We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sossus Oasis Camp Site

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 175: English reviews
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

Accommodation can easily be booked in advance and is recommended to ensure a nice spot upon arrival. Check their homepage for pictures, it looks exactly as advertised. We had our own kitchen, toilet, shower and table area all sheltered with hot/cold water and electricity. The gas station also has a small shop that sells most essentials. You camp a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trunk12
Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

Every campsite was very good with its own ablution facilities and a covered terrace. No trees and rather dusty, but in a place of many tourists a good option to stay. Small pool and grass area. Shop with everything you need.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrannySpain
Milan, Italy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The terrain is very rocky and it''s very difficult to set up a tent. A lot better for those who have tents on the roof of their car. The rest was very good. Great bathrooms! Good location and great meals just across the road at the lodge!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fiorellan779
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossus Oasis Camp Site, responded to this review

Dear Fiorellan, Thank you for your great review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location, the bathrooms and the meals at Sossusvlei Lodge. We are looking forward to welcome you back! Best wishes, The Sossus Oasis Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was definitely a nice place to stay and much cheaper than directly at the park. Unfortunately you can enter the Sossuvlei park from here later than from the other camping site. The camping site is not crowded and you have much space for your own. Unfortunately the toilets and showers were not okay. It was clean, but the doors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benedikt K
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossus Oasis Camp Site, responded to this review

Dear Benedikt, Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed our location and the spacious campsites. Apologies for the inconvenience of the broken doors - they have been fixed after your departure. Looking forward to welcome you back! Best wishes, The Sossus Oasis Team

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Since this campsite is outside the gate of the park we had booked it as a back-up because we tried to stay at the NWR campsite inside the park. When we showed up in the shop that basically runs the gas station and the campsite we heard that the place was full, but that an older man was hoping to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tavas667
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossus Oasis Camp Site, responded to this review

Dear Tavas, Thank you for your review. On your reservation you will see that we do have a cancellation policy that clearly states that it is 100% cancellation fee for cancellations 10 days prior to arrival and non-arrivals. It is definitely not all about the money, but we are running a business and cannot simply have people cancelling on the...

Winterthur, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good campsite a mere 500m from the gates to Sossusvlei, so you will be among the first to enter the park when it opens at sunrise (given that you get up on time). There's also a pool, although we find it quite decadent to offer a pool to tourists when the rest of the country suffers from drought and doesn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmen C
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossus Oasis Camp Site, responded to this review

Dear Carmen, Thank you for your review! Glad you enjoyed our location, campsite facilities and shop. Looking forward to welcome you back. Best wishes, The Sossus Oasis Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Indeed, we booked 1 night in the campsite but when we arrives no more place. The manager explanations wasn't clear and he wouldn't find another solution. More over I am not sure to have my money back. Indeed, the manager has refused to give me the proof that hé didn't take my payment. So in conclusion, a very low profesionnalism....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jobepatrick
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossus Oasis Camp Site, responded to this review

Dear JobePatrick, Thank you for your review. We do apologize for the inconvenience as one of the online booking portals showed availability although we were already fully booked. Our reservations office process all our transactions manually and we didn't process you last minute booking by the time you arrived. It is quite difficult to provide proof of a transaction that...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Th facilities at Oasis Camp are very good, each camping place with its own ablution. As it was hot, the pool was a welcome coolant. The mosquitos were quite a nuisance, so bring something along to ward them off.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans-christoph F
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossus Oasis Camp Site, responded to this review

Dear Hans-Christoph, Thank you for your review! Glad you enjoyed the private facilities at each campsite as well as the pool. We are looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Nambia! Best wishes, The Sossus Oasis Team

Lyon, France
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The treatment by the people working at the gas station really put a damper on my time there. I found them to be rude and dishonest. Also the fact that the internet only sometimes worked inside the gas station store and not outside on the benches was annoying. They also were dishonest when it didn't work at all citing the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thebabeesh
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossus Oasis Camp Site, responded to this review

Dear Thebabeesh, Thank you for your review. As you stated we are in the middle of the Desert and on the odd occasion we do have difficulty with the internet as we are also dependent on our national telephone lines - we know it can be frustrating and we do apologize for the inconvenience. Best wishes, The Sossus Oasis Team

Windsor, California
Reviewed 3 November 2016

These are fully equipped campsites, including separate sinks for food preparation and ablutions, one toilet and shower per campsite, and a metal firebox. There is a small store at gas station nearby which also provides wifi. One warning: we were told not to leave our shoes outside the tent as the desert foxes like them for chew toys for their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marinrobin
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Sossus Oasis Camp Site, responded to this review

Dear Marinrobin, Thank you for the wonderful rating and review! Glad you enjoyed the private facilities at each campsite as well as the store and wifi at the gas station. It is just stories that you have been told regarding the foxes, but one can never be too careful, so rather tie your shoes up :-) Best wishes, The Sossus...

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesriem
0.0 km away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
84 reviews
0.0 km away
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
#5 of 12 in Sossusvlei
379 reviews
0.0 km away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 7 in Sesriem
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#6 of 12 in Sossusvlei
213 reviews
0.0 km away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
134 reviews
0.0 km away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#3 of 12 in Sossusvlei
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly positioned at the Entrance Gate to Sossusvlei and Sesriem, the Sossus Oasis Camp Site offers 12 individually shaded sites, each equipped with its own toilet and shower facilities, kitchen wash-up basin, barbeque and electricity points. Enjoy the unsurpassed views over the desert landscape, surrounding mountains and Elim Dune or relax in the sparkling pool found in the centre of the camp site. Facilities within walking distance includes a fully stocked shop with groceries, toiletries, drinks, ice, clothing, curios, internet cafe, fuel, diesel and a tyre workshop at the Sossus Oasis Service Station. At the adjacent Sossusvlei Lodge one can book meals at the restaurant and exciting activities to explore the area at their Adventure Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sossus Oasis Camp Site

Address: C27 | (right in front of the entrance gate to the Namib-Naukluft National Park), Sesriem, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Sesriem
Price Range: $31 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sossus Oasis Camp Site 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sossus Oasis Camp Site reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sossus Oasis Camp Site staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had camp 8 and liked it”
 of 5 bubbles trunk12, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Campsites 1 to 6 are further away from the road and facing towards the desert.”
 of 5 bubbles vermaak2015, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“This is only for camping. Any site is great”
 of 5 bubbles GrantPill, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose camping stands 1-6 to avoid dust clouds from passing traffic from nearby dust road!”
 of 5 bubbles janvC1906SY, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“Camp Sites 1 to 6 is away from the busy road and more sheltered from the wind”
 of 5 bubbles theog802, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay