We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (7252)
360
Panoramas (53)
Room & Suite (1134)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 05/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Cayo Guillermo
Updated 05/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 9 hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Four star all inclusive resort with 268 rooms. Located in Cayo Guillermo, Cuba, in one of the most beautiful beaches, in the archipelago Jardines del Rey, near Playa Pilar and near one of the most beautiful coral reefs in the world. Known for its romantic and lush tropical vegetation. Recommended for families, couples, weddings and honeymoons. 268 Rooms: 135 standard, 96 standard ocean view, 37 superior standard, 3 dining restaurants (buffet), 4 bars. An incredible natural paradise.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Parking
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Free airport transportation
Airport transportation
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Quiet
Languages Spoken
Spanish
4730Reviews561Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,887
  • 1,488
  • 679
  • 388
  • 288
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
kgwpg wrote a review Jul 2021
Winnipeg, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
The staff is helpful, courteous and fun! Food was meh, but no one goes to Cuba for the food. Lots to do, beautiful beaches and resort. Kept nice and clean. Reasonably priced. Good drinks and excellent service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Honey F wrote a review Apr 2020
Quebec, Canada12 contributions8 helpful votes
We went to this resort on March2-13.Came back to Canada and self isolated for 14 days.This was worth the isolation!!The resort is great,good food,spotlessly clean,beach is awe inspiring and pool is well kept.Staff are the best I have ever met!!Special mention to Yasnery,you are an amazing lady!!Also the other workers at the snack/bar near the pool!!Libany and the other staff at the buffet ,Nayrit?,not sure it’s spelled right.Lady at the clubhouse was fantastic,really enjoyed having her visit around the resort!!Massages were excellent also!!Recognized Carlos from Melia Las Antilles in Varadero,he was manager when we went there a few years ago.Hope everyone there are doing ok,this will be a difficult time for all Cuban people,they are so gracious!! Looking forward to seeing everyone sometime in the future,hope this does not change the employees when it opens again !!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sam N wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
We stayed first 2 weeks of March, 2020, I can tell you there's so many issues in this resort, don't want to beat them up too much under the current circumstances (coronavirus ) rooms are below average but lots of hot water & pressure, pool area good (hardly any shade), beach is the best thing & made us feel that we got something good out of the resort although the old huts were rotting & falling apart. We had at least 4 very windy days that customers couldn't stay on the beach but great for wind surfing. Food was mostly horrible, honestly wouldn't even feed it to my dog. Breakfast was only down to Leo's omelet, lunch & dinner were mostly the same food warmed up over & over until it tastes rancid. Sunwing should set standards with these resorts if they want to continue working with them as most peole looked very disappointed. Carlos who is Sunwing's rep was very helpful, customer sevice at the resort was great & do their best to please & make the customers happy. Resort has good potential but staff needs more training especially the buffet restaurant, no sense of cleanliness when handling plates, utensils...etc Lots of time, resort staff line up in the buffet with the customers to get their food before they run out (never seen this in tens of resorts we've been to) usually they eat together before they shut the doors. Restaurant staff need to know basic English to be able to communicate, you also feel the special treatment to Spanish speaking customers overall. You feel in general there is no supervision in the resort, staff gathering together talking, on their phones & sometimes smoking (even saw the house keeper smoking beside her towel cart!! Theater bar is average, not many cocktail options. Several time, mostly at night, they claim they don't have any cocktails to provide or the only mixer they have is not working!! Lots of BS!! Management should be watching & supervising staff, especially like a guy 'Omar', hardly see him working, always talking to other staff, on his phone or going to the restaurant to get food. There's a sense that some of the staff are fed up & don't care anymore. Did not mean to be harsh but I had to give our honest opinion, hoping that the resort improves & give viewers an idea of what to expect. Sam & Lucy
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We preferred the second floor room option.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Tanya & George wrote a review Mar 2020
Napanee, Canada7 contributions1 helpful vote
This resort is located on the most beautiful beach and is lovely, small and quaint. Rudy, Barbara, Yoni, Anita, Yosemi, Eduardo, Alex, Hector, Reinel, Maikel, Jamilla, whistling guy and pizza guy were some of the amazing staff, just to name a few!! It was our second time there and we can't wait for our third visit!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
markrichardp2016 wrote a review Mar 2020
Dartmouth12 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I had a most enjoyable and relaxing vacation staying at Sol Cayo Guillermo. Although some of the guest bungalows are in need of renovations, the main buildings and pool were well maintained and very functional. The resort staff are top notch and the beachfront is second to none. What a beautiful beach at this resort. We would happily return with a plan to avoid returning home with itchy souvenirs compliments of suspected sand fleas - a minor inconvenience to an otherwise trouble free week. Thank you especially to the staff we met and who treated us so well during our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Rooms close to pool area more convenient but also less quiet. Some rooms being renovated and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from VentasSolGuillermo, Director Comercial at Cayo Guillermo
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Dear markrichardp2016, Thank you, thank you, thank you. It's always a big pleasure to receive this nice review. Of course we're waiting your upcoming visit, please let us to know your preferences in advance and we will them reality. Until then keep in touch by Facebook. Looking forward to meet you!!! Best regards, Madelin Carrion Nieves Sales Manager
Read more
1946bob2014 wrote a review Mar 2020
Hanover, Canada12 contributions16 helpful votes
this is 4th time new manager and is really trying to make improvements place was painted grounds people were always out trimming and cleaning some of the same people are still there the egg lady and dinning room staff really make you feel comfortable lots of drinks and make drinks for little kids as well as older food was much improved and seemed to be lots of choice weather was warm and windy first day but was really hot for rest of week last day was cool and windy but hope to return again next year
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from VentasSolGuillermo, Sales Manager at Cayo Guillermo
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Dear 1946bob2014, Thanks for sharing your experience in this important site. Staff and beach are our main strengths, with them we will share your praise. We hope to receive you in the future so that you continue enjoying everything that our resort can offers. Looking forward to meet you!!!
Read more
Ralph J wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
First I'll write the positive side of the resort .Nice and very quiet resort not to many people with one of the nicest beaches food was good. Our room was clean and everything worked .Negative side of the resort is lots of nails that stick out from the dock that is around the pool area and the new one that goes to the beach also i found a rock in my rice i was lucky that i did not break my tooth it was bigger than single rice. The day before we left the resort someone stole my wife's italian dress that she bought in Europe they did the reading from our room and they told us that there was 2 people that entered our room one of them was the guy that delivers the water bottle to our room and he never left any water that day. The other person who was in our room was the maid and we gave her so much clothes 2 days before we left. We just hope it wasn't her so if you go there just wach your belongings. It seems that they are trying to renovate it but the quality is not there but everything is clean. We did not get any water for 3 days but we went to customer service and they gave us one. Some people complain about the beach towels that they didn't have any but we took it and kept it for the whole week. So if you go there pack it with you just in case. Of you want peace and quiet i think it's a good place to go to. I'm hoping that they are going to fix the problems that i described. I've been there 20 years ago and it was so much better than it is right now . That's why im hoping that they are going to fix it the way it was. I hope it was helpful for someone who's going there and they are going to have positive memories from there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from VentasSolGuillermo, Director Comercial at Cayo Guillermo
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Dear 751ralphj, Thank you for sharing your experience in this important website, we're glad reading about your second visit and taking note regarding what you have mentioned, particulary the incident with your wife's dress. Our staff is working here after a very hard process of selection all they are trusted people, we never receive this complain from our clients because they and their belongins are safe here. Please, do not wait another 20 years for coming back, it would be a pleasure to assist you as antes special friend. Best regards, Madelin Carrion Nieves Sales Manager Hotel Sol Cayo Guillermo
Read more
Alexandra wrote a review Mar 2020
Montreal, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed at the Sol Cayo Guillermo for 2 weeks in Feb/Mar 2020. We travelled with 5 year old twins. Resort: The resort is so nicely spread out that all rooms are somewhat near the ocean. The landscape is gorgeous, clean, so pleasant to just walk around the resort. Can basically see the ocean from everywhere on the resort. Rooms: Clean and very spacious. A/C worked well. Shower had good pressure and lots of hot water. Staff: Excellent, friendly. Lots of staff everywhere. Shows: Wowwww, incredible groups of performers from around Cuba. Food: Plenty of food, good variety, lots of fruits, juices. The resort has been making incredible successful efforts to please the guests. This resort is a gem. Highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from VentasSolGuillermo, Director Comercial at Cayo Guillermo
