We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Waipu Cove Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Waipu Cove Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 50: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely place to recharge. Rooms were super. Manager was helpful and available. There is a spa and pool. Resort is smallish and private. Very close to the beach. The beach is white sand all tides and huge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are now pleased to advise the pool has heating to take away the chill and would love to see you back again. Wishing you safe travels.

Okinawa, Japan
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We had a one bedroom unit and found it to be an extremely comfortable and immaculately clean place to stay after a very long flight. Well appointed kitchenette with everything you need to cook a meal, and free laundry also available on site, which was very helpful. Free wifi and parking next to your unit and a cute little patio...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CassieS99
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Cas for your great review and it was a pleasure to accommodate you both. We wish you safe travels and hope you enjoy your time up North. Kind Regards.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Only stayed one night at the Waipu Cove Resort. Friendly staff and clean rooms with a separate bedroom. Great shower and bathroom area. Also a nice outdoor area to relax in at the rear of the unit we were in. Very close to beach for a stroll or just to sit and watch the waves. Nice place overall and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kej5
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you back sometime. Wishing you safe travels.

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Pretty good value for a stay right next to the beautiful Waipu cove beach. Clean rooms, comfortable bed, well set up, very helpful staff. The only negative is that if you are expecting anything resort-like you will probably be a little disappointed. It does have a nice outdoor swimming pool which would be good for the summer but nothing else....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WainuiTim
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this review

Hi WainuiTim Thank you for your review and love to hear you enjoyed your stay. Yes re-branding is on the cards once all the upgrade projects have been completed in the next couple years. We do have the pool area with swimming pool (which should be heated in the next month) and heated spa pool. We did once have a...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 September 2016

So handy to lovely beaches, and several great restaurants. We went for a lovely morning walk on the beach, great to walk out of your unit and be able to walk straight on to the beach. The swimming pool looked good but a bit cold when we were there but apparently it is soon to be heated. Friendly helpful service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne Beavon B
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this review

Hi Lynne, Thank you for your review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay. It will be a pleasure to see you back. Safe Travels, Kind Regards.

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Studio Units tiny. 2 bedroom apartments ok-full kitchens but one bedroom sits next to another studio unit meaning you can hear everything. No tvs in bedrooms of 2 bed units, one small 1 in lounge and very uncomfortable furniture to sit on. Modern units, nice outdoor area to relax & generally reasonably quiet. Single beds have shocking mattresses very lumpy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank no1pokachic
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this review

Nothing much to say here except there is always two sides to every story. All I will say is no wonder there business finds it hard to accommodate some of their workers. No one should have to put up with such attitude and rudeness to spoil their day.

Moffat Beach
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Very well laid out units with good facilities although there were a few maintenance issues in our unit but didn't detract at all from our stay. Very helpful staff and an excellent Cafe Restaurant 100 metres up the road

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this review

Hi Mark, Thank you for your review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Unsure of the maintenance issues you had so would be grateful if you could let me know so we can then get them rectified. If you have a moment please send us an email. Safe Travels and Kind Regards.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Nothing positive worth mentioning at this place. Manager very unhelpful. Grounds scruffy. Short on parking. Bed hard and very low. Would stay in cabins next door in camping ground if we ever visit again. Looked far better value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank effinl2016
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this review

Hi Effin/2016 Thank you for your review, and am disappointed to hear you have nothing positive to say as we pride ourselves in a great location and great customer service. I suppose we can not please all and what is great to one person is not necessary the same for another. Beds are a personal preference, and are purchased as...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 June 2016

It is actually rare that I write a poor review but this really did not do the trick. The most depressing thing was the bed which was small,lumpy and soft. We did not sleep well. The parking is tricky and we could live with that. The rooms are tiny with no view at all which is a shame in such...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NeilMarshall2267
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this review

Hi Neil, thank you for your review be it good or bad and am sorry the Motel was not for you. Beds are very hard to get right for everyone and is a personal preference. Have checked with other guests that have had the same room and bed and felt it comfortable for them, but will look into it further....

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2016

We had a pleasant room (which turned out to be for sale) with adjacent parking. For 2 people the accommodation was well kitted out with a particularly nice bathroom (shower only). Quiet with small patio area outside. 2 minute walk to the beach and restaurant. 1 minute walk to shop.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jorneyman
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Safe Travels.

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waipu
33.0 km away
Flames International Hotel
Flames International Hotel
#18 of 35 in Whangarei
80 reviews
1.5 km away
Country Homestead at Black Sheep Farm
0.1 km away
Camp Waipu Cove
Camp Waipu Cove
#1 of 5 in Waipu
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Bream Bay Lodge
Bream Bay Lodge
#3 of 6 in Waipu
41 reviews
10.3 km away
Mangawhai Chalets
Mangawhai Chalets
#1 of 7 in Mangawhai
23 reviews
9.8 km away
Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Waipu Cove Resort

Address: 891 Cove Road, Waipu 0582, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Waipu
Price Range: $133 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waipu Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Waipu Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waipu Cove Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We took a bigger apartment and that was great!”
 of 5 bubbles L5832FNdavidh, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in a downstairs unit that was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 277MarkM277, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles NeilMarshall2267, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1-6 are road side but furtherest away from the pool and on the ground floor. There are 1st floor rooms on other blocks.”
 of 5 bubbles Jorneyman, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“There aren't any”
 of 5 bubbles W00dway, 7 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay