We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Gecko Lounge

    | Chembe Villgae, Cape Maclear, Lake Malawi National Park, Malawi
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    11/06/2017 12/06/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (78)
          Pool & Beach (13)
          Room & Suite (10)
          Thumbi View Lodge
          135 reviews
          #1 of 19 Speciality lodging in Cape Maclear
           
          Mgoza Lodge
          125 reviews
          #3 of 19 Speciality lodging in Cape Maclear
           
          The Funky Cichlid
          77 reviews
          #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Maclear
           
          Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
          64 reviews
          #2 of 3 hotels in Mangochi
           
          Overview
          • Excellent33%
          • Very good43%
          • Average14%
          • Poor6%
          • Terrible2%
          Travellers talk about
          “pizza” (28 reviews)
          “great food” (6 reviews)
          Free Wifi
          Free Parking
          Beachfront
          Non-Smoking Rooms
          Restaurant
          Room Service
          Suites
          Bar/Lounge
          Kitchenette
          Wheelchair Access
          All hotel details
          {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
          Thumbi View Lodge
          135 reviews
          #1 of 19 Speciality lodging in Cape Maclear
           
          Mgoza Lodge
          125 reviews
          #3 of 19 Speciality lodging in Cape Maclear
           
          The Funky Cichlid
          77 reviews
          #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Maclear
           
          Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
          64 reviews
          #2 of 3 hotels in Mangochi
           
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language
          Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

          The food here was tasty, we only had the choice of fish because it was a black out but it was very tasty so that was fine. As with all meals during a black out it takes a long time to cook but that's completely...More

          Helpful?
          Reviewed 5 July 2016

          Wonderful selection of pizzas. Other food is also available. We had heard in Blantyre about the pizza, so we ordered some. We were not disappointed! Everyone at the table enjoyed their food. Some of the party returned the following night for an encore!

          Helpful?
          Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

          For $100 USD we had a one-night stay in chalet 1. It was reasonably equipped with a 2 ring electric stove, kettle and fridge etc for self-catering, however the power was off 80% of the time we were there. The mosquito net had holes in...More

          Helpful?
          Response from Stephen W, General Manager at Gecko Lounge

          We are disappointed that our client was unhappy with her stay at Gecko Lounge and acknowledge that the small boys on the beach can cause disturbance at times. Our staff are always on hand to chase the offenders away and the guest's comfort and peace...More

          Reviewed 17 June 2016

          I spent one night in the hotel here and came here another night for dinner. The much heralded pizzas was a highlight. They are good, though a bit expensive, particularly compared with other places in Cape Maclear. If you're in town for a bit, though,...More

          Helpful?
          Response from Stephen W, General Manager at Gecko Lounge

          Gecko Lounge has a reputation for being a place to relax and enjoy peace and quiet. It does however have evening parties periodically but these are advertised well in advance and people booking for those nights are advised of this. Noise from the village is...More

          Reviewed 13 June 2016

          Came here a couple of times for the pizzas because they were so good. Also had some delicious garlic bread. The scene is beautiful, raised and looking out over the lake whilst having food and the staff were all very friendly.

          Helpful?
          Thumbi View Lodge
          135 reviews
          #1 of 19 Speciality lodging in Cape Maclear
           
          Mgoza Lodge
          125 reviews
          #3 of 19 Speciality lodging in Cape Maclear
           
          The Funky Cichlid
          77 reviews
          #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Maclear
           
          Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
          64 reviews
          #2 of 3 hotels in Mangochi
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Beachfront
          • Free Parking
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Room Service
          • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Room Service
          • Things to do
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$70 - US$94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Room types
          • Suites ,
          • Kitchenette ,
          • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
          • Family Rooms ,
          • Accessible rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 5
          • Reservation Options
          • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gecko Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
          • Location
          • Malawi >
          • Lake Malawi National Park >
          • Cape Maclear
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (78)
          Pool & Beach (13)
          Room & Suite (10)
          Dining (8)
          Hotel & Grounds (52)
          Nearby
          Nearby Attractions
          Kuti Wildlife Reserve
          43 reviews
          62.74 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          mutintasichali
          Looking for accommodation for 8 adults and eight children for 23rd dec to 28 dec
          16 December 2016|
          What is your answer?
          Posting guidelines
          Submit
          mutintasichali
          Looking for accommodation for 8 adults and eight children for 23rd dec to 28 dec
          16 December 2016|
          Answer
          Response from Stephen W | Property representative |
          I am sorry but we are fully booked at this time.
          0
          Votes
          lusich
          we would like to book 7 rooms for 10 adults and 8 children for 24 to 28 December are there rooms
          16 December 2016|
          Answer Show all 3 answers
          Response from Stephen W | Property representative |
          I am very sorry but we are fully booked at the time you have asked for. In fact 7 rooms is more than 50% of our room total!
          0
          Votes
          Room Tips
          "Ask for any local food to have a good experience."
          Read review
          "We have not stayed overnight so I can't comment on that"
          Read review
          "Go for a room/dorm further away from the bar as it'll be quieter"
          Read review
          "The two chalets are the same with basic self catering. These are the best options."
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing