We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport

Save
Share
Port Road, Rhoose CF62 3BT Wales
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$65
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Hotels.com
US$65
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Agoda.com
US$57
View deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
PricelineUS$66
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (71)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (7)

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Rhoose
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Welcome to Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport, your Rhoose “home away from home.” Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport features room service, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a lounge. If you are driving to Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport, free parking is available.

While in Rhoose, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport, including Toby Carvery Rhoose in Barry (0.9 mi) and The Beer House (0.7 mi).

Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport puts the best of Rhoose at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Complimentary tea
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
150Reviews10Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 66
  • 34
  • 30
  • 8
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Donna Siggers wrote a review Nov 2022
Kent, United Kingdom86 contributions15 helpful votes
Hotel reviews are rare for me, especially work related as we stay in so many, so often. However staff here went above and beyond to accommodate my food allergies and for that they deserve recognition. Although we didn't eat an evening meal at the hotel as arrived too late, I saw the menu and know there are plenty of allergy friendly options available. This also applied to the breakfast, which was delicious. My personal thanks to all involved in taking care of my diatry requirements at short notice (its usually an issue at other locations). Keep up this wonderful service.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel for better deals
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Gresens, General Manager at Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your high scores. I am so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that all facilities and services offered have been to your satisfaction. I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Best Wishes, Jess
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda S wrote a review Nov 2022
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed here for one night before an early flight. Our room was at the back of the building so was quiet, I would think the front would be noisy due to the road. Very nice lady on reception checked us in. The room was lovely and warm on a cold day. It had all we needed for one night, a comfy bed, good pillows, a bath in the bathroom, nice quality shower gel, shampoo and soap. The only thing missing was a hairdryer. Generally the hotel looks like it could do with a bit of attention, some areas look a bit shabby, we paid £50 so was ok for the price. We didn't eat there as we left at 5am.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Gresens, General Manager at Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Linda, Thank you for your comments. According to your comments you had everything what you needed while staying with us. We have got hairdryers at the reception you could have just asked and we would have provided you one. I am not sure why you only scored us 3 stars as the value for money as you described your stay was 100% in place
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patrick A wrote a review Nov 2022
Cedar Falls, Iowa113 contributions6 helpful votes
We stayed here so we could go to the airport at 3:30AM. This hotel is somewhat strange. Our room was on the far end of the maze of hallways. The desk person basically had to lead us there. Our room looked out at a huge parking lot that looked like it was for maybe long term parking but there was nothing in it and it was fenced off. The room just seemed dirty, but perhaps it was so run down. We looked for bed bugs but did not find any. The bathroom was also run down. There was only one plug in for our phones. The tea pot and hair dryer were directly wired into the socket. The restaurant was closed, but the bar was open. There was some kind of recreation room. We really weren't here long enough to use the facilities. The staff was very friendly and well dressed, which contrasted with the shabby place. At least it fairly inexpensive and we got some sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Gresens, General Manager at Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Patrick, Thank you for your comments. The room you have stayed in has been recently painted with new carpets and new lino in the bathroom. I am afraid we are not able to change the location of some of our rooms however the room you have stayed in is out the back away from the busy road perfect for an early flight. The car park behind the hotel belongs to Cardiff Airport and I am not sure what kind of view you expected from an airport hotel. There are two electrical sockets in the room and due to that reason the kettle and the hairdryer are hard wired. I am not sure why you thought you had to look for bed bugs ?? And to mention it in your review when we obviously do not have any?? To come to a conclusion no complaints were made from you while you stayed, we could have moved your room if you were really that unsatisfied but no its obviously easier to go home and be a " keyboard warrior"
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shortyk05 wrote a review Oct 2022
Patchway, United Kingdom35 contributions36 helpful votes
Stayed here the night before an early flight and really glad we didn’t pay a lot of money for the room. The staff at reception were friendly but the room was very dated . Couldn’t get over the spongy toilet seat or very old suite in the bathroom. There was a noise from the radiator most of the night and very noisy with people coming and going all hours. There is a lot of wallpaper coming off the wall in the main part of the hotel. Having said all that the room was clean and very close to the airport.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Gresens, General Manager at Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport
Responded 27 Oct 2022
Thank you for your comment. The room you have stayed in was recently refurbished
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave wrote a review Oct 2022
Barry, United Kingdom675 contributions215 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here for just one night while visiting family in the area. We were impressed by the website pictures but the reality was very different. Room was very tired with yellowing paint on the doors and peeling wallpaper in the hallway. The beds were sagging with springs that were well used causing you to roll to one side. The lock into the room was loose and rocket meaning we slept with a chair against the door. The power socket next to the TV was buzzing and worked intermittently. Worst of all tje pillows were lumpy and when you moved the pillow cases they were dirty! There was a constant 'hum' from a machine or fan that kept droning most of the night keeping us awake! No restaurant as it was 'still' being refurbished in spite of the sign outside saying it was open! We mentioned that there were these problems to the girl on checkout but all we got was "oh dear' and an agreement that the pillows were dirty....no offer of any sort... This hotel was probably in good order 10 years ago but is in desperate need of a refurbishment but that is no excuse for filthy pillows hidden under the pillow cases...a real covid breeding source!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Gresens, General Manager at Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport
Responded 27 Oct 2022
Dear David, Thank you for your comments and we received your complaint already at the reception desk and we have received your email too. As you obviously do not have any patience for someone to get back to you you decided to leave a review. The room you have stayed in has been refurbished 3 weeks ago, new carpet and decorated. I have checked the beds and the plug socket and there is absolutely nothing wrong with them. My sincerest apology for the 2 out of 4 pillows that should have not happened and the housekeeping team has been informed to replace them immediately. You checked in at 8pm and checked out at 9.20 am and you only decided to mention it in the morning being very rude to the receptionist. Also we are a one storey building which does not require a lift
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Griffgrog wrote a review Oct 2022
11 contributions12 helpful votes
Stayed here last night after a late flight . We knew what we going to get for the price but was pleasantly surprised. The bed was very comfortable . Suffice to say we awoke very rested . I quite foolishly left my passport there and as we were driving back home 1 1/2 hours away , a lovely lady phoned me , and has since sent it on to me . Now come on folk's that’s service for you . We’ll certainly use this place again . Bravo 🤙🤙
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Gresens, General Manager at Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport
Responded 13 Oct 2022
Thank you so much for your high scores. I am so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that all facilities and services offered have been to your satisfaction. I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Best Wishes, Jess
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mathew265 wrote a review Aug 2022
Cardiff, United Kingdom50 contributions59 helpful votes
Stayed night before flying, basic hotel but we knew that , staff were amazing friendly and polite, lovely bar area and outside patio area…. The family room we had was absolutely boiling with a fan that circulated warm air and a window that only open a short way this resulted in a zero sleep night, yes its August but the room was stifling to the point of unbearable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Gresens, General Manager at Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport
Responded 10 Aug 2022
Dear Mathew, Thank you very much for your review. We clearly do not advertise air conditioning. This summer the UK has got unpredictable temperatures and I am really sorry there is not a lot we can do about that Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David H wrote a review Jun 2022
Carno, United Kingdom119 contributions50 helpful votes
We stayed at the hotel on the evening of the 15th June. On the positive side, the lady at reception was very friendly, very hard working and the rooms were clean. Unfortunately, the room faced onto the main road with constant high volume traffic noise and we barely got any sleep which was not good for our flight the following morning. In addition, there was no food available as the restaurant was closed until further notice, although the lady at reception did recommend a very good restaurant a short drive down the road. We had booked through Booking.com, and their site said (and still says today) "on-site bar and restaurant" while Celtic Hotel's site also said (and once again still says today), "Enjoy a satisfying meal at the restaurant. To go breakfasts available daily". Very disappointing and untrue.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Gresens, General Manager at Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport
Responded 25 Jun 2022
Please find the same response I have given you on booking.com: dear David, You have made the booking with us because you clearly needed a room close to the airport . No matter which hotel you choose in the future close to the airport they will all be on the one main road leading to the airport . The closure of the restaurant is clearly advertised on booking.com and our website so it should not come as a surprise. The restaurant had been completely taken off as a facility on booking.com and additional it's been marked as closed. Our website states in the second sentence of the description that the restaurant is shut. I am more than happy to provide you screen shots of both. The covid restrictions the last 2 years have been horrendous for the hospitality industry and we have been trying to re open the restaurant for the last three month but unfortunately to get staff is nearly impossible which you would have seen on social media and the news
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cheryl A wrote a review May 2022
Taunton, United Kingdom7 contributions
Comfortable, clean friendly overnight stop after our flight. Good sized room, tea and coffee in room, more available on demand. Quiet despite being right next to the airport. Would definitely stay here again! Really friendly staff, 2am check in no problem, free parking on site.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Gresens, General Manager at Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport
Responded 25 May 2022
Thank you so much for your high scores. I am so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that all facilities and services offered have been to your satisfaction. I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Best Wishes, Jess
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anfield1964 wrote a review May 2022
Cornwall, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
We arrived at 7pm having been on the road from Cornwall with our two Autistic sons and from the first moment the level of good old fashion customer service was exceptional. The room was perfect family room and our boys settled straight away. Solid floors and block constructed walls mean that the hotel is extremely quite. They had a well stocked bar, which is very clean and very modern and again the staff could not do enough to make us all feel welcome. Very clean all round, excellent shower, very comfy beds and just st a real welcome change from the chain hotel world we live in.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Gresens, General Manager at Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport
Responded 23 May 2022
Thank you so much for your high scores. I am so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that all facilities and services offered have been to your satisfaction. I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Best Wishes, Jess
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$66 - US$77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesVale of GlamorganRhoose
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CELTIC INTERNATIONAL HOTEL CARDIFF AIRPORT: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 84 Photos (Rhoose, Wales) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport
Which popular attractions are close to Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport?
Nearby attractions include The Small Space Theatre (2.8 km), Porthkerry Country Park (1.2 km), and Whitmore Bay Beach (3.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paletta Pizzeria, The Humble Onion, and The Six Bells Penmark.
Are there any historical sites close to Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Lythans Burial Chamber (7.2 km).
Is Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.