We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

South Gap Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
South Gap Hotel
South Gap Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

759 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 727: English reviews
Start your review of South Gap Hotel
 Click to rate
Newark, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel's location was great. It's located right on a strip that comes alive as soon as the sun goes down. I mean grills going, music going, drinks flowing. Lol. The hotel itself wasn't too bad for the price we paid. The rooms were clean & the ocean view was excellent. There is no beach access but you can access...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tia B
Vancouver
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our 10 day trip. Nighttime noise is a little much, although the staff was super accommodating when we asked to move for our last night. The manager was very friendly and took the time to show us other options in the hotel and apologized for the noise. This is not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrKitsilano
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just spent 9 superb days in this hotel. All the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Would like to mention a special thankyou to Shane and Stan, best barmen on the island! They are a credit to the hotel. Already planning our trip for next year!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey S
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There is loud party music all week until 2-4 AM. If you can sleep through that, it is well located between the airport and Bridgetown. Rooms are very clean and large with refrigerator and griddle. Food is expensive in Barbados but so are groceries and there are only convenience stores near by. Staff are considerate and will hold luggage to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrekkerSue
nottingham
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom suite with ocean views which are stunning and on there own make it worth stopping in the hotel. On arrival we were informed that twin bed room wasn't available which was a bit of pain as we were 3 guys sharing. The friendly girl on reception offered to bring another single bed to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank willymacc71
Huntington, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned yesterday from my annual solo "beach break", and could hardly wait to have a chance to review this lovely hotel. Every March I take a 4 or 5-day weekend trip by myself to a tropical beach location, to clear my head and de-stress mid-way through my busy season at work. My main criteria for choosing a hotel are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dharrigan67
Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When I was looking for a hotel to stay in Barbados, I read that unless you're willing to pay a fortune you shouldn't expect too much of the hotels there. That is true. Having that in mind, the South Gap is a very good option. It's outdated but it has a good breakfast (not included - great pancakes), nice swimming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PriscilaO
Windsor, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

With a doubt the hotel is old, but itvis clean and well maintained. All the units have kitchenettes and oceanview balconies. The staff are extremely friendly and with it being a small hotel, everyone remembers you. The restaurants serves good food although I didn't eat there much. There are two happy hours at the bar: 12 pm to 1 pm...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lisa K
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Very noisy at night as you are in the middle of the party area whitch goes on till 4 in the morning so unless you are young this area is not for you.But if you are in your 50s and above it is not for you.The area does have very good returants

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bfeaks
Jacksonville, FL
Reviewed 15 February 2017

The hotel is older and we heard that it will be upgraded, but in the meantime, it is cheap. The bath faucet dripped constantly, the bathroom door wouldn't close correctly and the electrical outlet didn't work in the bathroom. The noise and music across the street at night was very loud until about 3 a.m. If you are a light...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kimberly P
Cecile H, General Manager at South Gap Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy that you were pleased with the location and our staff. I would like to apologise for the inconvenience of the noise and the issues you experienced during your stay. We do try our very best to rectify any issues which may arise, to ensure you have a comfortable stay at our hotel....

854 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (556)
Viewed
Room/Suite (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (82)
Viewed
View from Room (68)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (186)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (255)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Junior Suite (39)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (35)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite Upper Floor (37)
Viewed
Pool (29)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Superior Studio (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.1 km away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
587 reviews
0.9 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
1,909 reviews
0.2 km away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
564 reviews
3.2 km away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
1.3 km away
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Worthing
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This delightful three star boutique style hotel is situated on the south coast of Barbados, 7 miles from the airport and only 5 miles from the island's capital, Bridgetown. Located in the very popular and lively St Lawrence Gap, it is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and nightclubs. Just a few yards away, the stunning Dover Beach offers a serene and peaceful contrast for those wanting to relax during the day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Gap Hotel

Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St. Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range: $162 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Gap Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, West Indies, Priceline, seekda GmbH and Hotels.com so you can book your South Gap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Gap
South Gap Christ Church
South Gap Hotel Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from South Gap Hotel staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Georgetown, Guyana
2 months ago
5 months ago
London, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from South Gap Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“1st Floor suites - Oceanside”
 of 5 bubbles MrKitsilano, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I stayed in a superior room on the second floor but would recommend the one bedroom units on the pool and restaurant level”
 of 5 bubbles _l_j_lum, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“book a room away from the front of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles bfeaks, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“1 bedroom suite on the top floor has a great view”
 of 5 bubbles kimberlyp91, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“choose rooms on the first or ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles FriendlyMani2ba, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5