We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bay Horse Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bay Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 330: English reviews
Start your review of The Bay Horse Inn
 Click to rate
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good value for money. Friendly welcome. Excellent English breakfast for small additional cost. Would use again. Room clean and tidy, with comfortable twin beds. Bathrooms have been modernised, but shower water pressure problematic as venue situated at top of hill! Broadband worked on my Android phone, but not my Apple devices, however, my wife's newer iPad picked it up fine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank webbpi
Bay Horse Inn B, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay Kay and The Bay Horse Team

Kirkby in Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for three nights and it never fails. It is a good, no nonsense, sort of country pub and the bar is lively, the service genuinely happy and smiling and everything more or less does what it says on the box. No frills, no 5 star or probably even 3 star but still very good! Stayed in room 10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KirkbyTony
Bay Horse Inn B, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay yet again and look forward to seeing you again Kay and The Bay Horse Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed overnight as at an event and this was a nice looking cheap option. The owner was a friendly lady that was very welcoming. We stayed in a chalet out the back of the hotel by the car park. The room was spacious but tired and in need of a clean. For the price we paid however it was excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
Bay Horse Inn B, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review glad you enjoyed your stay We are in the process of decorating all of our bedrooms having completed 50% at the time of your stay Kay

Reviewed 31 December 2016

very helpful, friendly and homely atmosphere. couldn't not ask for more , the hosts and meal were spot on, wish to see them all again soon, as I really did enjoy my stay here, very easy to find, good car parking, local people with local knowledge was brilliant

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dawn D
Bay Horse Inn B, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we look forward to seeing you again soon Kay

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on the 22nd December for 1 night as visiting my daughter and grandson and her partner, as having to work all over xmas. We emailed the today before and asked if we could check in earlier as we would be arriving sooner, and Kay the manager responded within 10 minutes saying that this wouldn't be a problem. So...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darren C
Bay Horse Inn B, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review hope you had a lovely Christmas Kay

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2016

A very friendly and welcoming place. The rooms are clean and warm and include an en-suite. They're probably not long in need of a minor refresh in that the decor and some of the finishing needs some trivial tidying up. For the price it is exceptionally good value, the best I've seen around Durham out of the 10+ places I've...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iainjo68
Bay Horse Inn B, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay Kay

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

The best value for money I have had in many a year,food and staff brilliant...good area for visiting local attractions weather was great durham Christmas market and Fenwick window in Newcastle well worth visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy M
KayElkins, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review hope you have a lovely christmas Kay

Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

I stayed at the bay horse last week to attended a family funeral. The funeral was scheduled for the previous week and I booked through Hotels.com. Unfortunately the coroner postponed the service but because of difficulty with contacting them either by the website or phone they charged me! When it was rearranged the week later I went direct to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnneCissie
Bay Horse Inn B, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We are glad we could cater to your needs Kay

Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

On arrival we were welcomed and asked if we needed anything. Having a baby we need full milk and asked if they had any. The lady said they normally used semi skimmed milk but they'd get some in for us (we arrived in the evening and it was there in the morning). We had a lovely evening meal with very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
Bay Horse Inn B, . at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing in the future. :)

Selby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

For the cost of the stay,£30.00 per room bed and breakfast,it must be one of the best value stays we have ever had. The bedroom was spotless,central heating,very comfortable bed.Well appointed bathroom,plenty of hot water,TV and kettle. Food was well presented and prepared,large portions,not a massive menue,but for the size and location of the hotel(Brandon is a Village) quite adequate.The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ian r
Bay Horse Inn B, . at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we do try and pride ourselves on excellent service throughout. hopefully see you again in the near future :)

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
3.9 km away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.0 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
5.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
12.3 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,931 reviews
6.5 km away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Inn

Address: 8 Brandon Village, Brandon, Durham DH7 8ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham > Brandon
Price Range: $56 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bay Horse Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Bay Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bay Horse Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bay Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stayed in room 10, recommended”
 of 5 bubbles KirkbyTony, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are across the car park,there are 10 bedrooms.Any one I would think.”
 of 5 bubbles B3280TDianr, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in room 10”
 of 5 bubbles jimm48, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are chalet style around a courtyard with parking at your door.”
 of 5 bubbles lovebug, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Book early to avoid disappointment”
 of 5 bubbles RTWPocklington, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5