We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Clarence Hotel

200 reviews
Save
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (10)
Pool & Beach (7)
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good31%
  • Average17%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible18%
Travellers talk about
“courtyard bar”(4 reviews)
“sea view”(12 reviews)
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
2.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (200)Write a Review
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
46
61
32
21
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
46
61
32
21
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard barcafe round the cornersea viewbank holiday breaktea and coffeemaking facilitiesbooked a double roombuilding worklovely clean roomopposite the beachnight stayan enjoyable staylovely weekendgreat showerroom keythis lovely hotelstayed one night
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 196 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Me and my partner were very upset about this hotel that is more like a hostel really... The two rooms we stayed in were not clean at all and there was human waste in the second room's toilet. Also when we arrived just after 9pm...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Response from PAUL_the_nice_owner, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Clarence HotelResponded today

Hello Mark. You booked an economy twin room for 2 nights and you say your stay was "absolutely terrible" - yet you booked another night with us. Doesn't that seem a strange thing to do? You claim that your room was dirty, yet you didn't...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Good hotel for the price. Nice twin room. A little chilly as we stayed in early February and the weather was really cold. Room has a radiator in and so did the bathroom but the one in the bathroom didn't work. We told the lady...More

Thank CazBracknell
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Just returned home after a very pleasant nights stay here, check in quick and simple, clear info about the hotel - directions to your room etc. Recommended a couple of bars for us to go to. Very clean room, comfortable bed, what more can you...More

Thank Angied200664
Response from PAUL_the_nice_owner, Owner at The Royal Clarence HotelResponded 5 January 2018

Thank You

Reviewed 28 December 2017

We were booked into a hotel in Weston-super -mare for Christmas, but decided to go a day early, so needed a hotel over night. The Clarence was ideal. Reasonable rates if you book with the hotel direct. The room was very clean. good linen on...More

Thank mary s
Response from PAUL_the_nice_owner, Owner at The Royal Clarence HotelResponded 5 January 2018

Thank You

Reviewed 7 December 2017

A lovely weekend away even though it was very windy. Room was clean and roomy with a lovely seafront view. A large spacious bathroom with a powerful shower. Went to local theatre to watch Cats by the youth theatre a fantastic performance will be watching...More

Thank Dawn T
Response from PAUL_the_nice_owner, Owner at The Royal Clarence HotelResponded 14 December 2017

Hello Dawn. Thank you for your review. We have a great small theatre in the Town which is very close to the Hotel. Others people have said how much they enjoyed Cats too. We look forward to welcoming you back. Paul

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345640
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$43 - US$146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$43 - US$146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (10)
Pool & Beach (7)
Dining (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
UKJohnRichard
24 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BrizzleLoz | Reviewed this property |
There is room for about 5 cars at the front of the hotel but there is plenty of parking available along the sea front
2
Votes
Carol263
14 May 2015|
Answer
Response from Ingrid S | Reviewed this property |
Well I don't think there are enough spaces on their forecourt for all if full & I tend to think 30th May is in season, so no free parking on Road/seafront, not sure if they have any agreements with places to allow their... More
1
Vote
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"Room 23 - good sea view"
Read review
"Try Premier Inn"
Read review
"book another room in another hotel!"
Read review
"Be careful"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing