We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Butterfly Beach Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,566 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Butterfly Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,502: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Beachfront, 2 pristine beaches, clean and good-sized pool, lovely staff, not too big a hotel but large rooms, every meal served seafront, fabulous different Caribbean fish every day. Totally adequate self-catering facilities. What's not to like? To the poor reviewers out there, remember this is a 3*. The number of returning people not just to Barbados but to this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CotesDeMourex
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We were return guests at Butterfly Beach, but will NEVER return. This year has been atrocious, an absolute shambles in fact, it wasn't the relaxing holiday it has been in previous years, We have never had a problem with the rude staff, lack of umbrella's, sunbeds, road noise, dog's barking and children crying Such dilapidated rooms, old beds, worn out...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank DayTripper_6025
Butterfly-Management, General Manager at Butterfly Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DayTripper_6025, I am sorry you did not enjoy your latest trip to Butterfly Beach Hotel. I am curious when you had been before as the umbrellas are new for example; we didn't have any at all in previous years. We do not advertise that we provide a umbrella for every guest, this would be impossible for our property size....

Reviewed 19 April 2013

We had a great time. Staff was fantastic. Met a lot of friendly people. Rooms clean but did need upgrade which is happening this year. Jefferson at the desk was a very friendly person. Beach was a bit ruff itif your not an avid swimmer. I would return because of the size it felt very cozy.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peter R
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We watched these reviews after booking, and they were becoming worse. We contacted to the hotel to ask if they could ensure we had a quiet room. the owner said he would arrange it. he didn't. The hotel is on a beach as it says, but it's also on the main road to Bridgetown, the traffic roars past all night,...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank ana0708
Butterfly-Management, General Manager at Butterfly Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ana0708, Thank you for acknowledging that I have attempted to respond to your concerns previously. I am indeed sorry you did not enjoy your holiday at Butterfly Beach. Many many other guests do enjoy their stays with us, and many of these are with us on an annual repeat basis. I can even report that the guests in the...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Just returned from a cruise and stay,first week was a stay at Butterfly Beach.I believe three letters describe it all really.WOW. What an excellent hotel,best location i have ever been to.If you have any doubts about staying at this hotel,then you do not need to worry you will not be disappointed with this excellent hotel.I am trying to think of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank wayne m
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Just got back from Butterfly beach hotel. We had a great time. The hotel its self is good value for money.A few things are looking a little shabby but they did say they were doing it all up in June.You get free beach towel but if you want a clean one they charge $2bds (70p). The room was adequate for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank david t
Banstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2013

As it was our first trip to Barbados we were not sure what to expect but we were not disappointed. We were made to feel really welcome and were soon settled in our very spacious room. The kitchen though small was amply equipped. We unpacked and headed off to the local supermarket which was easy to walk to. We loaded...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 572suem572
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Where do I start after disembarking from the Thomson dream on Easter Sunday we walked to our mini bus which was early and of a high standard .The driver took the coach to the butterfly Beach where we were informed that our rooms were not ready we were there at 2.30 pm and as the hotel rightly advises check in...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank PaddyBergow
bremen, germany
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Just spent 2 weeks staying here solo until 2nd April in a superior island view studio(2 categories up from cheapest room).I sent them a mail 2 weeks before,requesting a quiet room on an upper floor,which they gave me but room was too near the busy road.I couldn't sleep for 2 nights until they moved me 4 rooms away from road....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jik
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We are going back to Butterfly Beach this year for our fourth trip. We are looking forward to seeing all the staff who are always very friendly and more than helpful, that never changes year upon year. On our last trip, we were invited to the presidents residence through the hotel which was an unexpected bonus and a night that...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank FrankandMary1314

1,423 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1150)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (255)
Viewed
Room/Suite (142)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (254)
Viewed
Dining (95)
Viewed
View from Room (83)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
0:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (306)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (261)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Beach (18)
Viewed
Oceanview Superior Studio (60)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Superior Room (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)
Viewed
Whirlpools (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maxwell
5.4 km away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
2.4 km away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
178 reviews
13.7 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
1,786 reviews
0.8 km away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
486 reviews
0.2 km away
Sea Breeze Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located on the South Coast of Barbados in an ocean front setting with access to two white-sand beaches, and a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Refurbished in June 2009, we are an excellent hotel for those looking for a self-catering but full-service property near to all the amenities the island has to offer... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Butterfly Beach Hotel

Address: Maxwell Main Road | Oistins, Maxwell, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Maxwell
Price Range: $145 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Butterfly Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Butterfly Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly Beach Hotel Barbados
Hotel Butterfly Beach
Butterfly Beach Barbados
Butterfly Beach Christ Church
Butterfly Hotel Barbados
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Butterfly Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
149 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (149)

Questions? Get answers from Butterfly Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Newer block facing the beach”
 of 5 bubbles 34juneh, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Definitely get a suite with a kitchenette: most rooms have this but some don't.”
 of 5 bubbles andreak469, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“sea facing is best”
 of 5 bubbles 321NEILM, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the first floor. It may be wise to have roaming data.”
 of 5 bubbles Family_Adventures_3, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are just so spacious anyone will be good to go!”
 of 5 bubbles aledmonds50, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay