We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Queens Head

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Queens Head
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Queens Head
See the most recent reviews
Showing 297: English reviews
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2015

Spent a Night here recently on a Travelzoo deal which turned out to be great value for money, it's an old building with warm welcoming staff, shown to our room which was a little dated and would have benefitted from a picture or 2 ideally of some of the many beautiful local attractions. The room was cold initially due to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SharonJT67
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving us a review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write such nice things about us. The room you stayed in was recently painted and the pictures have not been put back up yet, we have been so busy with 1 night stays (the ironing has been horrendous lol) just not got round to it yet,...

Ponteland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2015

My wife and I stayed here recently for a chill after a busy week. We were on a voucher deal which, as our stay started, became better and better. Easy parking at the hotel followed by a quick check-in got us off to a good start. We were taken to a good sized room on the second floor with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 173IanB
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello Ian, Thank you so much for leaving us such a lovely review, will pass on your comments to the staff. Thanks again Teresa

Gateshead
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Good location with free parking. Large clean / comfortable room. No noise could be heard in our room from the bar areas down stairs. A very tasty and excellent breakfast which came quickly. Would come again without a doubt. Staff polite & very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mollydogGateshead
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for leaving your lovely review, will keep you informed of any deals we do ourselves for returning guests. Thanks again Teresa

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2015

I have stayed at the Queens twice now, the first time was a few years previous. I have enjoyed both my stays at the Queens. It has the looks of faulty towers without the terrible service. The staff are super friendly, rooms clean and the breakfast is good too. Cold buffet breakfast with a choice for a cooked breakfast from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnbhoy82
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello John, Thanks for leaving us a review, I particularly love the comment regarding faulty towers, it sometimes feels that way to us hahaha, some days everything seems to happen at once. I very much appreciate your recommendation and hope you will come and stay with us again. Teresa

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2015

This is not the Ritz but then again we did not pay 'the Ritz money'. Entered the building from the rear and thought Mmm what have we come to but then things changed when we were greeted very professionally by Tony. The place is basic and if we are honest a bit tired but it's clean, the bedding was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve s
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello Steve, Thank you for your very balanced review. After leaving all fours stars for value; sleep quality and service it would have been nice to get an overall four !!! dont know how this works. The Queens Head is a very old pub which over the years has not been as well looked after as it should. We have...

geordieland tyneside england
Reviewed 11 March 2015

although we got this half price on a voucher deal, there was no half heartedness about their welcome. lovely warm fires, friendly staff, busy restaurant and loads to do and see in and around the area. The management asked if they could make a twin into a double as there were no rooms for the date we wanted, that was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank horsleyhill
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello, So pleased you enjoyed your stay, the beds are ginormouns when you put them together hahaha, do come and stay with us again, will keep you informed about any off season deals we do ourselves. Teresa

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2015

We have just come back from a weekend trip to Rothbury and stayed at the Queens head Hotel.It was on a Living Social deal and we added an extra night. Our room at the Queens Head was acceptable and ok.I believe you get what you pay for. However we was put in the dreaded room 14 and our first night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jane c
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for leaving us a review, I can see that the new bed is becoming an issue so will definately be leaving the mattress topper on. Sorry you found the bed too hard. Teresa

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2015

We have stayed in Rothbury now on a couple of occasions and the Queens Head is a very pleasant place to stay. Very clean, lovely food and a snug bar where the locals are very welcoming. It is a great place to stay and ideal for maybe stopping when doing the new Sandstone Way bike ride which opens this year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlesbettison
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello Charles, thanks for taking the time to leave a review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Rothbury and I hope that you will stay with us again . Teresa

Newcastle England
Reviewed 28 February 2015

The title is my overall impression but I must point out that the sleep quality was the worst for quite some time. We just tossed and turned all night, couldn't get comfortable. There was no one on reception when we arrived, when I asked what time they had so down for dinner (which was average) they were an hour out...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank El_Gran_Pedro
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for leaving your review I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay, The bed in room 14 is less than 6 months old with a firm pocket sprung mattress. We have had no complaints at all about it until now. I may have to consider a mattress topper for those who don't like a...

Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2015

Our twin room was on the third floor and a bit of a trek. Beds were comfy but room was somewhat shabby and bathroom rather bare and basic. Food was fine and folk were friendly so we would stay here again. Location was central in Rothbury

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candia W

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
10.8 km away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
0.3 km away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
648 reviews
0.2 km away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
93 reviews
0.4 km away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#2 of 12 in Rothbury
396 reviews
0.2 km away
Allerhope House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Queens Head is a family run inn with smart en-suite rooms, relaxed atmosphere, friendly bar and helpful staff. The attractive restaurant has comfortable high backed upholstered chairs where the Bar/A la Carte Menu or the daily blackboard are available Lunch and Dinner, or if you prefer, eat in the Bar. There is a patio garden and free private car park. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Queens Head

Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Price Range: $100 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Hotel Rothbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Queens Head staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Queens Head staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“easy access to Northumberland Nation Park and other landmarks”
 of 5 bubbles val052_11, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask the hotel in advance if a special requirment is needed”
 of 5 bubbles JHGP, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There is no lift and the stairs are quite steep so probably not suitable for real mobility problems. There is no double glazing.”
 of 5 bubbles peterk547, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the attics were the newly refurbished rooms”
 of 5 bubbles JulieM65, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed room 16”
 of 5 bubbles janicewR3211SG, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5