We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kalu's Hideaway

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Kalu\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

509 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 406: English reviews
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here at the end of December 2016 for 2 nights. Disappointing check in. Make sure you don’t get a room on the ground floor ! They look like prison cells with hardly any daylight. By email we had requested a room on the first floor but when we arrived they had put us in a room on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amsterdam05
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us. We always strive to full fill the guest needs & wants. However we thank you for the honest feedback and we will certainly take the highlighted areas in to consideration for areas of improvement. We certainly hope to have the privilege of...

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights. We had an amazingly beautiful welcome here with candles to be lit and a complimentary head massage to relax one after the journey + the the cold towels of course. It was the nicest welcome we had anywhere. Extremely friendly and helpful service throughout. Reception and grounds were lovely, the dining area was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grumpy_Old_Couple
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff, services and facilities.We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us. we will certainly take the highlighted...

Aluthgama, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Found this place out on a walk in Udawalawe, so wish we had stayed here but we just went for dinner and drinks, what an amazing plce, i asked to see one of the rooms , such luxery. we sat in the lounge area and watched all the birds it was so relaxing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your visit and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in the industry and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pleasant place and conveniently located to access the Uda Walawe National Park, but nothing exceptional about the place. Food was OK, as well as the rooms. Probably best was the service from the restaurant waiters, really doing their best. Slightly surprising that the hotel did not offer laundry services.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanguy M
Detroit
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had multiple choices to make in Udawalwe but i want the cost to be reasonable..not intrusive front office..calm and more importantly not on the main road..Kalus fit the bill and being a cricket fan i was also equally excited when i know this is owned by Kaluwitharana.. We directly reached to the Sales Manager (Sanjeewa) to book for 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vijays
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our Food ,staff, services and the facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in...

Maidenhead
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Kulas retreat When you enter the grounds you get that wow feeling, as time goes on you start to be aware of signs that that establishment appears to be run by accountants rather than. managers. Let me explain, The breakfast was minimal, the butter and jams came in plastic packets, the toast was made from the top and tail of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KingsleyRoyal
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, However we thank you for the honest feedback and we will certainly take the highlighted areas in to consideration for areas of improvement. We certainly hope to...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Nice place in the wilderness. People are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are good and well maintained except the bed we had was of really poor quality. Every time I turned around in my sleep I woke myself up from the noise the bed made. The bottom sheet was also way to small for the bed. Have these people not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randel V
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us. We always strive to full fill the guest needs & wants. However we thank you for the honest feedback and we will certainly take the highlighted areas in to consideration for areas of improvement. We certainly hope to have the privilege of...

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Great food. The pool was awesome. Appreciate the temperature controlled water 😋 and the night lighting created a beautiful scenery. Calm and quiet environment. Very relaxing. Friendly staff. Nothing to complain about

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sudara M
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff, services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in the industry...

London
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely 2 night stay. The property is very clean and well looked after. Pretty basic , The grounds are very large, you can see lots of peacocks and other birds. It has nice garden were they grow a variety if vegetables, fruits, spices and even rice. It was very good to show kids. The safari was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CoolFulham
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff, services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in the industry...

Angouleme, France
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Fantastic setting where you can see oriols and lots of other birds from your balcony. Hotel manager is great, took the time to show us round the organic garden and made us taste a star fruit juice. Spa massages are amust and cheap, pool area is a dream and all the staff was welcoming. Could not fault it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank isabellemenard
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff, services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in the industry...

400 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (334)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uda Walawe National Park
0.0 km away
Elephant Trails
Elephant Trails
#1 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
136 reviews
4.4 km away
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resor...
#4 of 22 in Uda Walawe National Park
657 reviews
2.4 km away
Silent Bungalow
Silent Bungalow
#1 of 22 in Uda Walawe National Park
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Nil Diya Mankada Safari Resort
19.1 km away
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
#9 of 27 in Uda Walawe National Park
81 reviews
7.0 km away
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Uda...
#5 of 27 in Uda Walawe National Park
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With 14 Fourteen Spacious rooms including 5 Superior rooms,6 Deluxe, 2 Chalets & 1 Suite, the hotel caters to the most unique clients. It provides the butler service with personalized dining menu of your choice. The Hotel is located just 5 Minutes next to Udawalawe National Park & Udawalawe Lake. From Colombo 187 km to the Hotel and around 04 hours drive from Colombo. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kalu's Hideaway

Address: Walawegama | Udawalawe, Uda Walawe National Park 00300, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range: $97 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kalu's Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalu`s Hideaway Hotel Uda Walawe National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kalu's Hideaway staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Kalu's Hideaway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you don’t get a room on the ground floor ! They look like prison cells with hardly any daylight.”
 of 5 bubbles amsterdam05, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if you can climb 3 floors then go for the top room amazing views”
 of 5 bubbles dianec570, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if possible take the luxury suite on the top; it's really worth it!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Tanja_and_Chris, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you would like a view ask for a room with one”
 of 5 bubbles WeloveAsia, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for a Chalet”
 of 5 bubbles sulochana875, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay