We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Queens Head

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Queens Head
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 308: English reviews
Start your review of The Queens Head
 Click to rate
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The waitress couldn't make her mind her mind up whether we could sit in restaurant or not and after seating us moved us 5 minutes later. Not a great start. Beer selection very poor and food quality didn't make up for it. Starters were ok but mains were very poor - streak was poor quality and sauce tasted burnt. Steak...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Musselduff
Northumberland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We brought friends from elsewhere in the country to visit the area, so it was important to provide them with a positive experience of the food. We carefully researched a suitable place to have lunch, having previously visited the coast and eaten good food in lovely places. From information on the website, this place looked good, but the reality was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tallis
Teresa W, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

I also am very disappointed that you were served flabby chips as we are noted for our hand cut crispy chips, I am deeply sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I have sent you a message. With apologies Teresa

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were given a voucher as a christmas present and decided to use it for our anniversary. We had been to this hotel a few years previously for a nice lunch. On our arrival we were given a very good welcome and shown to our room overlooking the main road. At first we were concerned that it may be noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwendoline030645
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We used the dining room of the Queen's Head as a meeting place for lunch prior to attending a family event in the Jubilee Hall across the road. As such we had a deadline. With some of the family having set off from home at 5.30am and others local but needing to get to the hall to finish setting up,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea J
Boldon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night for a birthday present,absolutely love rothbury,had Sunday lunch here in a day trip which was gorgeous,so decided to do an overnight stay..visited surrounding areas,which was wallington hall and seaton deleval hall which were amazing..room was comfortable,bed was one of the best ones we've stayed in.had a meal on the night which was delicious,but had to wait...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adele S
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We have just returned from a two day break at the Queen's Head where we had good service and good food. The room was warm and comfortable with a lovely big bathroom and an excellent shower over the bath. The evening meal was tasty with obviously good quality ingredients as was the breakfast each morning. The Staff were friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grandmamary2016
Reviewed 21 March 2017

After a long drive, arrived at the Quens Head Hotel in Rothbury, which is best described as a small village. The Hotel has its own parking which was convenient. Reception staff were pleasant and welcoming. The room was clean, tidy and most importantly quiet from any external noise, there was also a great view of the countryside from my room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JugglaMan
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it must have been Friday you stayed with us I was in the Restaurant and it was quite busy, sorry you had to ask twice for your bill. We were in the bar afterwards singing, I hope it didn't put you off coming back lol :) Teresa

Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night. Staff were great. Meal was very good. Tasty and good portions. Reasonably priced too. Room was modern and comfortable. Lovely breakfast. Only negative observation was there was a lack of attention to detail with the decor especially in breakfast room, which made some areas look a bit tired.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
Teresa W, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely feedback. We are in the process of painting, again, (never ending really) so all will be fixed in time. We hope you will stay with us again Teresa

Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel, rooms well stocked with coffee tea milk ect. clean and up to date for decor. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, great food in bar and very comfortable surroundings, breakfast was full of local fresh produce and tasted great with plenty of choice on menu. We will be returning

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russ050569
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review, we do love to hear we are getting it right, email me when you want to come back for best rates. Teresa

West Calder
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Central location and helpful staff Very understanding when I accidentally spilled water over the bed The restaurant is going to look stunning when they have finished refurbishing it Excellent and convenient parking at the back of the hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fred934
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback, the restaurant is now done and looks fab, the floor especially has come up really lovely. Hope we see you again. Teresa

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
10.8 km away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
14.9 km away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
343 reviews
0.3 km away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
135 reviews
0.2 km away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
97 reviews
0.4 km away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Queens Head is a family run inn with smart en-suite rooms, relaxed atmosphere, friendly bar and helpful staff. The attractive restaurant has comfortable high backed upholstered chairs where the Bar/A la Carte Menu or the daily blackboard are available Lunch and Dinner, or if you prefer, eat in the Bar. There is a patio garden and free private car park. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Queens Head

Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Price Range: $96 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Hotel Rothbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Queens Head staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cambridge, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Queens Head staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“easy access to Northumberland Nation Park and other landmarks”
val052_11, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask the hotel in advance if a special requirment is needed”
JHGP, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There is no lift and the stairs are quite steep so probably not suitable for real mobility problems. There is no double glazing.”
peterk547, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the attics were the newly refurbished rooms”
JulieM65, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed room 16”
janicewR3211SG, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5