna, one steaming room and a relaxing zone. Furthermore you do not have to worry about your car - we are offering as much as 100 outdoor parking spaces (not guarded). Going green and travelling with public transportation? No problem at all. We are only 10 minutes away from the international Airport or 20 minutes by public transport (tramway nbr. 12). Would you like to spend a night out in Zurich? The S-Bahnhof train station Stettbach is only 7 minutes in Walking distance (or public bus stop right in front of our hotel) where you have every 10 minutes a train to downtown Zurich (S-Bahnhof train station Stadelhofen). We are all Looking Forward welcoming you any time soon
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, German
274Reviews0Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 61
  • 131
  • 63
  • 15
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
vitopod wrote a review Jun 2021
Morges, Switzerland103 contributions70 helpful votes
Given the very good reviews, i was expecting a little more from this hotel. There is nothing particularly bad, the hotel is clean and not noisy, but i found some inconveniences. For example, the concierge service stops quite early, and at 19.15, there was nobody to talk to. My key wasn't there. The lady who was supposed to replace the concierge looked like to have no experience and it took a while to fix my situation. Secondly, there were no electric plugs next to my bed. That's weird in 2021.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Antonio G wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
We stayed only for 1 night but the experience was very pleasant. The check in process was smooth as it should always be. The front desk clerk was welcoming and knowledgeable. What really stood out to us was the breakfast and how great it was. I would definitely be staying here again on a future visit.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Sleep Quality
Response from Michael S, Manager at Sorell Hotel Sonnental
Responded 2 Feb 2020
Dear Mr. antoniogX6971PY Thank you very much for your encouraging review and for having taken the time to share your positive experience with us. We are very pleased to hear that you felt at home during your stay with us at the Sorell Hotel Sonnental and that the kindness of the Front Desk Clerk stood out. Thanks to our employees, we manage to surprise and delight our guests every day - that is our passion. Best regards, Michael Schibler, General Manager
Read more
Adventurer wrote a review Dec 2019
8 contributions7 helpful votes
This hotel hosted my first visit to Zürich. The location is far from Downtown but can be reached directly via Tram 4. Also there are two big shopping malls near this hotel again using that Tram in 3 stops. The service and food quality at this hotel was good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Response from Michael S, Manager at Sorell Hotel Sonnental
Responded 30 Dec 2019
Dear GreatWorld Adventurer Whilst I am happy to read your comments I am not sure if you were styaying at the Sorell Hotel Sonnental in Dübendorf, greater Zurich Area. Nevertheless we appreciate your positive comments and hope to see you any time soon in one of our 18 Sorell Hotels Switzerland. Best regards, Michael Schibler, General Manager
Read more
Thijs vd N. wrote a review Dec 2019
Eindhoven, The Netherlands13 contributions1 helpful vote
The staff was very kind and willing to help with whatever question I've had. The wellness area was a great experience, more then enough choices and very spacious. The breakfast had also had enough choices and especially the local cheeses are amazing. That the hotel believes in Rituals was a very nice touch, it's not always that you get this high quality soaps in a hotel. Room for improvement; The room was very hot, opening a Windows didn't do much good since a waterfall in the backyard was very loud, so the options were a hot room or a noisy one. The mattress was quite hard and the fact that I had to purchase a somewhat comfortable pillow turned me off. The bathroom had several black spots indicating some sort of mould, not much but it could definitely be cleaned better.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Response from Michael S, Manager at Sorell Hotel Sonnental
Responded 16 Dec 2019
Dear Mr. ThijsvdN. Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience of your stay with us at Sorell Hotel Sonnental on booking and TripAdvisor. I regret very much that we were unable to match your expectations during your recent stay with us. Your review will help us indentifying room for further improvement on our part. Despite that each and every room can be controlled by our guest for their heating preferences individually you felt too hot in your room. Also, since we offer a pillow menu for every guest we do not understand why you would have had to purchase a pillow. Kindly note for all points mentioned including the cleanliness of the room our Front Office team is more than happy to assist you between 6 am until 11 pm every day to make your stay more comfortable. Best regards Michael Schibler, General Manager
Read more
Swissmama2014 wrote a review Oct 2019
Interlaken, Switzerland30 contributions10 helpful votes
This hotel wasn’t as plush as the Sorell near the Zurich zoo but was perfectly fine. We stayed in the extension. The walls/doors were on the thin side but nobody seems to have complained about our children. The restaurant was good. I wish I could have tried the wellness area.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Michael S, Manager at Sorell Hotel Sonnental
Responded 15 Nov 2019
Dear Swissmama2014 Thank you very much for taking the time sharing with us your opinion about your recent stay. Best regards, Michael Schibler, General Manager
Read more
US$136 - US$209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
sonnental hotel dubendorf
City and Wellness Swiss Hotel Sonnental
SwitzerlandCanton of ZurichDubendorf
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sorell Hotel Sonnental
Which popular attractions are close to Sorell Hotel Sonnental?
Nearby attractions include Hidden Games - Escape Room Zürich (1.2 km), my senses The Bar (1.2 km), and PrestigeBowling Dubendorf Zürich (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sorell Hotel Sonnental?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Sorell Hotel Sonnental?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sorell Hotel Sonnental?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sorell Hotel Sonnental?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kangin, Calapu Ristorante-Bruschetteria, and Bottega Dei Sapori Miglio.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sorell Hotel Sonnental?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sorell Hotel Sonnental?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sorell Hotel Sonnental?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sorell Hotel Sonnental offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sorell Hotel Sonnental?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Sorell Hotel Sonnental?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Liebfrauenkirche (4.8 km), Platzspitz (5.1 km), and Zunfthaus zur Meisen (5.5 km).