We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Porcupine Ridge Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Porcupine Ridge Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Porcupine Ridge Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 53: English reviews
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We enjoyed a couple of nights at Porcupine Ridge where we were made very welcome by Janet and John. Our room was a standard one, not huge but perfectly adequate and well equipped. The breakfasts were great especially the packed one we had on our last morning as our flight was very early. There is a lovely lounge if you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret J
Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

In 2010, when the South African World Cup had just begun, I had had the pleasure of staying with John & Janet in their lovely Porcupine Ridge guesthouse. During my 2011/2012 South Africa trip, together with my German friend Kai, I returned. Both British, they are products of their culture, with humour, warmth and convention as their forte. Should distance... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ton1705
Woerden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed at this B&B for three nights, in september, and we had a wonderful holiday experience thanks to the friendly and helpful owners, Janet and John. The hosts are very friendly, relaxed and warm and really welcome you into their home and make you feel like one in the family at once! Janet and John are very helpful when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ninascholman
sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Porcupine Ridge is a lovely guest house in a fantastic setting. The rooms were sophisticated and facilities excellent. The best aspect though was the warm and friendly service from Janet and John who are extremely knowledgable about the local area and gave us lots of good tips from a place for dinner (Wild Fig restaurant in Sabie highly recommended) to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bandanna33
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Porcupine Ridge was our base for visiting the Panorama Route, towards the end of our three-week tour. Janet and John, the expat English owners, could not have made us more welcome and we felt immediately at home with them and their delightful Siamese cats and golden retrievers. The room, although small, was well-furnished and clean and the breakfasts were excellent,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank weepaddy
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The guest house is in an excellent position in a very beautiful part of the world, and the owners could not have been more friendly and helpful. But we were a little disappointed by the quality of fixtures and fittings – broken window catches, an extractor fan in the bathroom that did not work (despite askiing for it to be... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew L
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Porcupine Ridge is a magnificent spot a few minutes out of the town of Sabie, and the house is pristine and the rooms comfortable and immaculate. The breakfasts were wonderful and the proprietors helpful. The dogs will even take you for a walk up the mountain!! I had no access to any sitting area besides my room, and was sorely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MargieE
alicethedog, Owner at Porcupine Ridge Guest House, responded to this review

It is unfortunate when a guest leaves Porcupine Ridge without feeling we tried 110% to make their stay memorable. We make no apology for having a Cancellation Policy however, which is explained in detail in our Booking Confirmation e-mail, our Check-in Form and our Room File. Regarding this comment, we have a lovely guest lounge and two large covered verandahs... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

From the moment we arrived we knew we were in a great place, both location and accommodation. We were loving South Africa, had had a long day and were exhausted and looking forward to rest and comfort. We had a delightful stay. Janet's greeting, care and attention, swept away fatigue. The rooms are superb. We stayed in two, having planned... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael472
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at the Porcupine Ridge Guest House after a family wedding near Pretoria. We were a party of nine family and friends. The proprietors Janet and John were very welcoming and they gave us very sound advice about the Kruger Park, nearby restaurants and other places of interest. The rooms were first class, comfortable beds with electric blankets. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank LesleyMcA
Newtownards, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2011

There was nine in our group and we were looked after by Janet and John, not just morning and evening but anytime during the day when we were there. Their house was our house and, with a 5 year old adventurous boy in our group, that was above and beyond what would normally be expected. The breakfasts were "any size"... More 

Helpful?
Thank William M

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sabie hotels
4.0 km away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
3.2 km away
The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge
1.1 km away
Sabi Star Chalets
Sabi Star Chalets
#6 of 15 in Sabie
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Timamoon
Timamoon
#1 of 15 in Sabie
215 reviews
17.6 km away
Misty Mountain
Misty Mountain
#3 of 15 in Sabie
161 reviews
4.5 km away
Hillwatering Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautiful four star country house, tucked away in the mountains at the heart of the scenic Panorama Route, yet only 5 minutes from Sabie village and 40 minutes from Kruger National Park. The friendly ambiance invites you to relax and unwind, surrounded by rambling gardens and glorious mountain scenery. Porcupine Ridge has five luxuriously appointed en-suite bedrooms, a cosy guest lounge, free WiFi and plenty of free safe parking. A delicious English breakfast is served in the dining room or on the large covered view verandas. Hiking, birding and waterfall on the Estate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Porcupine Ridge Guest House

Address: 5 Vanaxe Estate | Hazyview Road, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Price Range: $124 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porcupine Ridge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Porcupine Ridge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Porcupine Ridge Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All are very good and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles robertrS6790BH, 26 Mar 2016 | Read review
“the 2 superior rooms had garden view”
  • superior room
  • superior room
 of 5 bubbles pmfreeman, 1 Dec 2012 | Read review
“See if you book a room with a view.. our room had great windows, opening onto a garden, but the views must have been in one of the 5 other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 173FrancisB, 28 Nov 2012 | Read review
“The two front rooms we occupied were beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles Michael472, 7 Sep 2011 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay