We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sabi Star Chalets

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sabi Star Chalets
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 58: English reviews
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is an interesting little place just outside Sabie. Rooms were clean and well set out. Although the Slate floor may need an upgrade. It tends to leave a brown tinge on anything that touches it. That may have just been our room though. Warm welcome and in a beautiful spot. Definite value for money!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PJenner
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Comfortable accommodation well equipped kitchen (fridge, stove and microwave) heater and fans for comfort Cable TV great surroundings lots of firewood for camp fires close proximity to shops and local attrations very pleasant

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank billie20171
Springs, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It was nice staying over at Sabie Star Chalets,We received a warm welcome Maybe you should consider a Breakfast and Dinner Services, I will suggest that you put insect killer to each and every room or make them available on request to Clients

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noma-Afrika
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Truly fantastic stay at Sabie Star. Only advise: Use charcoal/own wood, because of regular rain. The room, location and everything else was excellent - especially after a nightmare stay in Graskop. I'll recommend Sabie Star.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 666pieters
ShawneBotha, Owner at Sabi Star Chalets, responded to this review

Thank for the great review!! Rain has been a bit hectic but the free firewood does still burn with a little coaxing LoL. Thanks again for the recommendation! Have a wonderful 2017! Regards Shawne and Sharon

Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

love the the sound of the Sabie river from the chalet nestled in the tranquil surroundings of the forest. Love the combination of the rustic and comfort of the new up graded self catering chalets. Great fun with family and friends and will definitely do it again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U6187CAbarryb
ShawneBotha, Owner at Sabi Star Chalets, responded to this review

Dear Barry, Its great to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us. It is nice and tranquil especially with the sounds of the river and the forest!! We are looking forward to your next visit and hope that we see you, your friends and family again soon! Have a wonderful 2017!! Regards Shawne and Sharon

Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Sabie Star is an awesome place. We have been going there for many years. I think 12 years and we will go back and back again. Shawne and his wife are very down to earth people and very helpfull. They made some changes to the chalets and serve breakfast. I still see new changes in the future to make guests...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 616marlened
ShawneBotha, Owner at Sabi Star Chalets, responded to this review

Dear Marlene, We are very blessed to have so many families return again and again to visit us. This year was really special as you guys came to visit again, as well as quite a few of our other old families! We are continuing to upgrade and improve and there are quite a few changes planned for the next couple...

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an awesome stay! Beautiful location and chalet met all our requirements. Owners and staff are very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay pleasurable! Will definitely recommend this place to anyone that wants to visit that area for their holiday...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nelmariev2017
ShawneBotha, Owner at Sabi Star Chalets, responded to this review

Dear Nelmarie Thank you for the great review and your recommendation! We do strive to make your stay as pleasurable as possible and are glad that you were happy with the accommodation! Have a wonderful 2017 Regards Shawne and Sharon

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very relaxing sitting outside in the evenings around a fire with the dogs snoozing after a day of exploring. Very friendly and accommodating management who help you get into the "wind down" mode. Well located and a good base for exploring the lowveld....and then a swim on the pool in the afternoon to cool off

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank doretp2016
ShawneBotha, Manager at Sabi Star Chalets, responded to this review

Dear Doret, Thank you for your review. It was great having you guys stay with us and hope the 2 four legged guests had a relaxing time too! Thanks again for accommodating us on your arrival! All the best for 2017 Regards Shawne and Sharon

johannesburg
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Poor electricity, lights continually on and off. Kitchen utensils are in adequate for a self catering. Cottage needs a serious revamp and upgrade. Beds mattrasses are hard sponge. Garden setting is beautiful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank royp942
ShawneBotha, Owner at Sabi Star Chalets, responded to this review

Dear Roy, Thank your for your critique. As explained when you were here, the electricity issue was a ESKOM fault (ESKOM is the national electricity distributor for South Africa) We are continually upgrading as can be seen from the other reviews. All the best for 2017 Regards Shawne and Sharon

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 December 2016

I had such an amazing time with my fiancee.The owner ensured that we arrived safe and that we had everything we needed.The rooms are clean and the area is what one needs to relax.I ma definitely going back next year and staying for a week. Daphney Molefe

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank daphneymolefe
ShawneBotha, Owner at Sabi Star Chalets, responded to this review

Dear Dafney, It was great having you guys visit. We are very much looking forward to your next trip and now that you have been here it will be a little easier to find. For others using Google Map driving directions - I am still having problems with the Google driving directions but the placement on Google Maps is correct....

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabie
3.0 km away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
3.8 km away
Merry Pebbles Resort
Merry Pebbles Resort
#4 of 14 in Sabie
139 reviews
2.3 km away
Sabie Self Catering Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Forest View Guest House & Self Catering
30.1 km away
Aan de Vliet
Aan de Vliet
#5 of 12 in Hazyview
339 reviews
17.1 km away
Misty Mountain
Misty Mountain
#3 of 14 in Sabie
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sabi Star Chalets is a family run, cozy, informal resort with chalets fully equipped for self catering. We also offer a full house breakfast at an additional cost. The chalets are built on the banks of a beautiful sparkling mountain stream and are surrounded by lush green gardens and forests. We are situated 3 km to the East of the town of Sabie on the R536. We have chalets that sleep 2, 4, or 6 people. Each chalet has it's own private braai area and we supply free fire wood daily. We are conveniently situated for day trips to all local places of interest - God's Window, Pilgrims Rest, World's View, Bourke's Luck Potholes, Sudwala caves, Kruger National Park, and naturally the waterfall wonderland of the Panorama region. There are many adventure activities offered in close proximity - abseiling, river rafting, quad biking, tubing and Paint Ball. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sabi Star Chalets

Address: R536 Haqzyview Road (3km From Sabie) | Sabie, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Price Range: $59 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sabi Star Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sabi Star Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sabi Star Chalets staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sabi Star Chalets staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 9 is a lovebird room.”
 of 5 bubbles , 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the newly upgraded executive chalets”
 of 5 bubbles 174elainek, 11 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Closer the reception area where the river is wider. Although the lower units are more private, depending on what you prefer.”
 of 5 bubbles crys123, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Book from room 14 to 17 if you want to have parties!”
 of 5 bubbles mirash2014, 23 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Rooms at the farther end are better as they lead you right down to the flowing river and the surrounding greenery.”
 of 5 bubbles DineshShirvaikar, 23 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay