We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Malena Hotel

Save
Share
A. Papandreou 28, Amoudara, Crete 71414 Greece
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (16)
Pool & Beach (7)

About

#23 of 37 hotels in Amoudara
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
location This beautiful bungalow complex hotel affords a peaceful location in Crete, just 7 km from the Heraklion International Airport. It is close to Heraklion Center only 4 km away. The Hotel is also 4.1 km away from Heraklion Archaeological Museum and other Heraklion Sights and 100 m from the biggest sandy beach and crystal clear water. Facilities The bungalow complex has big rooms (suites & Superior) all rounded from a big garden. The reception desk is open round the clock. Amenities include a baggage storage service. Wireless internet access (no extra charge) allows guests to stay connected while on holiday. The tour desk offers assistance with booking excursions. Parking spaces are available to guests travelling by car (no extra charge). Other services include a car hire service, room service etc. Family-friendly hotel for quiet vacations. Rooms You will feel at home with 28m² and 37m² Rooms. Rooms are equipped with air conditioning and extra-long bed. A welcome gift awaits guests. A balcony or terrace is a standard feature of some rooms. A refrigerator is also available. A satellite television and WiFi (no extra charge) are provided as well. Slippers are included. Bathrooms are stocked with a hairdryer, a vanity mirror and bathrobes for everyday use. As an extra convenience, bathrooms provide cosmetic products. The room is also Family-friendly. Sports/Entertainment The big pool is a great place to work out or just relax and unwind. Guests can relax and enjoy the sun loungers and parasols provided. The complex offers a wide range of outdoor sports, including tennis(extra fee), ping pong and others. Guests can relax and unwind in the wellness area (a spa). Meals Dining facilities include a dining room and a bar. Delicious specialities await guests in an air-conditioned restaurant. Refreshing drinks at the bar are a perfect way to enjoy warm weather. A delicious and varied buffet awaits guests at breakfast. The complex offers a selection of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages.
Read more
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
40Car recommended
Grade: 40 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 1 km
4Attractionswithin 1 km
37Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 17
  • 6
  • 4
  • 4
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Braunie wrote a review Oct 2021
Berlin, Germany25 contributions7 helpful votes
There are four small/ medium cats living at the hotel that are strolling around all over, even the eating room. As they are young, they might jump on you while you are eating. As I am allergic and pregnant this was very uncomfortable. We asked in the hotel to remove the cats (at least from the eating area), they tried but the cats were coming back. So, we got the offer to move to the “sister” hotel Gouves Bay, where we went to meet even more stray cats…different story :( Beside the garden and pool area are very nice and clean. We had a 2room apartment which had big rooms. Unfortunately there was only one open wardrobe to put clothes on, no shelf or closet. Breakfast looked good. Unfortunately the fresh orange juice machine was broken while we were there. Decaf coffee is not included (unfortunate when you are pregnant). All in all it’s a nice hotel (if you like cats) with possibilities for improvement.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: You should like cats.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Dimitris Papadakis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Malena Hotel
Responded 14 Oct 2021
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience. There are a lot of stray cats in our area, and because our guests were constantly feeding them so they come. We try to keep them outdoors so that there is no problem. As for the issue of decaf coffee, we have addressed it. Thank you that you find our hotel clean as we try to keep it always clean and beautiful. Hope to accommodate you again to Crete. Public relations & management
Read more
Tess van dalen wrote a review Sep 2021
The Netherlands5 contributions
We went Island hopping in Greece and had the most amazing holiday till Malena hotel. Our ferry to Heraklion was delayed so we called the hotel to let them know because of the taxi, they were really rude on the phone and told us that there was no room for us. We booked early in advance so we were really confused, after a few phone calls they told us they had to leave the room empty for 24hrs for COVID reasons and that they booked another hotel for us. We looked the hotel up on booking and it had bad reviews and was a lot cheaper (from the same owner!!) so we didn’t agree, we got a “free” dinner but still had to pay for 2 drinks… after staying 1 night in that terrible hotel we could check in our room. The room was nice, bathroom smelled terrible but it was okay. The hotel was fully booked and everybody was stressed out. A lot of guest had to stay 1/2 nights at the other hotel and were really unhappy. The older man at the reception and the bartender are very friendly and tried to help us! But nobody ever apologized for the whole situation and the communication was terrible, after traveling there you don’t want this to happen.. We would really not recommend this hotel to anyone, and that’s a pity because in my opinion the hotel has a lot of potential but it’s just not there…
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Dimitris Papadakis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Malena Hotel
Responded 11 Oct 2021
Thank you for your review. Sorry for the inconvenience. We are living in a difficult time regarding the pandemic and we must be careful. In your case, there was a problem on the 1st night with your room as we explained to you on the phone. We offered you two options, a 4 * hotel with free half board and transfer or to refund your money. You chose the first one without knowing that you did not like the hotel and I do not understand why you should go to a hotel that you do not like ?! Thank you for finding the room beautiful, our staff friendly and polite. Hope to welcome you back to our beautiful island. Kind regards, Public relations & management
Read more
Alina B wrote a review Aug 2021
Bucharest, Romania6 contributions
Excellent service throughout our week-long stay. From check in to check out it was all flawless. Varied breakfast, options for brunch, and the fixed dinner menu was a good mix of traditional and international always with a twist - really tasty and well thought out. Whenever we were not having one dish, we were offered an alternative. Clean and daily serviced rooms, pool facilities are good for kids and adults. Wifi was good and had coverage around the hotel and pool. The beach is 2-3min walking distance. For the area with beach bars and sunbeds you need to go a few more minutes. Very friendly and professional hotel staff. Thanks a lot to Xenia and George, as well as to all the others who made our stay a wonderful experience!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Dimitris Papadakis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Malena Hotel
Responded 7 Oct 2021
We are grateful for your great feedback and the high rating at the family Malena hotel. Thank you very much for your visit and all your praises. We would be more than pleased to welcome you back to Crete. Warm wishes and regards, FOM
Read more
Livia R wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions
Without a doubt the best hotel I have stayed in in Crete. The staff is impeccable, especially the bartender George and Xenia. Very clean rooms and pool area. Exceptional food. Beautiful setting and very welcoming people. Perfect wifi. I can't find one thing that I could call a minus. Thank you Malena hotel for a great stay ! It was a pleasure.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Dimitris Papadakis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Malena Hotel
Responded 7 Oct 2021
Your wonderful feedback gives us joy! Thank you so much for your stay at the Malena hotel and your lovely comments and high rating. It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back in Ammoudara to Herakleion. Warm wishes, FOM
Read more
Mgrigoriadi wrote a review Aug 2021
Kós, Greece22 contributions6 helpful votes
What a nice hotel with amazing and really good facilities! We stayed in the hotel for 12 days and we never regret it! The rooms were very clean, great service, loads of far options and amazing breakfast! Thank you so much for your hospitality!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Dimitris Papadakis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Malena Hotel
Responded 10 Aug 2021
Thank you so much for your valuable time in reviewing Malena hotel. We are delighted to have managed to offer you a fantastic stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments and high rating. We truly hope we will be able to welcome you back to Crete. Warm wishes and sunny regards, FOM
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
GreeceCreteHeraklion PrefectureAmoudara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Malena Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Malena Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Enodia (0.7 km), Kurelu (0.6 km), and Pure Creta (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Malena Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Malena Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Malena Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Malena Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Thigaterra, Aris Katerina, and Taverna Mitato.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Malena Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Malena Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Palace of Knossos (7.3 km), Castello del Molo (Koules) (4.1 km), and Venetian Walls and Tomb of Nikos Kazantzakis (3.4 km).