We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grove House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Grove House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

544 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 511: English reviews
Edinburgh
Reviewed 31 October 2016

My parents, partner, and I enjoyed a brief stay at this extremely comfortable B&B a couple of weeks ago. Connel is next door to Oban, which makes it perfectly located if you wish to explore the west coast and enjoy the seafood capital of Scotland too! On arrival we received a warm welcome coupled with some homemade tablet and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alliie
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Grove House. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed the glass of pink bubbly, home baking and the warmed Jo Malone towels. These items are part of our ' Welcome plate ' that we offer to all guests who book directly via our own web site...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We had a very bad experience with Grove House and I would like to make everyone aware of their non-flexible, non-customer friendly and legalistic approach to situations when their customers are in force majeure. We had a reservation for one night and were due to arrive at Grove House before 7 pm (which is their deadline for check-in) but unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zaur_M
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Yet again you post your 3rd verbose and most inaccurate review regarding a stay that you booked through booking.com for Grove House. We offer a check in from 4pm to 7pm. We are always happy to be flexible regarding check in times where possible and only if requested prior to arrival. My manageress finishes her shift at 7pm, but if...

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

This was the first stopover on our trip around western Scotland, booked based on fellow travellers recommendations. We were both very pleased with the accommodation and the service. Breakfast was excellent- varied and very tasty. The bed was comfortable and our room nicely decorated, with Molten Brown products in the bathroom. We were made to feel very welcome and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa O
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Grove House. At all times we strive we exceed our guests expectations with service and facilities on offer. We both love what we do, and each day it gives us great pleasure to share our home with guests. I am delighted to read that you liked the design and...

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on a road trip rounds west coast of Scotland. Whilst a little bit out of Oban well worth the visit rooms were well equipped breakfast was fantastic and hosts very welcoming. Would certainly stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Grove House. We are both in a most fortunate position to love what we do, and each day we always look forward to welcoming guest to stay . I am delighted that you liked the design and style of our bedrooms . Each is new for the...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We stayed for 3 nights with our 2 young children and had a fantastic experience. All the "little things" were really appreciated from the warm welcome from Billie to the wonderful breakfasts prepared by Karen that, kept us full til dinner time! From the spotless room, the comfortable bed and a relaxed lounge, we felt very welcome as did the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review. It was a delight to have you all as guests for 3 nights. Thank you for staying with us , and I do hope you will visit again either back at Grove House or at our 5 star gold bed and breakfast Ardtorna.

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely warm welcome by Billie (staff member) once we were shown to our room the treats started - lovely warm flannels to revive us after a long journey then pink champagne and fudge, scrumptious! Lovely spotless room , comfortable bed with top quality bedding. Great en suite bathroom with huge fluffy towels & Molton Brown toiletries. Great breakfast made by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Your kind words are most appreciated. I am delighted that you enjoyed the Jo Malone towels, home made fudge and the pink champagne. These complimentary items are to be enjoyed by all guests who book directly on our own web site throughout the month of October. Each month our ' Welcome Plate ' changes...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I made a brief return to Grove House recently and the welcome was as warm as ever from Billie and Karen. I was offered complimentary wine and a freshly fragranced towel on arrival, thank you ladies, touches like these make all the difference. Breakfast was delightful, prepared to order with high quality ingredients and plentiful enough for a day exploring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MadameRoland
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was such a delight to welcome you back for another stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed ' The welcome Plate ' This is something that we offer to all guests who book through our own web site and not through Booking.com or another channel manager. The warmed Jo Malone Towels,...

Doncaster
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Arrived to be greeted by Billy who is a very pleasant and welcoming lady. Room was spotless and comfortable. Nice touches in bathroom with fragrance free soap and f lannels, also molten brown miniatures. Breakfast was excellent. Fruit smoothie made nice change from ordinary juice. Choice was very good from pancakes to full Scottish breakfast. Would stay here again.Nothing was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maiisie
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Grove House. Your kind words are much appreciated. We both take great pride in the operation of our bed and breakfast, and strive at all times to exceed our guests expectations. I am delighted that you liked many of the little extras that we offer from the warmed Jo...

Scotland
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Lovely guest house on Main Street Connel. Warm welcome from the lovely Billie & shown to my room. A nice glass of Pinot, some fudge and a warm towel were a nice touch. Room and en suite were spotless. Comfortable bed and a 1st class breakfast from Karen. Definitely a home from home and will certainly return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CraigiefortScotland
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review. Your kind words are much appreciated. I am delighted that you enjoyed the ' Welcome Plate ' complete with a carafe of wine, home made fudge and warmed Jo Malone towels. This is something we offer as a complimentary gesture to all who book directly on our own web site and not through booking.com...

Reviewed 10 October 2016

We will now compare all others to "Grove House Standards" for their wonderful attention to all details & little extras that make a stay here feel so very welcome! We had originally looked for accommodation in Oban but stayed for 3 nights here in Connel on short notice finishing our 9 days in Scotland & are so glad we did!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your 2 night stay at Grove House. I am pleased that you liked many of the little extras that we offer to guests who book directly on our own web site ( and not though Booking.com ) such as the wine, home baking and warmed Jo Malone towels that are all served...

193 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
0.2 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
414 reviews
7.6 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 12 in Oban
384 reviews
6.9 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 12 in Oban
749 reviews
7.1 km away
Ardtorna B&B
Ardtorna B&B
#1 of 3 in Barcaldine
538 reviews
7.0 km away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grove House is an owner run 4 star bed and breakfast offering tastefully decorated bedrooms with brand new bathrooms added in 2015 and a fabulous gourmet breakfast. IT IS ALWAYS ADVISABLE TO BOOK DIRECTLY THROUGH GROVE HOUSE WEBSITE FOR BEST RATES / ROOM ALLOCATION AND NOT THROUGH ANOTHER CHANNEL MANAGER . Many bedrooms of the property boast loch views. Parking is available for all guests, and is free of charge. Wi Fi connectivity is superb throughout the entire property and is complimentary. There are 3 restaurants , 2 pubs and a cocktail bar all within walking distance of the bed and breakfast. Transportation to Oban is convenient as the bus stops directly outside the house, and the train station is a 2 minute walk away. Grove House can also offer a discounted taxi fare to town too. The extensive award winning gourmet breakfast offers a wide choice of cereals, accompaniments, fresh fruit smoothies, , speciality teas and coffees, toasted breads and a choice of 10 main courses. Guests have a modern conservatory complete with a water feature to relax in during a stay, and there is a drinks machine offering hot drinks from Cappuccino to Hot Chocolate that is complimentary and available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grove House

Address: Grove House Main Street, Connel, Oban PA37 1PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Price Range: $157 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grove House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove House Hotel Connel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grove House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
hove
East Ayrshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Grove House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take advantage of the comfy lounge in the evenings for a cozy glass of wine.”
 of 5 bubbles cindyhK9911WN, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is a decent pub restaurant about 10 minutes pleasant walk away.”
 of 5 bubbles BJDorani, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not accessible for wheelchair users. Rooms are somewhat warm.”
 of 5 bubbles 648mn, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Simply ask the friendly staff advice regarding your preferences. Nothing is too much trouble.”
 of 5 bubbles philipsM6348AL, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Unable to comment”
 of 5 bubbles 735helen, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay