We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 177: English reviews
Waitomo Caves, null, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 April 2015

Very lovely little cottage and friendly staff. Great location for a soak in the hot pool and all the conveniences available. Nice and quiet and great relaxation spot. Loved the nostalgic cottage and was happy that Anna told me not to use the jug and heater at the same time. The power points did not work but this didn't matter...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Piki K
AnnaTeAroha, Manager at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you, Piki for your review. Nice to read you enjoyed soaking in the hot pool. We fixed the fuse, all power points are functioning properly again. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Raglan, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Thank you for offering me the opportunity to provide feedback as I do have a few comments. 1.Camp ground was tidy and clean and apart from the road noise a good location/setting. 2.It would be useful if we had been told about the free wifi and given the password when checking in and not disscover it when reading the plethera...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartinB1965
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you, Martin B for your review. Your comments are helpful, a reminder that I should advertise the free WiFi a bit more. Extra crockery and cutlery can be obtained from reception, again I should probably put a notice up and remind guests of this, The TV and games room is locked but a key is available for entry at...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 April 2015

We stayed in a caravan here, which we enjoyed. We found the beds comfortable, and there was a heater and a fridge. The weather was cold but the caravan was warm and had good lighting for us to play games. The kitchen was clean and tidy, (and also had heaters), although as in many other places, you needed to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona337
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 April 2015

Totally disappointing. Do not believe what you see on this site. After travelling for 2 hours and arriving at this location, we were asked for our confirmation letter as there was no record of it. I thought this was strange, as this booking was done more than a month ago and a deposit was requested. After taking a walk around...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank zgd123
AnnaTeAroha, Manager at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear zdg123. I am so sorry you were disappointed. It always saddens me when guests expect our summer pools to be fully operational during the cooler temperatures in autumn and winter. As always however the small hot pool, as pictured on the websites is available at 40oC most nights (weather depending) after 6 pm for the enjoyment of our guests....

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Fifty years ago this is what we expected from a really good camping ground and its great that Te Aroha Holiday Park is still around. It's a living museum with its clean, bare bones facilities, really good adventure playground and quirky staff. We were in a tent so I can't speak for the cabins, but they were booked out with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yeosteve
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

My partner and I were booked in here for 5 weeks in our caravan with 2 children. We didn't even make it 3 nights. The website is misleading and falsely advertising a nice place to stay with access to a swimming pool TV room and a great playground for the kids. Upon arrival we were given a list of rules,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Goldz3
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Nathan and family. I am sorry you left earlier then planned. The large summer swimming pool is now empty with the cooler temperatures. Free of charge access to the hot mineral pool is available daily between 6 pm and 8 pm. Check out time is 10 am after that time facilities need to be cleaned. Most of our guests...

Castle Rock, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 5 April 2015

We booked this online wit Travelocity. Our room was Ensuite #2. Online it says: 807-sq-foot (75-sq-meter) room with a balcony Relax - Private spa tub Entertainment - Free WiFi and wired Internet access, 32-inch flat-screen TV Food & Drink - Kitchen with refrigerator, stovetop, and microwave Sleep - Tempur-Pedic bed with Egyptian cotton linens and a down duvet Bathroom -...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Mark S
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Mark S for your review, Te Aroha Holiday Park offers a range of room types, anything between budget style caravans, and modern apartments, fully self contained. You booked one of our older budget flats, and I am so sorry that you were disappointed and obviously felt miss-lead by travelcity. Te Aroha Holiday Park can be booked through expedia...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 April 2015

This place is good if you just want to relax , although it was full it was very quiet. We had a cabin which was very spacious and had everything you need. It even has a swimming pool however spa was not going.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carol6666
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2015 via mobile

Don't do it. Touring NZ in a camper stayed here for 1 night- it's disgusting. The communal kitchen is full of flies and the equipment is old and grotty. The toilets are filthy. The pool also looks filthy. The whole place needs pulling down, it's old, grotty and clearly neglected. Do yourself s favour owner and sell it as you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Juliet02
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Juliet. I am very concerned that you had such a bad experience here and apologise for that. Maybe grass clippings got dragged into the communal buildings after the rain we had? Communal toilets, showers and the kitchen are cleaned 3 x a day. All cabins and cottages daily after check out. Yes we do have a few cats in...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 February 2015

My wife and I arrived at the Te Aroha Holiday Park to have a relaxing weekend. This place has clearly seen better days and does not look much like the photos on the website. Luckily we had to leave due to unforeseen circumstances, which was a blessing in disguise but I would never stay here. The staff were not friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mandm298
AnnaTeAroha, Owner at Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers, responded to this review

I am sorry to read your comments. Can you please get in touch direct with me to explain what made you leave as I am unable to find records and when did you stay here?

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Aroha
27.0 km away
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
2.9 km away
The Nunnery
The Nunnery
#2 of 4 in Te Aroha
24 reviews
29.5 km away
Omokoroa Kiwi Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 km away
Horse and Jockey Inn
Horse and Jockey Inn
#5 of 7 in Matamata
82 reviews
27.9 km away
Tower Road Motel
Tower Road Motel
#1 of 5 in Matamata
275 reviews
26.5 km away
Beachaven Kiwi Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rural Setting, grazing farm animals surround this peaceful Park setting with uninterrupted mountain views. Free of charge WiFi and Hot pool on site. Cottages and Cabins with linen supplied to all double beds. Fantastic playground on tree-swings, flying fox, pedal go-karts. Choose us if you like the quiet countryside, only a short 3 minutes drive from Te Aroha coffee-shops and restaurants. Holiday Park with adventure playground, flying fox,tree swings, out of the ordinary. Motel type Cottages, Cabins and Backpacker caravans for the budget traveller. In addition we also offer camping sites, communal kitchen and showers plus toilets for those guests who prefer private cabins or caravans. Cook a Bar-be-que under our oak trees, use our special alfresco pool with hot mineral water, open all year between 6.30 Pm - 8.30 Pm under an umbrella of sparkling New Zealand stars. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers

Address: 217 Stanley Road South | R.D.1, Te Aroha 3391, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Aroha
Price Range: $42 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't choose Possum unit”
 of 5 bubbles VivJos, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here EVER!!!! Terrible owner who lacks hospitality skills.”
 of 5 bubbles LuckyinLovenz, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Cottages are cool, so is camping and cabins”
 of 5 bubbles MurrayF_11, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The traffic at night is a minus and the rain is hell. I was told by several locals it is not normally that wet.”
 of 5 bubbles wandarian, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ensure you get what you pay for”
 of 5 bubbles 259denisw, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5