We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Adalbert-Stifter-Kai 3, Bad Ischl 4820 Austria
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Package deal
Official Site
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (47)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 14/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 14/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#3 of 9 hotels in Bad Ischl
Picturesquely nestled between the slopes of Bad Ischl's local mountain Katrin and the glittering course of the Traun river, a very special place has been situated here since 1821, perfectly combining city flair with the enjoyment of nature: the Stadthotel Goldenes Schiff. The view from your room or terrace sweeps from the local mountain Katrin over the historic Lehar Villa to the breathtaking Alpine panorama in the distance. Closer by are the famous sights of Bad Ischl's old town – incidentally, European Capital of Culture 2024 – or the soothing EurothermenResort. They can be found practically on the doorstep and are just waiting to be discovered. Always provided that you want to tear yourself away from your cosy room with views of the Traun, the many delicacies on our excellent menu or the hotel's own spa. Active or relaxed. Sporty or cosy. Historical or cutting-edge. Ultimately, it is probably the combination of all this – the casual atmosphere and the very special Bad Ischl vibe – that makes the Stadthotel Goldenes Schiff the ideal place for the most beautiful days of the year. Because: the best times are golden.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Steam room
Baggage storage
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, German
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal
155Reviews3Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 65
  • 54
  • 25
  • 7
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
rwein wrote a review Oct 2021
Berlin, Germany17 contributions12 helpful votes
Stayed in the Hotel for 2 nights in 3 rooms. We were placed on a 3rd floor in an unfinished unsafe construction section of the hotel .The rooms were reachable through elevator ,emergency stairs, with unsafe temporary wooden hand rails , and exposed electricity unfinished tubing cables . In the nice modern rooms were neither operating telephone facilities nor Wi-Fi connection. Also no Tea or coffee preparing possibility. An old radio/alarm clock at the bed was not working at all. Asking for pressing Iron was impossible since telephones were dead . Trying to complain at the front desk , the polite receptionist , claimed that they were aware of the things we complained about , and that she could not do anything about it. There was no manager available to handle our complaints, for the whole weekend. The front desk agent claimed she contacted the manager with our complaints, but with no answer Quite a Disappointment from such a well-established hotel
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Response from Edwin Gruber, Inhaber at Hotel Goldenes Schiff
Responded 7 Oct 2021
Dear Sir! Thank you for your review. Please give me the chance to tell you our point of view: We did huge renovations this year for example a new additional elevator which you have used. It is correct that the way between the elevator to the floor is not finished yet and secured by a wooden construction. Nevertheless you could have used the other elevator which had leaded you to your rooms with any areas under construction. Your rooms had an excellent Wifi but no telephone service. Alternatively you can use the tablets in your room to talk with the reception. None of your rooms offer tee or coffee in the room, this is our policy. We also do not promote this service. You got the iron at the reception which you should have picked up in any case there. The radio on the room is certainly working, as we have checked it. We are sorry that you were disappointed but we had the impression that you were searching reasons to get a discount. As you told us that you had stayed in a hotel at Salzburg which was cheaper than ours. We have mude huge renovations in the hotel and I think that you have seen them. Sorry for some little things which do not decide about a good hotel or not.
Read more
Martin Rummel wrote a review Aug 2021
Vienna, Austria247 contributions100 helpful votes
Our room (423) was the classic example of "Style Over Function": The open bathroom concept (no door except for the toilet and the shower) in our room meant that if you need the sink or the toilet, - the light switch is nowhere near - there is nowhere to put the towel near the shower (you leave the shower and stand in your hotel room naked, as there is no "bathroom") - the toilet fan wakes the other person up during the night as it is linked to light in shower and (!) the toilet - the sink is only lit with full light of the room, and in plain sight Besides these dysfunctionalities (and possibly others), they keep running out of bread at breakfast and haven't sorted out the coffee situation. Expect long queues for both, and also an overly full breakfast area that is not designed for a full hotel. And yes, it is one of those places where guests have to make way for waiters when moving around. There is no hotel bar, which means that at 9.30pm on a Friday, you come into a dead location. We were also promised "Flussblick", which did not really happen except from a tiny corner window. Yes, it looks nice on the internet, and it would possibly be nice if it wasn't fully booked. When it is, it isn't - for the price I paid, I would certainly expect higher standards.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Edwin Gruber, Owner at Hotel Goldenes Schiff
Responded 30 Aug 2021
Dear Martin Rummel! Thank you for your detailed feedback, on which we would like to comment: First of all, we would like to state that you decided on this room yourself on site. We have decided on a new concept for the new rooms (new building 2020) with an open bathroom that is not spatially separated from the room. Of course, the toilet and shower are separate and have a door in order to preserve the necessary privacy. In the shower cubicle there is actually no possibility to hang a bath towel, we will still optimize that, but there are hooks for bath towels and bathrobes just outside the shower cubicle. There is a separate switch for the shower and toilet area, which you may not have noticed as it is located next to the sink. Since the toilet and shower are on the inside, an exhaust air system is required, which also makes a fan noise when it is in operation. Unfortunately, this cannot be changed physically. But we have also thought of the night and there is a night light controlled by a motion detector when a guest gets out of bed. If this is not enough for you, you can still turn on the reading light on the side of the bed without illuminating the whole room. We are sorry if you did this and disturbed your partner during the night. In summary, you don't have to turn on the light in the toilet with the fan. Breakfast buffet: We strive to work as sustainably as possible and that includes wasting as little food as possible. That is why we bake the bread and pastries delivered by the local bakery ourselves on site, where we can respond to the needs of our guests in a few minutes. You were our guest at a time when the hotel was more or less fully booked. It won't be very quiet in any other hotel, we ask for your understanding, even if there were too short waiting times with our 3 different coffee machines. Due to Corona, we have tried to straighten our buffet offer and there are many other options to put together your breakfast at free stations. The hotel bar is actually still missing, it will be there from spring 2022, you're right. However, drinks are available in the hotel lobby until 11 p.m.
Read more
now__voyager_melb wrote a review Oct 2019
Melbourne, Australia122 contributions96 helpful votes
We checked in after a daytrip from Hallstatt. The sauna and comfy bed was most welcome and the onsite restaurant was tasty with nice service. The desk staff were very helpful sorting out a minor luggage problem. It's convenient to the train station and little town. Enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Response from edwingruber, Inhaber at Hotel Goldenes Schiff
Responded 22 Jun 2020
Hello, many thank to you and your review. We deeply like it and we hope that we will meet again at our hotel sometimes! Yours sincerely, Edwin Gruber, hotel owner
Read more
Asiamimigrace wrote a review Oct 2019
Toronto, Canada109 contributions56 helpful votes
This hotel is well situated, on the river and close to the main squares. The rooms were clean and well presented, but my view overlooked a deserted lane at the side of the hotel. The restaurant offered an Austrian buffet dinner which was tasty and plentiful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I think that you have to upgrade your room to get a half decent view. My room overlooked a...
See more room tips
Response from edwingruber, Inhaber at Hotel Goldenes Schiff
Responded 10 Oct 2019
Dear Guest, thank you for your time that you spent in your review. We are happy about this and that other guests can get this information about our hotel! Thank you for your stay. With kind regards, Edwin Gruber
Read more
World Passport wrote a review Sep 2019
Los Angeles, California682 contributions256 helpful votes
I've looked for a hotel room in Bad Ischl with air conditioning and finally found this hotel. Not every room has air conditioning, only some deluxe room. Thank God I requested a room with one because it was a really hot summer. The air conditioning unit was quiet. The room is very spacious and it was facing the river. Very nice view of the river and the mountain. Breakfast is included in the room rate. Small refrigerator. No coffee or tea maker in the room. We also reserved and paid extra for parking. Glad we did because Bad Ischl is a pretty busy town with lots of cars and small (narrow) streets. This hotel is centrally located. Very close to shops and restaurants. Breakfast was good. We were here for 4 nights. We also had half board. Dinner was good too but the restaurant could get really stuffy because one night it was quite full and since it was really hot during the day (in the high 80s) so it's not comfortable. They should install air conditioning in the restaurant. Overall it's a really nice hotel and everyone was so friendly. Would go back if we decide to visit the area again. Very charming place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Room Tip: Get a room with air conditioning if you plan to come in summer time.
See more room tips
Response from edwingruber, Inhaber at Hotel Goldenes Schiff
Responded 10 Oct 2019
Dear Guest, thank you for your review in detail! We appreciate that we could meet your expectations. We hope that you will visit Bad Ischl and our hotel again! Kind regards, Edwin Gruber
Read more
US$141 - US$208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
AustriaUpper AustriaBad Ischl
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Goldenes Schiff
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Goldenes Schiff?
Nearby attractions include Kurpark (0.3 km), Leharfestival Bad Ischl (0.3 km), and Parkbad Bad Ischl (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Goldenes Schiff?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Goldenes Schiff?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Goldenes Schiff?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Goldenes Schiff?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Goldenes Schiff?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Weinhaus Attwenger, Konditorei Zauner, and Cafe-Restaurant Zauner.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Goldenes Schiff?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Hotel Goldenes Schiff located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Bad Ischl.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Goldenes Schiff?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Goldenes Schiff?
Many travellers enjoy visiting SISSIKUSS® Bad Ischl (0.3 km), Altes Post- und Telegraphenamt (0.2 km), and Lehar Denkmal (0.3 km).
Does Hotel Goldenes Schiff have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.