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Dear Alexandra 111-222, Firstly we want to thank for taking your time and posting this so nice review in this important website. We're very glad reading about your good experience in our resort, with your final recomendation to visit Sol Cayo Guillermo. Of course we work for our client's satisfaction and we're always pround when we meeting the goal. Please Alexandra, keep in touch until your next visit, and let us to know your preferences in advance. Best regards, Madelin Carrion Nieves Sales Manager Hotel Sol Cayo Guillermo
Read more
polinka s wrote a review Mar 2020
Toronto, Canada5 contributions1 helpful vote
The beach is amazing , the hotel very average the food dissapointing, they charged us $14 cuc for the safety box, 1 cuc for wifi 1 hour usage, they ran out of white wine and if you wanted rose you would have to pay for it. I get it every body has to hussle but come on. Any way the beach and water made my vacation great and just remember this area is more windy .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from VentasSolGuillermo, Director Comercial at Cayo Guillermo
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Dear Paulinkasuperova, We really appreciate you have taken part of your time to post this review on tripadvisor, we enjoy having feedback from our clients. We can see you did not have information about services no incluye de in the resort, we really sorry because that information is public, solo our clients know in advance what they will receive. If you decide to come back we will have some atentions as repeat client. Thank you for your compliments about the beach. I hope to see you one more time. With warmest regards, Madelin Carrion Nieves Sales Manager Hotel Sol Cayo Guillermo
Read more
Mark S wrote a review Feb 2020
Hamilton, Canada4 contributions19 helpful votes
Four of us visited this resort on a day pass. We were all very pleased with what we saw and would return to this resort for an entire week. This is a very simple resort and probably one of the oldest in the area. It's this simplicity that would bring us back. As soon as we stepped on this property we felt a comfort we didn't feel at other resorts. The bartender in the main lobby had time to pay attention to you and not just make you a drink ASAP so they can move onto the next desk. You could tell he actually enjoyed the opportunity to have conversation with guests. The resort is in the process of renovating its rooms so when booking try to request a new updated accommodation. To assist with your requests try to reach out to Madelin. She is the resorts customer service rep and truly will do anything possible to make your stay the best possible. I could provide he contact info if requested. It is so nice to have a rep that actual cares about the people at her resort. Like most beaches in Cayo Coco the beach is amazing :) You can sit, relax and watch the kite surfing. There is a pier where you can fish from and Pilar beach is only minutes away. Take a few seconds to google Pilar beach, it is a must to go to. If you want sun a beautiful beach and a family environment where there is no rat race for buffets this is where you need to stay. Cheers!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from VentasSolGuillermo, Director Comercial at Cayo Guillermo
Responded 17 Mar 2020
My dear Marx S, What can I say? Just a little correcction: I'm working on sales and is my job take care from clients. Thank you very much for taking your time and posting this so nice review. I know you felt the solo of the resort. Thank you for coming and of course it will be a pleasure If, you decide to come, I will be waiting! Cheers!!! Madelin Carrion Nieves Sales Manager Hotel Sol Cayo Guillermo
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
sol cayo guillermo hotel cayo guillermo, sol hotel cayo guillermo, cayo guillermo sol hotel, sol cayo guillermo cuba
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaCiego de Avila ProvinceJardines del Rey ArchipelagoCayo Guillermo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
268
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cayo Guillermo
Which popular attractions are close to Cayo Guillermo?
Nearby attractions include Playa Pilar (1.4 km), Cayo Guillermo (0.3 km), and Isla Media Luna (5.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cayo Guillermo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Cayo Guillermo?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Cayo Guillermo?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cayo Guillermo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ranchon Cuba Libre, Playa Pilar, and Lobster grill bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cayo Guillermo?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Cayo Guillermo have airport transportation?
Yes, Cayo Guillermo offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Cayo Guillermo have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Cayo Guillermo accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.